We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maninghi Lodge

Enjoy a sunset drink on our lawns while watching elephants come down and drink,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a sunset drink on our lawns while watching elephants come down and drink,
Open starlight boma overlooking the Olifants River View of the lodge and our 2 sycomore treeswhich attract alot of birds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Enjoy a sunset drink on our lawns while watching elephants come down and drink,
Open starlight boma overlooking the Olifants River
View of the lodge and our 2 sycomore treeswhich attract alot of birds
View of the river from the splash pool
View of the Lapa from the Splash pool
Enjoy a fire in he boma while under the stars
In our Lapa area enjoy views of the river while braaing (BBQ) with views of the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Sevenswan...
1 review
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a FANTASTIC stay at Maninghi Lodge!

Being able to watch wildlife right from the lapa makes this an exceptional spot and I count seeing a big elephant crossing, lion spotting and our visit from the hippo as some of my top experiences. This place is a gem and I would love to visit again in the future!

Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
okaggie
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Hosts in the Bush”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Maninghi Lodge is a sole-use rental that has many extra perks including two experienced bush guides, Paul & Francois. The drive in from the tar road is an adventure that to first time visitors to South Africa felt like entering Jurassic Park! Our university aged son and his girlfriend were with my husband and I and all of us were amazed to see so many animals on the drive to the lodge. Once there we were greeted with a nice cool drink and shown around the amazing property. What makes this lodge unique is the location right on the Oliphants River with a nice flat lawn up to the river.

Paul and Francois helped us plan our time there and we made the most of it with a morning game drive, a trip to the rehabilitation center within Balule Game Reserve, and a day trip into Kruger National Park. We also enjoyed having our host cook dinner for us - two braais and a pjoke (stew) cooked in a clay pot. Be sure to allow time to just sit around the lodge and enjoy looking for animals. During our short stay we saw vervet monkeys, baboons, a solo male wildebeest, a family of warthogs, hippos and a rare wood owl. Our son enjoyed using the spotlight at night to see the crocodiles in the river and had a nightly visit from a water buck.

Our game drive with Balule Reserve was very fruitful with close sightings of elephants and giraffe. There was a wide range of animals from jackals, impalas, waterbucks and kudus. Francois had insightful information about the area and the animals. There were many birds and insects - we enjoyed watching a dung beetle rolling his dung ball with two female dung beetles attached.

At the rehabilitation center only a short 20 minute drive away within Balule Parsons Reserve we were amazed by the friendliness of the meerkats. There was a rehabilitated wildebeest named Haley that comes each evening for a bottle - they let us give it! There were hedge hogs and even a pair of African Wild cats. I would recommend this little excursion.

Rising early one morning at 4:30am we left our lodge so we would be a Orpen Gate (Kruger National Park) as it opened. On of our first interesting things to see was the left over zebra kill by a leopard that it had pulled into a tree. From our car we were amazed to see a small black mamba snake - Paul was great to see it. We saw 3 different prides of lions - 2 at a great distance during the heat of the day when they were sleeping in the bushes and barely visible. Paul had the experience to know a good less traveled road and we were delight to have 20-30 minutes of watching a pride of lions at a very close range. They were on both sides of the road and a lioness and a male crossed right in front of Paul's Land Cruiser. We had a wonderful lunch at Satara and then headed back out of Orpen gate pleased with our day. What a bonus to see a sleeping leopard. At the gate itself an elephant didn't like the line of cars leaving the park being so close and gave a warning head shake and Paul moved our vehicle very quickly. Arriving back at the lodge, Francois had a wonderful meal cooking and ready for us.

We opted to "self cater" for our breakfast and lunches and it worked out great. The suggestions sent by Paul/Francois were very helpful in finding a good place to get our supplies. They had the house well stocked and ready to go. There are three bedrooms downstairs (2 with double size beds and 1 with two twins). There's a large sleeping area upstairs that had many more beds. We spent most of our time under the large covered outside area and the upper level deck. There's one full bathroom downstairs and another half-bath (toilet only) which was perfect for our group. With a large group this might be too few but this was being remedied as we were leaving the work on a second bathroom was starting. The other thing that might have been nice would have been having AC in the bedrooms - there was an overhead fan and a standup fan that made it bearable. We slept with our windows open each night to enjoy the slight breeze. They offered to put our beds outside to "sleep under the stars" but the night we had picked it rained!!

All of this for a very reasonable price - we were amazed to have sole use and our own "tour guides"! The price we paid for our game drives, meals and day trips was also very reasonable. We loved our trip and hope to go again soon. We traveled half way around the world for this amazing adventure....our only regret was that our schedules didn't allow us to stay longer. It was a great first trip to South Africa. Paul also does privately escorted tours around many game reserves in and around South Africa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wildness of the location
Liked least: fans/mosquito netting
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivineNic...
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Wonderful location on Olifantsriver with daily visits of buffalo,hippo,elephant and various antelope. Birding paradise with massive fig trees right in front of the patio, Paul and Francois are very knowledgeable and a rare combination of host,game rangers and excellent cooks.
They are able to tailor the level of attention from self catering to fully guided according to client preferences. We had a lovely time even during the sweltering summer heatwave, lounging in the splashpool while game viewing and bird watching .
Highly recommended for an authentic bush experience.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
callyian...
Valletta, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend a stay at Maninghi. Such a warm reception and constant attention - felt quite spoilt...apart from the stunning back drop and constant movement of animals on yr door step.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and the management
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c
2 reviews
“Brilliant family bush holiday”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We would strongly recommend Maninghi Lodge to groups of overseas visitors - keen to obtain an authentic SA bush experience (possibly driving a circular route from Joburg). As a family group of 4 (with a 60 year age span) we combined 5 nights at Maninghi Lodge with two nights at Punda Maria Rest Camp in the North Kruger.

We have a preference for riverside locations as this seems to attract a constant variety of bird life; background Hippo/ Croc activity and numerous Buck with occasional big 5 visitors. The beautiful setting of Maninghi lodge provides a very comfortable residence in this regard, exceeding our sedentary game viewing expectations by some margin.

However, what makes Mananghi exceptional in our view, is the expertise and infectious enthusiasm of the multi talented hosts Paul and Francois. We enjoyed two game drives (one night time combined with an unmissable late afternoon visit to the local wild animal rescue centre) and two bush walks - observing 3 of the big 5 at close quarters. It is important to distinguish the additional value Paul and Francois add to the bush experience through their encyclopedic knowledge of bird calls and indeed the minutiae of the local flora and fauna.

We combined some self catered meals, with the authentic bush culinary expertise of Chez Paul and Francois. The extensive Maninghi site can provide for a variety of eating locations which makes every meal a different experience.

Paul and Francois also provided extensive guidance as to our wider Kruger travel plans and even made constructive recommendations as to how our son might best undertake some bush ecology training in his looming gap year.

We are naturally recommending Maninghi Lodge to the rapidly growing number of our UK friends - keen to experience South Africa at its best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Oliphants riverside location (featuring Harry the Hippo)
Liked least: Access road is a bit bumpy.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slyer2015
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“A great sense of peace coupled with very competent informality from our host.”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Let me start this review by stating that Paul our host is our son, however , my wife and I have traveled very widely around the world and I will try and be as objective as possible.
The Lodge is only let out to one group at a time, be it, a family and their friends and as you do not have any strangers staying at the lodge it immediately becomes exclusive to your group. A river side paradise. Straight away there is a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The staff are unobtrusive and friendly and when one awakes all the communal areas have been cleaned up from the night before.
There are no on-suite bathrooms. With two bathrooms and three toilets, if a large group booked in that might cause inconvenience. I would be wary of taking very small children as they would require constant monitoring as it is unfenced and guests are required to stay within close proximity to the lodge and not move around the lodge at night. This applies to any any lodges around the world with big game nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views, large animals, elephants, on the lawns. Amenities and a feeling of utter peace.
Liked least: The conservency roads need a regrading.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katrinana...
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Surroundings”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Sundowners while looking over the olifants river with the drakensburg in the distance, excellent and accommodating owners and guides in Francois and Paul, can only lead a relaxing break in the African bush.

We had a fantastic time and will certainly be back for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing