We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Heath Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jagersrust
1 review
“happy guest”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

nice place perfect holiday resorts especial for kids, activities are perfect wish i can be there long time but due to short weekends I would also would like to thank staff for being kind to guests. braai area maybe must be kind indoors especial in winter maybe covered place. golf car will be perfect to have maybe to hire to expire the whole resorts

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nkanyiso G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for taking the necessary time to give us your feedback in regards to your experience during your recent visit to Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort.

We are pleased to hear you and your family had such a great time while enjoying the various indoor and outdoor facilities we have to offer for both young and old.

I have forward you suggestion in regards to the enclosed braai area and golf cart to senior management for their consideration.

We do hope to see you and your family soon back again - and yes, hopefully for longer than just a weekend.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    156
    83
    36
    33
See reviews for
291
53
2
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family an I were looking forward to a lovely weekend away, at Alpine Heath. On our way, 23km from the resort at 6pm, we had an unfortunate incident, of a double puncture. With the cold winter chill, and evening setting in I quickly called the resort, knowing a resort as big as this would definitely assist!! To my absolute horror an shock I was told that they unfortunately can't an have no vehicles on their premises. Really? Your guest is stranded with 2 little kids and you can do nothing? The irony is the neighboring resort Little Switzerland, and an angel called Diven Swanepoel, went beyond the call of duty, transported us to Alpine Heath, helped with our vehicle and his concern for my families safety was just amazing. Sadly we have paid in full, wish I could swap to Little Switzerland. Diven even brought the incident to the manager on duty at Alpine Heath in the hope that it was not raised, there was no remorse, no compassion....in fact not even...." We so sorry we couldn't help". Never staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yashina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineHeath, General Manager at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Yashina2014

Many thanks for your feedback. Feedback both positive and negative assists us in continuously monitoring our service.

I have investigated the issue you raised in your review; and would like to sincerely apologise to you for the misunderstanding. Our guests comfort and safety is definitely a primary concern of ours and our team are often equally committed to attending to a guest in need.

Due to the fact that it was a double puncture and that you would require more than one tyre, my team incorrectly prioritised getting a tow truck service through to you in the evening in order to have your car safely towed to a point of safety; so that we could assist you in the morning in terms of having your tyres repaired. I have pulled the telephone records from our in house system and it appears that within 5 minutes whilst we were making arrangements to get your car towed; your husband had already made alternative plans with a neighbouring resort. My team informed me that when they called you to provide a status feedback and make further arrangements you advised them that your Husband had already made alternative arrangements.

I concede that in this instance your needs were not prioritised correctly, and I for that I truly apologise. I would like to assure you that my team have been briefed in terms of handling a similar situation more proficiently in the future.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies, with regards to the way your time of need was handled.

Yours sincerely.

Ernst-Jan Hiltemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was a great experience! The kids loved all the activities and never stood still the whole time we were there. The staff looked after the children if they were their own. My wife and i loved all the relaxing time and awesome cuizine on offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marius H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-Behrens, Front Office Manager at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and write a review about our Resort. We greatly appreciate all feedback from all our guest in order for us to improve our services and various activities.

We are glad to hear you had such a great experience during your recent stay as well as enjoyed the various indoor and outdoor activities we have to offer for both children and adults alike.

In the same token we are happy to hear you enjoyed the food at our various restaurants as well.

We hope to see you and your family soon again at one of Three Cities Exceptional Resorts.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was my first visit to the berg. Finding the resort, travelling from Durban, was fairly simple. Upon arrival we met with an extremely friendly and well spoken security guard who directed us to reception. We waited for a bit before being attended to at reception (and later i had another experience where i felt those working at reception need a bit of reprimanding cz first impressions are usually made at reception). With the exception of the shabby sofas that require reupholstering, the mould visible on our room wall, and the cotton pillows that urgently need replacing our self catering chalet was fairly neat and cozy. The towels and linen were plush and to my liking. Our room had an en-suite bathroom (although i do wish it had a bath tub). Mini toiletries (excl. toothpaste) were provided and tea and coffee were available. The chalet was cleaned daily (which was brilliant cz with all the activities to do there was no time or energy to spend on cleaning). My favourite feature was the fire place, but I thought it could have been better situated, as we sat in front of it enjoying its warmth and glow whilst roasting marshmallows and drinking a hot beverage. The resort itself is only 12 years old, and in general has a touch of old world charm, made even more intriguing by the Ghost Tour hosted by the Alpine Team. There was much to do with the resort catering for all with its many and varied activities and for me this is what made Alpine Heath unique. We went on guided hikes (our guides were excellent wish i had written down their names so i could give them special mention), although i do feel being off peak season this could have allowed for a little more personalised tours. I would think that one of the reasons (in our case the main reason) people visit the berg is because it is a world heritage site. The bushman rock paintings are the reason for the berg being given this prestigious status and so i expected a little more emphasis to be placed on this, so in this regard i was a little disappointed (particularly with reception failing to attend to my requests from the beginning). There were no children with us but I would definitely recommend this resort for families as children are kept fully occupied with a fun-packed entertainment programme at the Kids Zone. My husband and I went horse riding, and were joined by our frnds who had accompanied us on this holiday, it was something we always intended on doing but never got done, the rides were fairly priced, and for my husband this was his favorite part of our trip. Tnx to (i think it his name is) Sifiso for being such a good teacher, because of his assistance my husband has developed a love for horses and horse riding. The guide i went with wasn't very helpful, my foot was hanging freely, being beginners we should have been given a short tutorial/practice run on flat open land before going on the outback. We also went cycling, played putt - putt, squash, tennis table, and tennis. The pools looked inviting but it was too cold, a heated pool would have been preferred. We sang karaoke, danced and listened to good music. With all the activities, it can take a toll on the body so i would suggest one take a moment to be spoilt at the spa. The spa should look into couples massages and promotions in that regard. Unfortunately we didn't get to make use of the spas services as we intended on booking for our last night and they were fully booked so my tip would be to book in advance. The food wasn't halaal and i wouldn't really classify it as halaal friendly either so we didn't try anything. But we had intended on using the fresh food market, i had pictured stalls where locals sold fresh produce, fresh milk, handmade crafts and other goods but it was a general goods store that sold stale rolls. With the exception of the few minor issues it is definitely a place that i would return to be it just my husband and i, or with family or frnds, or as a team building adventure with work mates. I would most certainly recommend a visit to the Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort, Northern Drakensberg. (p.s. If you are coming from Durban and expecting it to snow chances are you will be more likely to find it snowing in the Southern Drakensberg, near Mooi River, etc... Nonetheless the resort is surrounded by a picturesque background that is absolutely breath taking all year round).

Room Tip: Request a chalet closest to the reception area. There are many activities that happen throughout the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1MMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-Behrens, Manager at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for your good rating for Three Cities Alpine Heat Resort on Tripvisor.

As well as, thank you for your input both positive and negative. We do appreciate all feedback from our guest as part of an ongoing process to improve our Resort in general as well as the various services and activities we offer.

I am sorry to hear you did not find Reception staff as warm and welcoming as the rest of our staff. I will personally look into the matter, since it is a point of concern and urgency.

We are in the process to replace all the sofas in all the units due to a defect in the fabric. Up to date we have replaced the sofas in 52 units and the rest of units will have new sofas by the end of July ’14. In regards to the pillows in the units, we have placed the order for 200 new ones and await delivery.

Furthermore I have forward your comments to the various other departments for the respective managers to look into the various aspects you mentioned.


Overall we are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and hope to see you soon again at one of Three Cities Exceptional Resort.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had an awesome time at Alpine heath resort. there are fun activities during tea breaks were great, with great facilitates. if you are looking for beautiful and peaceful place for holiday or conference, than Alpine heath resort is it. Great entertainment, food and good view of nature with fun activities to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank malise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-Behrens, Manager at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Good day

Thank you very much for your great review about our Resort.

We are very pleased that you had such a good time during your stay with our wide range of indoor and outdoor activities aimed at pleasing the whole family. Although you joined us during one of your conferences we are glad to hear you enjoyed our conference facilities and all the amenities included in the package.

We are looking forward to receive you back again in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a good, fun experience at Alpine Heath Resort. The chalet was clean but the bathrooms need to be updated. Mixers should be installed. There were no irons available on request. There are very limited crockery and cutlery for a six sleeper apartment. The birds in the ceiling make a terrible noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partydiva16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter-Behrens, Manager at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort.

Both positive and negative responses assist us to improve our services and ensure each guests have an exceptional experience when visiting us.

We are in the process to ensure all our unit's operating equipment in the fully equipped kitchens are up to standard for the six people it host. We do provide laundry service to our guests and can be arranged with our Housekeeping department via Reception.

I have also forwarded your comment about the birds in the ceiling to our maintenance manager to attend to the matter.

We hope to see you soon again at one of Three Cities Exceptional Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verulam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a great time at Alpine Heath. The facilities were very good, entertainment great and the view amazing. Our unit was neat and cosy. Staff were friendly and service very good. Would definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Loveena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHFOmanager, Manager at Alpine Heath Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent visit to Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort.

We are pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in one of our self-catering units and found it both clean and comfortable. Yes we are fortunate to be situated in a prime spot of the northern berg with scenic views and are pleased that you and your family managed to enjoy it as well.

We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jagersrust
4.4 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
243 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
17.8 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
621 reviews
2.7 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
2.9 mi away
Ezulwini Berg Resort
Ezulwini Berg Resort
#3 of 4 in Jagersrust
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Heath Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Heath Resort

Property: Alpine Heath Resort
Address: D119, Old Cavernberg Road | Northern Drakensberg, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Jagersrust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jagersrust
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Heath Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALPINE HEATH RESORT – A PLACE OF WONDER. The magnificent mountains of the Drakensberg provide the spectacular backdrop for Alpine Heath Resort. The resort is located midway between Durban and Johannesburg, and offers superb accommodation, fine cuisine, All-Out-Adventure pursuits and superb conference and wedding facilities. This resort is a sports enthusiast’s dream with a host of activities available to keep the entire family entertained. Guests can choose from indoors activities like:•Board Games •Squash •Table-tennis •Gym •Spa treatments. There is also an extensive range of outdoor activities, which includes: •Horse-riding •Tennis •Volleyball •Fishing •Mountain biking •Tennis •Putt-putt course •Swimming and even friendly sport matches. The kids will be fully entertained with FUNtastic options that are sure to exceed any child’s expectations and energy levels. A daily variety of things to do, from arts & crafts to nature related activities are on offer. Children will never have a dull moment with the exclusive Kid’s Entertainment Program at the Kid’s WOW Zone! Just five minutes drive away is the All Out Adventures, which caters for extreme adrenaline junkies. Their activities vary from their well-reputed Canopy Tours to the Zipline and Kingswing. Alpine Heath Resort has many hiking trails, varying in difficulty, on offer. Situated in a World Heritage Site, the resort is the perfect base from which to explore some of the country’s finest trail attractions including the Amphitheatre, Tugela Falls (the World’s second highest waterfall) and Mont aux Sources. The Royal National Park is located 15km from the resort and boasts fantastic hiking opportunities at the world-famous Amphitheatre. Some of the trails available are: •Chain Ladder Hike •Tugela Gorge •Surprise Ridge •Cannibal Cave •Cascades, Look Out Rock •Tiger Falls. A trip to the Drakensberg would be incomplete without visiting the Spioenkop Battlefields and all the history associated with the South Africa Anglo-Boer War. Relive the memories of past heroes and walk in the footsteps of three great leaders, Winston Churchill, Mahatma Gandhi and General Louis Botha. Alpine Heath Resort offers guests a number of dining options. Hungry patrons can choose between self-catering or enjoy the culinary delights of the resort’s La Gruyeres Restaurant, savor some scrumptious offerings at the resort’s onsite eateries - The Tavern or the Pizzeria Inferno Pizzeria, enjoy light snacks at The Coffee Shop or shop for some fresh produce at the Village Market & Deli so that guests can prepare cuisine in the comfort of their own chalets. The resort has 100 luxuriously appointed, fully-equipped chalets offering panoramic mountain views from comfortable lounges, a fireplace for those romantic wintery evenings, kitchen, patio, satellite TV and three cozy bedrooms. Alpine Heath Resort is truly a highlight of the Drakensberg and it’s what makes this unique berg village so popular all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Heath Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Heath Hotel Drakensberg Region
Alpine Heath Resort South Africa/Jagersrust, KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing