We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing game drives at Moditlo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moditlo River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing game drives at Moditlo”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We choose moditlo for our honeymoon, and stayed for five nights at Moditlo. This was our first safari, and we enjoyed it a lot. We will remember it for years to come!

Lodge stay includes two game drives everyday: early in the morning and at the afternoon, our trackers Aurela and Andrey were warm and truly brilliant at their job. They were great at tracking animals, giving details and answering any questions we had. It took three days and a little bit patient to track all the animals in our game drives: lion, giraffe, elephant, cheetah, rhino, wildebeest, kudu, jackal, impala, bushbaby... We enjoyed the bushveld and the escarpment besides animals tracking, the view is just breath taking.

Other than game drive we did couple other activities suggested by the lodge. Aurela and Andrey accompanied us to the other outdoor activities including visiting rehabilitation center for wild animals, and boat trip of the canyon. I would wholeheartedly recommend the rehab center to everyone.

The lodge was great - the room we stayed was very close to the water. Animals would come right in front of our windows. All the staffs were friendly, attentive and really made us feel like family during our stay.

Food was great overall, beautifully presentation in every meal, great chef and nice staffs.

We met one lovely SA family in our last game drive. They are the best kind of people you can meet in the trip to a foreign country. We hope to exchange our contact information but miss our chance after realizing they were staying only for one night. This is one of the most beautiful places in the world you should visit. Five stars to Moditlo.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review !

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we played an instrumental role in making your holiday to South Africa and especially our piece of Africa memorable.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards

Moditlo River Lodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    41
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
57
130
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at this excellent lodge and felt completely at home. Great staff, incredibly good ranger (Aurela), stylish/perfect room and setting, creative food and international atmosphere - everything was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Elke,

It was a pleasure to have you at the lodge, so glad that you had a great time and that we played a role in memories that would last a life time.

Hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards

Moditlo River Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

i stayed at moditlo with my parents and sister for 3 nights and we all loved it! as we arrived at the lodge the manager rina and other staff members were waiting at the entrance of the lodge to greet us with warm towels and drinks. although we had booked 2 rooms (one for my parents and one for me and my sister) they gave me and my sister a separate room with connecting doors so we could have more privacy. the rooms were beautiful with an open shower and a big bath tub in the room which was a blessing after a long evening safari. i cannot say enough good things about the staff, they all went out of their way to make this trip a special one. nothing was too much trouble for them. it was my father's birthday so i had requested earlier for a cake, so the chef had prepared a delicious cake which they served at lunch time. then again before the safari the entire moditlo team sang for him with a little cupcake and a candle which was a very sweet gesture. the chef prepared something new and delicious everyday, we particularly enjoyed the boma dinner which was mainly bar-b-q with a few other things. the other guests at the hotel were fantastic company , sometimes we would have meals together and it was great getting to know people from all parts of the world. after two days it felt like we had known them from much before. since this hotel has only 15 rooms, all your needs are well catered to and each and every guest is important unlike some big hotels that loose that personal touch. the safaris were great fun, before coming we thought we would get bored after one morning and one evening safari and that it might get monotonous but we went on 6 safaris and all of them were as exciting as the previous one as we would see something new each time. although we didn't see as many animals as we were expecting to see, that's the whole charm of a safari as opposed to a zoo that you never know what you are going to find. i suppose if we had seen all the animals in the first safari it would have taken away the excitement from the remaining safaris. our rangers peter and orilla were both fantastic at their job. peter even picked us up from the airport (eastgate airport is only 15 mins away from the hotel) and dropped us back. my mother had purchased a ring and some diamonds from capetown which she accidentally forgot in the hotel safe. as soon as we landed in jo'burg my father called rina, the manager, and asked her to check the safe and she confirmed they were there. our friends (a wonderful couple from spain who we met here) were flying to jo'burg two hours after us so my father requested rina to somehow get the jewellery to them. they had already left for the airport so rina personally went to hand deliver it to them and two hours later we received it. i would specially like to thank rina for all her efforts. moditlo team will surely spoil you with their excellent service and wonderful hospitality...book this hotel for an experience unlike any other!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sehrAdnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for visiting Moditlo River Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we achieved our goals by giving you " an unforgettable African experience".

We hope to see you back at the Moditlo River Lodge in the future.

Kind Regards

Moditlo River Lodge Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Moditlo for two days in February. We were amazed by the beauty of the lodge, the politeness and loveliness of the entire team, the tracking abilities, carefulness and immense knowledge of the guides and also our luck concerning the other guests, which were a fantastic and ecclectic group. We will never forget the rain, sunrise and sunset, feast dinner, valentines dinner (and surprises at the room!!!), the birthday cake, the suspense of tracking the animals, the most beautiful group of elephants with the biggest bull we will probably ever see and the thoughtfulness with which the team took care of us.
One word of warning, though: The animals at Moditlo are still real wild ones, it is not like in other reserves that are rather a drive through zoo because the animals don't care about the cars any more and one can get real close. At Moditlo the animals do care. So there is no easy one tour = all big five likely. It will take patience, tracking skills by the guide, and probably also leaving without having seen them all. But one will win so much more in the process that it is still more than worth it ;-).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franziska R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for posting the recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Moditlo River Lodge and hope to see you visiting us soon again.

Kind Regards

Moditlo River Lodge
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have been to quite a few game lodges and I think I have a fair knowledge of how private game lodges in South Africa operate. I visited Moditlo with my wife and my baby last week. I started getting really good vibes about the place even before visiting the place i.e. when I was making the booking. I had to change my booking dates and the people at Moditlo were so swift and helpful in their response unlike some of the other private game lodges. And, needless to say, we were not disappointed after reaching there. There is a dirt road of almost 4 KM to follow (which is good enough for any small car as well) to reach the lodge. We were warmly greeted at the recption by the manager Rina and Pierre (Who was also going to be our game ranger for all the game drives for next 2 days). This is a fairly new lodge and situated on the banks of Nbesi river. The room where we stayed for 2 nights was perhaps the best room we have ever stayed in at any game lodge. I especailly liked the shower area facing towards the bush and there are always chances of some sightings while taking the shower. We were able to see the male kudus, beautiful male nyalas and a few warthogs from the shower area. Quite an incredible expereince! Our room was very specious, ultra clean and had that unmistakable feeling of Africa in its decor. A couple of things which we really liked, though very small things, were when we entered the room there was a personalised welcome note on the table with our names printed on it. Also, every night we found a small bushmen tale on our bed along with the delicious chocolates. These are little things but leave a very good impression on the guests. The restaurant at the lodge is very nice and the chefs even better. As you would have understood by now, the food was truly delicious. My wife even made a note of some recipies. The chef Gerard and Neal were more than willing to share the recipies with us. The lodge had arranged a baby sitter (Margaret) for us for the duration of game drives. Margaret was really nice and even though at times our baby gave her hardtime, she babysat with a smiling face. Thank you! As the lodge is unfenced and the wild animals roam freely, the lodge provides the night guard to all the guests who escrots them from their rooms to the restaurant (during the dinner time) and then back to the room after the dinner. Our night guard Timba was really nice, helpful and gave us some cool information on animal sightings during his night duty. Now coming to the most important thing- The reserve has such a diverse variety of animals and I was amazed to hear that. They even have wild dogs (Though we didnt see any). We did go to Moditlo at a time when the bush was really thick and lush. This really made the animal sightings 10 times tougher than any other time of the year. But our ranger Pierre was very knowledgable and the way he tracked lions (twice during 2 different game drives) was very commendable. In such dense bush, how did he manage to track the lions, only he knows. 5 on 5 for his tracking abilities. All thanks to his efforts, we almost saw a kill. A baby wildebeast was ambushed by 2 lionesses but managed to escape somehow. The highlight of all the game drives was the sighting of a one week old cheetah cub with his/ her mother. This is a very rare sight in the wild and we consider ourselves extremely lucky to have had such an awesome sighting. Please note that during this time of the year, the bush is at its thickest and tracking big 5 becomes extremely difficult. Also the way our ranger tracked the rhinos was praiseworthy. We couldnt see all of big 5 due to very low visibilty. But full points to the ranger for his efforts. But that's how the wildlife is. The sightings cant be guaranteed in th wild. Also, the game vehicles are in very good shape unlike some other lodges. One suggestion to Moditlo team is that they should collar atleast one of each of their big 5 animals so that the chances to sight them increase manifold. A lot of reserves do that and I can say from my personal experience this doesnt take away the idea and feel of sighting an animal in the wild (which some feel collaring does). They must surely give it a thought. All in all, a very memorable experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranjal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We spent three lovely days at Moditlo River Lodge.
The Lodge is absolutely wonderful and a perfect getaway. It is well furnished with stylish interior and a touch of Africa in each room.
Our game drives were truly amazing. Not only did we see lions, giraffes, hippos, zebras, rhinos and a herd of elephants several times. Thanks to our ranger we even spotted a leopard and saw four out of the big five while staying at Moditlo.
It was such a great experience to be that close to all these animals and we were able to take breathtaking pictures in the Bushveld.
The cuisine was excellent with a variety of delicious dishes every day. One of the highlights was a braai at the fireplace where we enjoyed a three course meal with a good glass of South African wine.
Service was brilliant at all times - the staff is absolutely wonderful! No efforts were spared to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
All in all our time at Moditlo was perfect and couldn’t have been any better. I can really recommend the Lodge to anyone who is looking for a unique vacation in the Bushveld.
Thank you for this memorable time, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovemeparisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

There were 9 of us traveling together (between the ages of 21 and 83), and can highly recommend Moditlo for your family. Excellent staff, excellent accommodations, excellent food, excellent game drives - we couldn't ask for more. The staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable.....an incredible experience.

Room Tip: We had five rooms among us, and each was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
1.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,713 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
398 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
596 reviews
5.5 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
271 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#2 of 104 in Hoedspruit
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moditlo River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moditlo River Lodge

Property: Moditlo River Lodge
Address: | Moditlo Private Game Reserve R40, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Moditlo River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 36,000 acres of African bushveld bordering the scenic banks of the Nbesi River, Moditlo Private Game Reserve offers a range of luxurious wildlife encounters and African safari options especially tailored for the discerning traveller. Moditlo River Lodge sits at the heart of the Blue Canyon Conservancy, a stretch of protected land in close proximity to the world-renowned Greater Kruger National Park and is home to an astonishing array of fauna and flora. Named for the gentle beast of the bushveld, Moditlo means 'place of the elephant', and the quiet grace of this extraordinary creature echoes throughout the lodge and its surroundings. Our 16-bedroom lodge was designed to combine the rustic nature of a bushveld retreat with the style and elegance you'd expect of a first rate safari destination. Visitors can look forward to every comfort and convenience, including game drives conducted by passionate, knowledgeable field guides; a full-service restaurant that serves the very best in South African wines and cuisine; as well as al fresco boma barbeques prepared by our talented chefs. Families with kids will be happy to know that we welcome children of 8 years and older. They are allowed on game drives at the manager's discretion. Alternatively, we are happy to arrange a private vehicle for your family's exclusive use at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moditlo River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moditlo River Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing