We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zuleika Country House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zuleika Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed here in october 2009 for one night on our way to Kruger NP. We had room #4 because we especifically asked for it when we saw the pics online. It was huge! There was a shower and a bath tub, and the bed was large and comfy. The complimentary sherry bottle was a very nice touch. The rate included a 3-course dinner and breakfast, and we really enjoyed the food (we tried ostrich for the first time!).
It is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chufina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    24
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

I loved staying at Zuleika, a beautiful lodge which is located on a lemon farm. I had an absolutely beautiful room and the staff was great. The receptionist spent half an hour helping me contact the tour agencies near Hoedspruit, which I thought was really nice. They really cater to your ever need there.The food is delicious and they have the most adorable and friendly dogs I have ever met. You get extremely good value for your money here - I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klute72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

I absolutely loved staying at Zuleika Country House. The people are the most friendly people in the world and they really make your stay as comfortable and homey as possible.
We felt at home from the first minute we arrived and I think we will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrietjeJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

After reading the previous review I felt compelled to write as my experience at Zuleika was completely different to theirs. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay one night during our most recent trip to South Africa in November 2008. We wished that we could have stayed longer.
The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Our room, one of the deluxe with canyon views, was very different to the normal style of bland hotel accommodation on offer. It was a mixture of African rondavel and colonial elegance. The stone bath was in the large well furnished bedroom. There was a four poster bed with mosquito nets (which we did not need) a large shower, AC and a lovely outside area for sitting and enjoying a sundowner in the evening. The outdoor restaurant was where we enjoyed an excellent evening meal and a fabulous breakfast. The swimming pool was unusual in design but provided a perfect respite from the African summer heat. The water appeared very clean and we were the only people swimming, so it felt like our own private pool.
The couple who manage the hotel were hard working and discrete, but available if needed. I never saw the dogs in the restaurant, but enjoyed their company in the large well tended gardens.
My only negative comment could be that the road to the property was a little rough, but this probably helps slow down reckless drivers.
If you want a bland style 'Holiday Inn' experience, do not stay at Zuleika. However, if you want a taste of Africa, stay here and enjoy its uniqueness and its peace and solitude. Good food, reasonable bar prices and a gorgeous garden setting with great views. I would have no qualms about returning, but I would stay for longer next time.

  • Liked — Unique rooms. Views.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

Upon arrival we were told that the room was not yet ready (noon) and we were given some friendly advise as to where we could go for lunch and do some sightseeing. Upon our return at app. 3pm the room was ready and we were brought to it but were only given sparse explanation about facilities etc. The room was decorated in a rather alternative style. Several broken bulbs throughout and only one bedside lamp was working since there was only an adapter on one side of the bed. It is a family room and yet besides the bed there are insect poison capsules (for the insect repellant machine) that can easily be mistaken by kids for turndown chocolates or sweets. Two dogs and a cat are all over the place and even walk between your legs when having dinner. Shower was very dirty (drainage cover was covered in hair of at least six previous occupants), a piece of soap of a previous guest was stuck agains the wall... Fridge and kitchen set up is nice, the milk that was placed attentively in the fridge had turned into yoghurt however. Poolwater is brown and we were worried that it would not be good for our kids to swim in, but according to the management it was fine... Umbrella's were down and can impossibly be opened by one person alone. When asking for help a friendly lady was sent that has never seen an umbrella before. For a personal styled B&B the management should inspect more rooms and be more present!! The dinner ( afixed menu that was included in the price) was a poor performance, the waiter did not know what was served and had to ask the kitchen every time he served a course. Starter was nice; main course was oxtail?? Not a very popular dish in a set menu and when there is no sufficient light to actually see what you eat is becomed annoying.. Upon check out the bill still had to be prepared and the manager had to phone other people to get a simple invoice established. I observed that the 4 star Grading certificate in fact dates from Jan 2007. All in all this could be a great place but the rooms need to be clean and the staff need to be trained better or the owners / management need to show more personal attention.

We planned to stay for 2 night but checked out after one because we were rather disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nuynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

Spent 2 nights at Zuleika - good base for exploring area - accommodation "African" style (not luxurious but clean, comfortable and with good food).

  • Liked — location and views.
  • Disliked — Eating evening meal outside attracted numerous moths & flies etc.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2008

We stayed at this place during our honeymoon in South Africa. It was a wonderful hidden getaway. The property is beautiful- we had a great time exploring the area around the house and playing with the dogs that lived at Zuleika. Sadly, we were only able to stay there for one night but the dinner and breakfast the next morning were delicious! The room was huge- very clean and spacious. The bathroom was so unique- I loved the stone shower! It was a wonderful experience. If I am ever in South Africa again, I will definitely stay at the Zuleika Country House again!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseycitygirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 18 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nyaleti Lodge
Nyaleti Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#46 of 99 in Hoedspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 99 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuleika Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuleika Country House

Property: Zuleika Country House
Address: Zuleika Country House | Farm Moriah, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Customer, We would like to inform you that Zuleika Country House will be changing ownership and our last effective day of business will be the 26th of June. The guest house will remain open however it will be under new management and will be trading as Blyde Mountain Country House. We can't fully express our deep gratitude for your business and support. Thank you again for your business. Sincerely, The Zuleika Team Zuleika Country House ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuleika Country House Hotel Hoedspruit
Zuleika Country Hotel
Zuleika Country House South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing