We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is NOT what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nsele Safaris & Lodge
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Did not enjoy it at all, inedible food (burnt meat/ chillie soup/veg), dogs in diningroom, bedrooms not on lodge standard. they need the finer details to be the 3 star accommodation they claim to be. we looked forward to celebrating family birthdays, eventhough they tried, we did not get what we expected.

Room Tip: if you expect lodge quatily you're not going to get it here. if you're on an Overland Truck...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jvrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Nsele Safaris & Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with an Acacia Africa tour. The chalets are clean, comfortable and well equipped - I particularly liked the square mosquito nets, and the provision of mossie repellant and room spray. The hospitality was wonderful, and the food was homemade and delicious. One of the nicest places we stayed at on our trip.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Karinjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Had a great stay at Nsele on a safari across southern Africa. Very friendly, comfortable and well placed for game tours. The game drive staff are extremely knowledgeable and effective. The food was good and well presented. The lodges are classic african construction.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

By visiting Nsele Safari Lodge in South Africa, we were treated with the best of everything, from the hospitality, the food (excellent!); the chalets, the pool and the staff. Not to mention the big five game drive with the knowledgeable guide! What a great experience we had, and we will be back, for sure!

Room Tip: Any one will do.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

In August 2012 we decided to meet our son (Acacia Africa Tour Guide) for his birthday on one of his trips to Nsele Lodge on one of our trips back from Mozambique to South Africa. The road was a little bumpy but the sightings of animals on the way made it all worth while. THEN you arrive at the lodge and are greeted by Stephanie and Olaf and the rest of the family and dogs. We were made to feel so welcome and joined in with the rest of the Acacia Africa guests. Stephanie made the most amazimg meal and to top it all, a delicious chocolate cake for my son, Rowan. We lounged around the pool after a really hot day then sat by the fire chatting to the family and friends. The room was really great with everything you could wish for. All staff were friendly and very helpful. Pity we could only stay for one night but we will be back. Olaf takes you on the best game driver EVER!!!!! See the pics that tell the story.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Once you have entered the private land and driven along the bumpy road spotting animals along the path, you come to N'Sele. If you are lucky like us, you will be met with juice and cold towels and friendly faces waiting to greet you.

I stayed with a group as part of a trip organised by Acacia Africa for two nights. Rita looked after us (she is the owner's sister) and made sure that everything we wanted was ready for us - including laundering our clothes and drying very wet clothes too.

The food, as mentioned by another reviewer, is excellent. Stefani the owner cooks everything and it was like a banquet for the two nights we had dinner. It was lovely to sit down as a group, with Rita and Hugo (the game driver) for dinner and a chat together and there was a lovely warm atmosphere all the time. The food by the way, was excellent. A brai one night with salad and rice and potatoes followed by cinnamon pancakes and donuts. The other night was homemade soup followed by a savoury pie.

The chalet was clean and well maintained. The shower was hot and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was coffee, juice, toast, fruit and salad with eggs.

What I take away from my two nights at N'Sele was being hosted so well and in such a friendly manner by everyone at N'Sele. I wouldn't hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PruS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here on a tour with acacia and was the highlight of our trip. Place and his wife are perfect hosts and wonderful cooks. Make sure you do their safari as you get REALLY close to the big 5 - can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hendytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
0.5 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#10 of 104 in Hoedspruit
383 reviews
1.4 mi away
Matumi Lodge
Matumi Lodge
#48 of 104 in Hoedspruit
63 reviews
15.7 mi away
24 Degrees South - Chalets
24 Degrees South - Chalets
#54 of 104 in Hoedspruit
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lion Tree Top Lodge
Lion Tree Top Lodge
#18 of 104 in Hoedspruit
81 reviews
10.0 mi away
Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
Nyumbani Estate Bush Lodge
#36 of 104 in Hoedspruit
17 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#15 of 104 in Hoedspruit
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nsele Safaris & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nsele Safaris & Lodge

Address: PO Box 442 | Guernsey Farm 81 KU, Portion 152, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: £129 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nsele Lodge is a family owned and managed bush lodge nestled in the pristine African bush of the Greater Kruger National Park, situated in Guernsey Private Nature Reserve. Comprises of 5 elegantly furnished thatched en-suite chalets, for families & children. An open boma for starlit dining, or late night conversations and a drink of your choice from our bar. We offer Big 5 game drives & walks; daily tours into the surrounding to local rehabilitation center or breeding project. Kruger National Park & Panorama is close for a day tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nsele Safaris & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nsele Safaris & Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing