We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real oasis place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zuleika Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviewed 30 January 2014

What a gem this place proved to be with excellent room facilities and very good food. The garden is attractive with a large pond and stunning views across to mountains in the distance. We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be very comfortable indeed. I would highly recommend this place for a stop over.

Room Tip: Take a dip in the pool - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay at Zuleika Country House and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here our first night in country for two reasons: 1) After multiple international flights, going to a game preserve right away would be lost on us, in our jet lagged state. 2) We wanted to check out the Canyon. (Okay, and 3, it was recommended as a good place to catch our breath.)

So, yes: Good first night choice, to catch our breath.

Proprietor was helpful with recommending the two main ways to see the Canyon. Her efforts to reach the boat tour company to see if there were seats on the morning’s boat trip were unsuccessful — they didn’t call back — so we chose the sightseeing route at the rim of the Canyon — which was very nice and easy to do all in a morning. No need to drive the whole distance of the Canyon (unless one needed to go that way, anyway). You can see it all more quickly by just staying at the north end, like we did.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathan_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you very much for writing a review after your stay at Zuleika Country House. We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Kind Regards, Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a super time at Zuleika. The staff were great, lovely clean rooms, beautiful vistas and super food. Megan was really sweet and efficient, guiding us to the lodge when we got lost. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spannernoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate your positive feedback and recommending us to others. We hope you will be back for another visit shortly. Kind Regards, Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for four nights. We made our way to reception and was greeted by a lovely young lady she showed us to out room which was number 5. It was perfect, the view was outstanding the bed comfortable and the bath big enough for two!!
The food was delicious and plentiful. We took a dip in the pool which was cold but a welcome relief from the hot sun. We made good friends with the resident dog she was very cute.
We did our own day trip to Kruger and an organised afternoon safari with thornybush both spectacular. We also visited the animal sanctuary.
We loved this stay and it was a super start to our holiday.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Caz1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Zuleika Country House. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is not our first time at Zuelika Country House and it won't be the last. I always look forward to our stay here. The rooms are all unique and it was a real pleasure as tour director to see the looks of glee on our travellers faces when they entered their rooms for the first time. I personally always look forward to the evening meal in the dining area as it is open to the surrounding garden and scenery across to the Blyde River Canyon. They have a very good wine selection as well which complements the great meals coming from their kitchen. To all staff at Zuelika a big thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BongoBickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you the wonderful review and for the excellent planning and arrangements from your side which contributed to the success. It was a real pleasure hosting such a friendly group. I am very happy to hear that the group enjoyed their stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Zuleika Country House was the perfect choice for us.. We were group of 4 and stayed in the self catering family cottage which had 3 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. From the moment we arrived we felt so at home there. The cottage was cosy, well maintained and creatively decorated with every ammenity needed. The surroundings were so tranquil and beautiful, a lovely pool, the staff were freindly and efficient and the breakfast was generous and well presented. Thanks to the owner and her team for a great stay..we loved it!

Room Tip: The self catering cottage is perfect for groups of 3 or 4 or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are glad you felt at home and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The room we stayed in was part of the main building, adjacent to the lobby. It was basic and small but comfortable for our one night stay. It was a good location, one hour outside of the gates to Kruger park and was a good spot to stay before we went into the park for our safari. The property was nice but we weren't properly toured around/introduced to the areas in which we could go upon arrival, so we didn't get a very good tour of the land or experience the property much. It seemed pretty small.

I was particularly disappointed in the soap/lotion/body wash amenities that were provided in small bottles in the bathroom. They were worn and partially full, with a sign above asking guests to please not take the bottles home. It appears that the practice here is to refill the small bottles in the rooms, which I find extremely strange. For the price we paid per night we should have been supplied with a new mini soap bottle and been permitted to take it home if we wished!

The food (dinner and breakfasts) made up for the basic accomodations. It was perhaps the best food of our trip. The dinner is pre-set and there is no selection (although you can provide dietary restrictions in advance) but was delicious - fish, rice, veggies. Delicious dessert. The dinner was an extra cost but since there are no restaurants nearby we chose to book our dinner there after a long day of travel through the canyon. There was a selection to choose from at breakfast - fruit and granola, carmelized banana French toast, cereals, waffles, eggs, omelettes. Breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floatie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,812 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
0.0 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
0.0 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuleika Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuleika Country House

Address: Zuleika Country House | Farm Moriah, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Price Range: £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Customer, We would like to inform you that Zuleika Country House will be changing ownership and our last effective day of business will be the 26th of June. The guest house will remain open however it will be under new management and will be trading as Blyde Mountain Country House. We can't fully express our deep gratitude for your business and support. Thank you again for your business. Sincerely, The Zuleika Team Zuleika Country House ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuleika Country House Hotel Hoedspruit
Zuleika Country Hotel
Zuleika Country House South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing