We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moditlo River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just came back from the Moditlo river lodge and I must say it was breath taking and beautiful.
The rooms are really gorgeous and stylish.
The game drive and our guides were nice and you can tell they put a lot of effort in for you to leave with an incredible experience and images in your head.
The staff are helpfull and pleasant and I can not say enough how delicious the food was! Great chef and you certainly do not leave there hungry!
I would highly recommend this lodge for anyone in love with the bush, looking for some adventure and some peace and quiet in this beautiful private reserve.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jess,

Thank you very much for the lovely review, it was indeed a pleasure to have met you and spend some time getting to know you and Russell.

Thank you for visiting Moditlo River Lodge, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you back real soon.

Kind Regards
Moditlo River Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a brand new (about 6 mo old) lodge located within its own 37000 acre game reserve (approx. 25 x 40 miles). Price includes 2 safaris each day, and meals. The grounds are well manicured, located on a river, and very scenic. Rooms and facilities are luxurious, modern, well designed and nicely decorated. I believe they aspire to be a 4-5 star accommodation, though today I would rate them 3.5 stars, with upside potential. We were warmly greeted by Paula and a few others at check in, with cold towels and some sort of tasty cocktail. We got settled into our rooms and around 4:00pm headed out for afternoon safari. Our ranger, Pierre, was wonderful. Very knowledgeable about all the flora/fauna and patiently explained every animal track, animal scat, and the cacophony of sounds around us. He had a great sense of humor, and we thoroughly enjoyed our game drives with him. We saw the usual variety of African animals: lions, warthogs, rhinos, wildebeests, plus two cheetahs. They have 2 rare black rhinos and around 8 leopards, though we didn’t see them. One downside of their rhinos, they’ve all had their horns trimmed to deter poaching. Our first night the power went out around 2am, and stayed off for the next 12 hours. This made getting up and ready for our 6am safari a bit challenging, and it was quite cold, near freezing. No back up generator!! Also, though the showers are elegant, the hot water is woefully undersized. Enough for one quick shower, the next person in gets cold water! Also, a minor design flaw, no ledge in the shower for soaps etc, you bring the stuff in and put it on the shower floor. Also, no TV or phone in the rooms. Though it seemed we drove quite a way into the bush from the main highway, in reality we were close enough to hear highway traffic going by all night long. Sort of takes away from a true in-the-wild experience. The cuisine was among the best we had in S Africa. They have a truly talented young chef. Unfortunately he needs to work on the logistics/service side of the house. All meals are outside, with propane heaters to keep the diners warm. They only have about ½ the number required to keep everyone warm. Not to mention the culinary challenge of serving epicurean delights on 40F plates. I was on the side of the table opposite the heater and ended up taking my food inside to the bar. Additionally, our second night, dinner was over an hour late (8:30+ instead of 7:30). There were 25+ folks sitting around the boma, in their winter jackets, cold and unhappy for over an hour waiting on food. Again, we ate inside at the bar. The main lodge has excellent wireless, though it would be nice to have in all the rooms. Overall the staff was very accommodating, though a few rough spots with incorrect breakfast orders and multiple service requests. Things they need to do before I would return or recommend this place:
• Install a backup generator
• Increase hot water capacity
• More outdoor heaters and/or indoor dining facilities

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CulinarySnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Culinary Snob,

Thank you for taking time to send a review. We trust that over and above the comments you still enjoyed your stay with us.

We value your feedback and take everything you said to heart in an effort to continually strive to perfection. Although the lodge has only been operational for 10 months we have had some superb reviews and go all out to make each and every guest stay a memorable one.

I would like to clarify that we are not a 5 star lodge, we are a 4 star lodge providing guest with good value for money not compromising on services levels and rather exceeding expectations.

It was never intended for the rooms to have televisions or telephones, we want guest to experience the bush and to forget about everyday life out there at least for a day or two.

All the other comments are valued and we will investigate those issues raised in order not to have any negative comments in future.

I trust that we would be able to welcome you back one day.

Kind Regards
Gary Geyer
Operations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The lodge is beautiful. Nice atmosphere and good place to relax. The early morning and late afternoon Game drives are in addition to seeing animals an experience in itself. Especially when ranger Pierre sits behind the wheel. Together with his tracker he takes you with his car deep into the bush to find the animals. We loved it! Also a day to the Krugerpark was really amazing. Thanks to our ranger Andre! We have seen in our five days stay the Big Five! Thanks for this rangers. Also the crew of Moditlo thanks for all the service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MERLE2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you taking time to send us this positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you left with memories to treasure for a lifetime.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Moditlo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

new lodge, service varies widely, focusing on game view, few alternatives if you want to relax or search for other hints, location close to railway, which is noisy, food ok, game drive was very good (except for the railway)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Luis,

Thank you for taking time to send us your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your game experience at Moditlo River Lodge.

As you know the lodge is situated on the fringes of a Big 5 reserve, leaving the wilderness area wide open without without having buildings all over the reserve. The site was carefully chosen after an environmental impact study was done to minimize impact on the rest of the reserve. In winter time with the foliage of the trees one can hear the occasional train in the distance. We do apologize if this made your experience less enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back somewhere in the future.

Kind Regards
Moditlo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We are quite spoiled with bush experiences and have been to a few lodges, but i can truly say this lodge stands out from the other. It is quite newly built and the rooms are absolutely stunning! I love also the fact that their interior decorating does not scream animal print like so many other lodges..which is lame and boring by now! Extra points for the decorators! The freestanding bath was true bliss and with the private little patio in front of each room you do not even need to close the shutters to take a bath! Food - exceptional! Tjoppie can do Eggs Benedict ( just ask him) and Neil has a white chocolate tart with raspberries that is to die for! The staff was all incredible and wanted to make sure that your stay was as comfortable as possible..without being annoying and still keeping your privacy. Game drives: Orela...you are an incredible value to this lodge! He will make sure that he does all in his power for you to see all the big 5..even if he need to change the safari sometimes to a bit of bundu-bashing ..or a Ferrari-Safari! He is so proud of his job and you can see he has a passion for what he do. Orela was a true host and we would recommend game drives with him! The setup of the lodge is truly a spoil and designed to make sure that there are lots of areas where you can choose to relax, read a book and drink good wine ( their wine list is actually quite good). We will need to come back in summer to also enjoy a bushbraai and the swimming pool..!.Thank you Rina, Paula, Pierre and the team for a great stay - we would certainly recommend with family, friends and clients!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which is quite private and you do not need to close your shutters when taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandeVliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Moditlo River Lodge.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we provided everything you wished for. We hope that you will treasure the memories for years to come, and when the bush are calling you know where to come:-)

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Moditlo Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very nice place, new modern chalets, clean and comfortable. Great food. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi in main area. Informative game drives. Guide Pierre made sure he found the game. Great 4x4 driving experience with him. Game not as plentiful as some other conservancies but dense bush (due to good rains) also helped "hide" the game. Overall nice restful place to relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X_trail2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback.

We really enjoyed your company and are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Moditlo River Lodge.

Whenever live in the city becomes to much you know where you can come relax. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Moditlo Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We got lost! Yes in this day of Satnav's and what have you, we got lost!! So, to start off with, if you are going there (and you really should try) get on the R40 and stay on it. If you travel up from White River the main road takes a 90 degree turn towards Eastgate airport just after Acornhoek. It's easy enough to miss it - don't! The lodge is about 10 minutes drive from this intersection - easy enough if you know!
The point of all this rambling is that the guys at the lodge couldn't have been more helpful. Cellphone calls back and forth eventually got us there, but about 20 minutes later than 4 p m which is when their evening game drives set off. As we pulled in, our disappointment turned to pleasure. There was the land-rover, all geared up and ready to go, but held back just for a while so we wouldn't miss the first evening game experience. We were met at the entrance by very welcoming staff (when last were you greeted by name just as you arrived at a facility?), our luggage was whisked off to our room, we were given time to put on jerseys and grab jackets, and we were off. In my book that is service and attention to detail "par excellance".
That set the tone for the rest of the stay. All the staff introduce themselves by name and you end up feeling more as a friend rather than as a paying guest. The rooms are lovely - such a comfortable bed that a really good night's sleep was assured, notwithstanding the odd train that roared past with hooter blaring every so often. This was the only fault we could find with the place - it has been built near the edge of the reserve apparently to disturb as little of the environment as possible, but the railway-line is within earshot. Not that it detracts from the overall experience, but for the first day or so you do know that it is there. The noise of the odd train doesn't penetrate into the reserve so the animals are not at all fussed. But the rooms!! We would be quite happy to exchange our home bedroom for their accommodation!
What stands out? Well the game drives must be a highlight. The rangers are extremely knowledgeable and take delight in pointing out game, explaining their habitat and going out of their way to find the more elusive specimens. We took ages to find a pair of very shy rhino which took a great deal of clever tracking and field work by a pair of vehicles working together, but being very careful not to disturb the animals themselves. Yes, we did see lion (real close up), but the other three of the big five managed to stay well hidden - even the elephant which did grant us a view of a tusk and flapping ear through the bush! Each and every game drive (two a day) was a different experience - and made very personal by Ocean our ranger for the stay.
The lodge itself is a haven during the times not out game viewing. Take a book and just relax on on the deck by the pool. Real bliss! Meals are great - simple but very good. Seating is up to you - we started off by having our own table, but we got chatting with a family from New Zealand and the staff were more than happy to move tables and chairs to allow us to sit together. The last night was a bush braai - really in the bush, albeit it not too far from the lodge itself. Lovely food, and lively company which developed into an international song-contest between groups of Italians and Australians - the former were by far the better singers!
To sum up - a really great place, excellent staff (around when they were needed but certainly not obtrusive), accommodation that could hardly be bettered and good food - with the cherry on the top being animals that really are wild - this is not like driving through a zoo like it is in some reserves. You need to keep your eyes open. We will be back - better than that I cannot say.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilipCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gforce69, Director of Sales at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Philip,

Thank you so much for the detailed review. We are just glad you found us in the end and that you had a great experience at Moditlo River Lodge. All the staff remember you by name and send their best regards.

"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Moditlo Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
1.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,833 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#3 of 103 in Hoedspruit
499 reviews
7.5 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa
#6 of 103 in Hoedspruit
177 reviews
7.5 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#12 of 103 in Hoedspruit
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moditlo River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moditlo River Lodge

Address: | Moditlo Private Game Reserve R40, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: £386 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moditlo River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 36,000 acres of African bushveld bordering the scenic banks of the Nbesi River, Moditlo Private Game Reserve offers a range of luxurious wildlife encounters and African safari options especially tailored for the discerning traveller. Moditlo River Lodge sits at the heart of the Blue Canyon Conservancy, a stretch of protected land in close proximity to the world-renowned Greater Kruger National Park and is home to an astonishing array of fauna and flora. Named for the gentle beast of the bushveld, Moditlo means 'place of the elephant', and the quiet grace of this extraordinary creature echoes throughout the lodge and its surroundings. Our 16-bedroom lodge was designed to combine the rustic nature of a bushveld retreat with the style and elegance you'd expect of a first rate safari destination. Visitors can look forward to every comfort and convenience, including game drives conducted by passionate, knowledgeable field guides; a full-service restaurant that serves the very best in South African wines and cuisine; as well as al fresco boma barbeques prepared by our talented chefs. Families with kids will be happy to know that we welcome children of 8 years and older. They are allowed on game drives at the manager's discretion. Alternatively, we are happy to arrange a private vehicle for your family's exclusive use at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Moditlo River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moditlo River Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing