We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in the middle of nowhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raptor's Lodge Hoedspruit
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little gem in the middle of nowhere!”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed here quite a while ago but came across the photo's I had taken whilst there and just thought to share my experience of Raptors lodge in Hoedspruit.

It was my first time going to the Kruger national park so we decided to find a lodge close to the gate.

We managed to stay in a room that was made to accommodate 4 people, however we were only 2 and we were not charged extra for this privilage!

My only advice to someone like me who was not too familiar to the bush, take doom! if you are not too afraid of spiders then you should be fine, but all in all the rooms really grab the outdoor experience but still providing you with those much needed luxuries.

The outdoor shower was a unique experience as we received a visit from a scorpion who scurried away in a hurry when the shower was turned on, I am sharing a few photo's I took whilst there and I really do recommend Raptors Lodge to anyone!

Room Tip: You must have a room with an outdoor shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaun_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    14
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
14
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stayed for four nights but would need so much longer to get in all the activities available locally. Lodge is self catering although there is an excellent bar/restaurant within safe walking distance. If you do want to cook the kitchen was exceptionally well equipped and there is also a braii area. Small clean communal pool on site. Ask for a lodge by the fence. We had game wander by on a couple of evenings.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smytheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudelange, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

On a business trip in March2012 I came to stay at Raptors Lodge.
In all honesty this is not so much a Lodge, it is rather more a bungalow rental place, or at least this was my impression. It did not bother me at first as I was there for work, but it being advertised as a Lodge I did expect something different to what I got.

The maintenance level was low, Mosquito netting was damaged, Air-con did not work in my room, light bulbs were missing in some fittings.
Hygiene was minimal, general surfaces were dusty, some sticky. I had a collection of dead bugs on top of my mosquito netting above my bed.
I believe the cleaning lady that came around just did the dishes emptied the bins and occasionally made a bed.

There had been devastating floods just before I stayed there so the water that came out the taps was brown, which can happen but I thought that at least there would be a filter installed.

As mentioned beds seemed to be made every other day. The air-conditioning unit in my room did not work and a colleague of mine ended up organizing our own fans as nothing was done about it.

The bungalows had their own braii (barbecue) area and a cool deck at the back and their own front parking which was a ... plus.

Out door showers were cool - except that when I stayed there, they were more like a fake tan dispenser unit due to the brown red water.

I did not deal with management as the units were rented through a 3rd party.
Apparently a big discount was imparted on the unit I stayed in, which could possibly explain why so little care was taken to clean or maintain it.

I would only recommend this place for a stop over not a prolonged stay.
Make sure you have a backup toilet roll if you do stay longer.
Also make sure you lock the doors when you leave. Security was slack.

You are close to a few restaurants of which one turns into a nightclub on Fridays, so if you are young used to backpackers and into partying with the local Afrikaaners this'd be it. Make sure you get a discount though.

I did read a previous review here which said it feels like home away from home. All I can say to that comment is: Sure it does, ...but only after you spent a couple of days cleaning the place out and repairing everything yourself, just like you would at home.

Room Tip: All units seem to be similar bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It was arranged during my booking that I should go to unit 16, after I unpacked I listened to my voicemail ( my phone was off during the flight and I spent the ride to Raptors chatting with my friend whom I haven't seen in ages). I was informed to go to another unit. I phoned the number left on the answering machine and informed them Im not moving now. I, but they had problems with clean linen. My bed looked made up ready for a guest? There was no toiletries, no hairdryer and only one bedlamp worked. The bedlamp at the dressing table also did not work. I was not given clean towels, even though I had to bath in brown water. The place may be in a beautiful area, tastefully decorated, but it lacks the finer touches you expect from a 4 star graded guest lodge. Apparently it is not a requirement for 4 star grading to have a hairdryer.
I was given a significant discount on check out. Did not help that I was inconvenienced.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vryburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Beautiful, comfortble, closer to most tourist attractions in limpopo and mpumalanga and just feels like home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgothatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
0.8 mi away
Nyaleti Lodge
Nyaleti Lodge
#3 of 19 in Hoedspruit
67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Loerie Guest House
Loerie Guest House
#41 of 103 in Hoedspruit
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 103 in Hoedspruit
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#6 of 103 in Hoedspruit
124 reviews
14.8 mi away
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
#4 of 103 in Hoedspruit
352 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Baobab Bush Lodge
The Baobab Bush Lodge
#11 of 19 in Hoedspruit
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raptor's Lodge Hoedspruit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raptor's Lodge Hoedspruit

Property: Raptor's Lodge Hoedspruit
Address: Raptor's View Wildlife Estate | R527, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raptor's Lodge Hoedspruit 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering units in the heart of the Kruger National Park region. Each lodge has two bedrooms (1 double and 1 twin) with en-suite bathrooms and outside shower, lounge with satellite TV, a fully equipped kitchen and a terrace with separate bbq area. The Lodge has a small swimming pool with sun beds and the small but lively town of Hoedspruit is but a stone throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Raptor's Lodge Hoedspruit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raptor's Lodge Hoedspruit South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing