We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something to do at least once” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Something to do at least once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

When u think treehouses you normally think of a small little place in the movies. The tree houses at Pezulu are those only a million times better . Our stay was everything we imagined and more . The tree houses are all different but have the bush uniqueness you need when u are near the Kruger.

The food is plentifull ( maybe a little for breakfast) but everyone is very accomodation even with all my allergies. When the weather is perfect at night eating in the bomb is lovely and festive .
There are no fridges in the room but the staff are willing to store anything for u which is easily accessible .

The game drive is a must. Seeing everything so close was amazing. The bush walk also a winner.

It's a long drive from jhb so make the trip worth it. Bring games and sit out watching the stars . Don't forget mosquito repellent .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    75
    24
    16
    10
See reviews for
94
154
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

we just returned to Australia after a wonderful trip to Africa. Our first stop was in Pezulu, where we enjoyed the experience of sleeping in a Treehouse. The accomadation was so unique, that my 4 adult children felt young again. The staff we so friendly and we felt like we made many new friends, very well chosen and an asset to Claude and Lydia. The food provided good home cooked meals, which we enjoyed when on holiday. The game drive, our first in Africa, provided many memorable moments and all our future game drives had to match the first experience at the local reserve. We were bitten by mosquitos and did find it hard to sleep, but the trade off is to see giraffe outside our balcony and zebra running passed while we had an outdoor shower. The hot water did seem to go off an on but we were out in the bush and when it was on, the showers were lovely and hot. As it did rain we were stuck at the lodge a little more than we would have liked with no car, which did make it hard to go out. Claude did organise as many tours as possible with our wonderful guide John, however so we could get the most out of the area. Any future recommendations would be to expand the common area for those who visit without transport and to have 'breathing room' with so many guests. Pezulu was a unique experience that we treasured in our stay in Africa.

Room Tip: We stayed in Marula, with 6 adults. Wonderful for a family or if you want a lot of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The tree house game lodge is very good. We enjoyed our stay there for two nights. We could see the Zebra, Giraffes, Impala etc from the balcony of our tree house. The staff and the owners are very courteous. We are pure vegetarians and the staff at the hotel tried their best to provide us with vegetarian food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwala Narsimha ... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the "Dream House". Absolutely stunning. We awakened to giraffes strolling past our balcony and zebras galloping across the grasses. Later, the eland stopped by. The staff were very warm and welcoming. A few fix-ups would turn this lodge into a definite five star rating. Unfortunately, there was no hot water and the food was so-so. The Dream House advertises a jacuzzi, but it can't be used because of limited water in the area (plus, in this case, there was no hot water). The owner was very unfriendly and we got the sense that his staff are afraid of him. He was the reason we would not return. Maybe his wife was out of town, and perhaps, she is the friendly one? Pezulu offers safaris sub-contracted with another organization. That organization did a great job, but there is limited seating for Pezulu guests, so our anxiety was always high that we wouldn't get a reservation on the safari. Seems this should be an easy fix. We wish we could rate this very unique place higher.

Room Tip: The Dream House has excellent views of the wildlife. It's one of two lodges that face an open gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudeHoedspruit, Owner at Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Cay,
Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about our beautiful lodge. Indeed we put a lot of energy and time in the designing of the different tree houses. Each tree house is unique and has its own character. But we don’t want to turn Pezulu into a five star lodge.
I can recall the issue with the water. I remember that the guests told me after 2 days that a shower in the late afternoon is refreshing after a hot day but that it would be nice to have warm water in the morning as well. I wasn’t aware of this problem as there should always be warm water (we have electric geysers under each tree house). So I went to have a look and found out that the element inside the geyser was broken. I immediately called one of our workers to install a new one which was done straight away. I then asked the guests why they only reported about the cold water after 2 days and not immediately so that we could have fixed the problem right away. Maybe they felt offended by this question.
It’s not true that the Jacuzzi bath can’t be used because of limited water. We have enough water for the lodge and the tree houses, maybe there was no water for a short period while we were busy filling up the tanks.
We get a lot of compliments about our food but it’s difficult to please everybody. Our food is nice and freshly prepared but it’s of course not as sophisticated as the one from a very expensive 5 star lodge
I am deeply sorry that you think I am an unfriendly person. Maybe I had a bad day. As a European I’m straighter forward than most South Africans, I try to be friendly but I’m not a fake person. I am always there for the guests and very willing to help them with advices for their journey.
As my wife and I are running our busy lodge on our own for the moment, we have to split up our work to get everything done. I’m responsible for the organisation of the lodge and I take care of the guests and my (friendly) wife works more in the background, that’s why you didn’t get the chance to meet her.
Regarding the game drives, the freelance guide has 2 vehicles available. Pezulu is not the only lodge in this area that uses him. However when we confirm a booking, we always strongly recommend our guests to pre-book the game drives in advance as well to avoid disappointment. There is no limited number of seats for our guests but if guests from other lodges book first, especially during high season, it can happen that there is no space for our guests if they decide last minute to join.
I hope that my reply helps to make a few things clearer.
I can just repeat that most of our guests enjoy their stay at our stunning lodge a lot (our guestbook is full with good comments) but unfortunately we are very unlucky that mainly the guests who find something to complain write a review. At every lodge there are sometimes things who don’t work properly, when we know about the problem we always do our best to fix it immediately. But if at our lodge there is any problem with for instance warm water or a fan, some guests only tell us late or not at all and afterwards write a bad review about us. It would be better to tell us immediately in our face so that we can solve the problem and the guests can enjoy their entire stay.
The average reviews from the last 2 months definitely give a wrong impression about our very unique lodge.
Kind regards,
Claude
Pezulu Tree House Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usedom Island, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our stay at Pezulu in December 2013: The Tree House Lodges are something very special and really nice. We stayed at "Dream" and it has been a dream! You are in the middle of the bush far out of everything and there is some game around, which can be watched from the treehouses. Lydia has recommended it and we were very happy. Lydia though we only saw one evening, a very friendly person, comfortable to be with. Her husband, the owner, is pretty reserved and offish towards his guests,... taking in consideration that we travelled a lot in SA and are able to compare guest relations, which we enjoyed. What you should know is that the way to the lodge (Guernsey Nature Reserve) is quite a way - a dust road of at least 20-25 minutes, from leaving the tared road. We would have prefered to know that a 4x4 vehicle is the first option here, even if the owner does not approve it ... Means if you are up to explore your have to calculate your time well and avoid the more rainy season as you may get easily stuck.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudeHoedspruit, Owner at Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
First of all I want to thank you very much for your kind words about me, they are very motivating and invite me to me get more in contact with our guests. I have so many things to do in the background and I put so much energy in the enquiries and bookings that I often don’t have a lot of time to chat with our lovely guests what is really a pity.
I’m happy that you enjoyed our Dream tree house, it’s so spectacular.
I’m sorry to hear that you found Claude offish. It’s true that most South Africans are very friendly but unfortunately a lot of them are not like they pretend to be… As a European, Claude is straighter forward. However he would do everything for our guests, they always go first and he really strives to make them happy.
It’s true that the dust road (mainly a public road) that leads to our conservancy is not good but 80 % of our guests drive normal 2 x 2 cars and nobody ever got stuck in the 6,5 years that we own Pezulu. Of course a 4 x 4 is preferable but it’s also much more expensive that’s why we don’t try to convince our guests to rent such a car. Most lodges who are in the middle of the bush (even luxurious 5 star lodges) are far out and accessible by a bad road, that’s part of the adventure. 3 of the top 11 lodges on Tripadvisor are situated on the same conservancy and use exactly the same road but they are lucky that none of their reviewers complain about the access road.
I thank you for your visit and wish you a happy new year.
Warm regards,
Lydia
Pezulu Tree House Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We loved the treehouse and the view from the balcony (even if only 2 antelopes showed up during our stay - bad luck). Sitting on the balcony and watching the sunrise was spectacular!
The treehouse had all features needed - we loved especially the outdor shower! Unfortunately the fan was not working....
The service by the local staff was not very friendly ('High tea only at this table!'), but the owner Claude was very welcoming.
The food was very average, especially at 'high tea' and breakfast. The dinner in the boma offered a real bush feeling!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SABergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaudeHoedspruit, Owner at Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your review.
We fixed the fan in the meanwhile (it was the same fan that the previous reviewers reported), it was just a small problem, it didn’t turn properly because one of the blades touched the mosquito net.
We are happy to hear that you found Claude welcoming.
We are however surprised that you didn’t find our staff friendly, they give their best and most of the other reviewers are praising their service. We think there was a misunderstanding about the table for high tea, of course our guests can sit wherever they want.
We are sorry to hear that you find our food average, it’s very difficult to please everybody. We have a hearty breakfast buffet with a lot of choice of warm and cold dishes. However it’s always a challenge to plan the high tea (a savoury and a sweet dish like cake, fruits, coffee and tea) because we don’t know in advance how many guests will be present.
We thank you for your visit and wish you a happy new year.
Kind regards,
Lydia & Claude
Pezulu Tree House Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Value for money. Food great but not wow. Marula the best of the tree houses. Some houses needs urgent attention. Staff excellent. No aircons, and fans not 100%. No bar fridges so take enough ice. Boma dinner a highlight.

Room Tip: Marula the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank W00dy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
14.9 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 99 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
27.8 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#5 of 99 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#25 of 99 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#6 of 99 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
11.4 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#11 of 99 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lion Tree Top Lodge
Lion Tree Top Lodge
#17 of 99 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge

Property: Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Address: Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tree House Lodge close to Kruger National Park in South Africa. Pezulu is one of a kind lodge. It offers accommodation in 8 unique tree houses. All supplied with electricity and WC/Bath or open air shower. From your balcony view herds of animals running below. Daily big 5 safaris conducted in our open 4x4 vehicles. Open air dinner under the stars around the fireplace. Perfect for honeymooners as well. Real adventurous African feeling guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezulu Tree House Game Hotel Hoedspruit
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge South Africa/Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing