We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place but very expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Amphitheatre Lodge.
We went there with the Bazbus.
The place is amazing! All those montains around. A lot of things to do in the lodge (Jaccuzi, Sauna, tennis table etc...).
We had a private room with ensuite bathroom and a view ... The room was really quiet. Far from the reception. But it was a little bit dark and the view...with a small window...
Inside everything was nice and clean.

On the other hand when we just arrived the lady spoke to us during 30 minutes (we were just spending 6 hours in a bus...) about the tours... We wanted to do the Lesotho tour but she tried to sell us both tours except that we had to stay only 2 nights so we couldn't do both but she again tried to sell us to stay one more night + the other tour... hum hum... Too much for us!!!!

The evening dinner is a little bit expensive but if you do not bring food and if you 're hundry you just can eat there and it cost R135. It was not too bad. There is no free water. You have to pay for everything.

When you want to borrow towel or tennis table you have to pay a R50 deposit. There is confidence for you!!

Except that we had the feeling that they " love money" the place is really nice and you can go to Lesotho and spend a really good day the a really nice and interesting guide (from 7:30 until 5:30).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laetiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amphibackpackers, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2014

Thank you for finding our place amazing! We are so blessed to be surrounded by such an amazing view every day. You have pointed out that there are a lot of things to do in the lodge (Jaccuzi, Sauna, tennis table etc...). Please note that all the things that you enjoyed doing at the lodge are for free! We therefore need to generate an income from somewhere in order to bank roll these. So, some of the things we offer, we do have to charge for. The prices decided upon are done very carefully, and once guides have been paid PROPERLY, and everything else that they entail, the lodge actually makes very little profit.
Deposits on free items, ensure that there is money to replace, repair and maintain them.
The jaccuzi, swimming pool and sauna both cost a lot of money, on electricity and water, and of course the parts to keep them going. Yes, you can say, that we watch the money, but the money is reinjected into the lodge which is why we have such a well functioning set up where things on offer actually work. How many places have you visited that offer table tennis and have no balls or bats? How many places are the free surf boards broken? How many times have you played on a pool table and the cues are broken and the felt bumpy? We do try and keep high standards at Amphitheatre, so if all you have to do is pay a REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT, in order to access these, I don't believe that it is such a big ask!

Sorry that there is no free water, but we do not get free water from the Municipality, therefore drinking water has to be purchased.

Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our trips, especially to Lesotho. It is one of our favourites too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had an amazing stay at Amphitheatre in the Northern Drakensberg. We came here with the Bazbus from Durban and stayed for 2 nights.. The hostel is in the middle of no where, and all you can see are the Drakensberg mountains mirroring in the background. Such a great and relaxed place if you like to hike and you can enjoy some peace of quiet. Theres plenty of things to do here and if you dont want to hike in the mountains, you can walk around on the premises of the hostel.

In the evening there was live entertainment with locals and every night you can book yourself for a 3 course meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jay3991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amphibackpackers, Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2014

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We love people like you!! Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place is not interested in anything but your money.

You show up, stand in line, obey the rules, and pay.

Starting with check-in, the place is very impersonal and indifferent to you as an individual. Different parties arriving must wait for all the other parties to check in so that as a group you are told and sold on their agenda. She even warns you if you leave, you will miss "important information".

That is: being sold on their tours and having to watch a presentation on her computer as a group. The day I was there, at least 7 people were interested in one of the tours, but she said she already had 5 signed up for a different tour, so she wanted to switch the 7 into the tour of HER choice, not the guests choice. The tours are way overpriced! The tour guides indifferent. If you want to take the tour on your own (which is possible!) she will lie to you and tell you that you can not because you will get lost, the roads are bad, and the park will not admit you. Not true!

A tab is run on everyone's room because they have found people spend much more money this way.

They spent 10 minutes trying to get a phone to work so they could charge 2-3 rand rather than just make a 30 second phone call--this is what I call desperate to take your money!!

The laundry is way overpriced! You can only drop it off at a specific time in a specific basket with other specific rules. Don't bother asking for a clothesline or hangers, they will NOT provide either!

You must purchase a password to use the internet and then when it doesn't work, they insist you must keep trying. When this fails they still shrug as if it was your fault. You must demand a refund to get one.

The dinner is way overpriced and marginal at best! They figure they have you captive (especially if you are on Bazbus) so they do take advantage. They even tell you their water is bad so that you have to purchase it from them!

They stop all other food service in the afternoon, so if you have no other means you must purchase their expensive dinner with minimal food presented on a plate, that's all you get.

The dorm is a free-for-all with people occupying all the space and in this case there were no available beds, but management could not be bothered, they left it to the guests to sort it, which caused interpersonal problems for the duration.

Also, because it is a round room and the beds are crammed in, the people put their bags in the middle of the room so there is no space to walk and it is complicated by devices plugged in to a socket in the middle of the room further strangling foot traffic. You need to be acrobatic to get to and from the bed.

There are alternative places, find them!

If you must stay here, you will surely find other unwelcoming surprises.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank beachretreat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amphibackpackers, Director of Sales at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2014

It is sad that you have had this impression of the lodge as it is certainly NOT interested in ripping people off. In fact the lodge has a LEVEL TWO BEE rating which means that it looks after its staff well and is committed to community development in the area. There is a fine line that one treads where one has to pay staff well, give customers a high quality experience and keep prices low. Our prices for everything........ food, laundry, tours etc etc are all based on standard backpackers rates.... in fact we are usually even lower. Our salaries however are some of the highest in the industry.

You say that the place is very impersonal and that we are indifferent to you as an individuals, well the issue here is that if you arrived when it was busy, we would have been forced to deal with customers as efficiently as possible, and what can happen in these situations, is that one sacrifices long chats (which we love having with customers, by the way!), for less personal interactions. This hostel, can have 300 people on a busy weekend. Saying that, we employ 45 people to run offices, answer phones, clean, cook , guide etc.
We are terribly sorry that we came across as being efficient and cold. It was late at night and other customers were needing things to be sorted out for them.
We do resent being described as trying to 'sell' people the notion of doing our tours, as we encourage people to do as many things in the area as they can fit in.
The reason why we give a presentation of our trips, is because nearly every single person coming to our hostel, are coming to do the tours. There is no way that the front receptionists could explain our trips 50 times a day, without having some kind of set presentation with chosen images.
Yes, we do run specific trips on specific days, because otherwise we would not be able to keep the prices as low as they are. By consolidating groups, we are able to reduce some of our expenses.

The price for the trips is carefully considered with the following to take into account:

Vehicle repayments
Vehicle insurance
road permits
Personal Liability
Passenger Liability
cross border permits
car registration
Guide registration
First Aid Certification and training (per guide)
Guide's Equipment (ropes, first aid kits, clothing et)
Guides salaries and fees (per person)
Entrance Fees (per person)
Community Levies (per person)
tyres (have you seen the roads.... eeeaaah)
fuel (16 seaters DRINK petrol)
Lunch per person (on that note we have new lunch packets with home made baguettes)

We only make profit from the 6th person in the bus BUT we go out on many trips with ONLY three clients ..... so when it is quiet we use money saved from when it is busy. This means that Amphitheatre is able to do at least one trip each day for people without cars.

Amphitheatre tries to encourage those with their own vehicles to go on their own trips. We even have maps that we have designed informing people where to go in the park AND places of interest in the surrounding are BUT as guides WE DO WARN AGAINST THE MORE DANGEROUS HIKES

People can pay cash for everything - we simply set up a tab, as people arrive, so that they have the option of putting items on it! Most of our clients appreciate this service, as it illustrates a level of trust. Next time you come, just pay cash! We do have 5 different teller shifts a day, beginning at 6.30 am and ending when the last person goes to bed.

Our telecommunications are very bad in this area. There are no cell lines, there are no ADSL lines, and even cell phone communication is very poor. We have done everything we can, to ensure that there is some kind of internet connection, and have even set up a public phone system using a cell phone sim card, and our internet is running off a satelite dish. Nobody has the time at Amphitheatre to pretend anything is wrong with the phone, in the hope of making an extra 30 cents! That is really clutching at straws!

The laundry is NOT overpriced! It only costs R60 for a full load. I have no idea why you are so angry about us having a system around dropping off and fetching your laundry. If we didn't have the systems around the laundry, there would be chaos. There is a private clothes line for the backpackers to use, with clothes pegs, all one needs to do, is ASK.

Internet is access with a satellite, so we have to charge the minimum.
Water is pumped from the dam, and is chlorinated. It is better to buy water.
These are the facts of life in the area that we live in. There is nothing we can do to change it.

We do not stop meals in the afternoon, so that you can purchase dinner. We have invested a large amount of money with providing customers with well equipped and comfortable self catering kitchens. Most customers who do not wish to buy meals from us, arrive with all that they need to remain independent, INCLUDING BAZ BUS PEOPLE.

We have an amazing new menu which was put together by Earth Mother Organic in Durban. Check them out on TRIP ADVISOR

http://www.tripadvisor.co.za/Restaurant_Review-g312595-d1740718-Reviews-Earth_Mother_Organic-Durban_KwaZulu_Natal.html

Some of our dorms have been made from converted silos. The new trend these days, is to try and use buildings that are already in existence instead of smashing them down and putting up new ones. This helps to reduce global warming.

One of the most popular rooms, is the silos, as people find it a genuinely unique idea.
There are not really many alternative places, in the area, at our prices, as we are the only ones crazy enough, not to charge people exorbitant rates , for the amazing location and view.

If you must stay here, you will surely find other unwelcoming surprises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

So, we have heard a lot of good reviews form this BP. But we were disappointed.
We expected free wifi and wash our cloth there. Both things no free. R 60 laundry (if you still want to do your laundry you should now that it takes 1 day, you give your cloths on the morning and they give back to you on the evening)
We were expecting high "cuisine" from their "5 star chef", so we paid the expensive R135 for the three meals. Three disappointments, average flavour, small portion, cold food.....Don´t do it!
The installations are fine. the bar and the dinner room have their own style, mix between cultural and modern designs. We stayed at the dorm that in general are ok. The best thing is the mountains that surround the BP. Lovely landscape. I am sure that you can find something better in the zone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AugustaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amphibackpackers, Guest Relations Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2014

I am glad that you have heard a lot of good reviews about our place. I am also happy that you enjoyed the decor and the dorms. It is a pity that you were disappointed that we don't offer free laundry services and free wifi.

We use a satellite connection at the moment for the internet which is costing us huge amounts of money each month as it is capped we get charged according to what people download. The day that they put telephone lines in our area and ADSL lines we could then consider FREE Wifi, but certainly not now. Saying all this we only charge R10 for 15 minutes. Unfortunately that is the price you pay for living in a beautiful rural area like ours.

I am amazed to be honest that you expected FREE laundry. WOW we sometimes have 300 people here. Can you imagine the sheer horror of dealing with all that laundry.... considering that we have to pump our own water and use the sun to dry. Phew we would be inundated and it would cost us so much.

R60 for laundry is not expensive. It is a full load. The laundry is washed in the morning and then we let it dry in the sun.

We were still setting up our menu when these guys were here. We are now up and running and have an amazing new menu which was put together by Earth Mother Organic in Durban. Check them out on TRIP ADVISOR

http://www.tripadvisor.co.za/Restaurant_Review-g312595-d1740718-Reviews-Earth_Mother_Organic-Durban_KwaZulu_Natal.html

I am not sure that you can find something better in the area at this price. The reason being that one could charge top dollar for the view BUT we choose to support travellers who don't have as much to spend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here mainly to do the amphitheatre hike, and because we had a rental car wanted to do it independently. However, the manager was emphatic that we couldn't take a 2WD to the car park and she also wouldn't offer any help such as directions or maps. This is because they want everyone to take an expensive tour. We ended up taking a tour, but found 2WD cars at the car park, although the road was rough! Also tour was unprofessional. late leaving, long stops and two hours late getting back. The actual accommodation was okay, though more expensive than other Drakensberg backpackers. We didn't eat at the restaurant as there was only a 3 course meal which didn't appear to be good value. Overall we wouldn't stay here again or recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZSKIERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amphibackpackers, Public Relations Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2014

Sorry that you had such a negative impression of the hostel. We do enjoy criticism as it helps us to see our flaws but it is quite a heavy criticism to tell us that the lodge "wants everyone to take their expensive tours."

Firstly because if we wanted everyone to take expensive tours why would we offer cheap shuttles all over the place? Why would we spend every day handing out piles of maps for self drivers?
The second problem we have with the comment is that the tours are EXPENSIVE???? Have you looked at any prices of day trips in SA? Our tour lasts 10 hours and R560

Our expenses:
The price for the trips is not just to cover lunch and petrol..... I wish :)....
It covers:
Vehicle repayments
Vehicle insurance
road permits
Personal Liability
Passenger Liability
cross border permits
car registration
Guide registration
First Aid Certification and training (per guide)
Guide's Equipment (ropes, first aid kits, clothing et)
Guides salaries and fees (per person)
Entrance Fees (per person)
Community Levies (per person)
tyres (have you seen the roads.... eeeaaah)
fuel (16 seaters DRINK petrol)
Lunch per person (on that note we have new lunch packets with home made baguettes)

We only make profit from the 6th person in the bus BUT we go out on many trips with ONLY three clients ..... so when it is quiet we use money saved from when it is busy. This means that Amphitheatre is able to do at least one trip each day for people without cars.

We don't advise CERTAIN hikes to be done without guides but DO ENCOURAGE MANY ALTERNATIVE HIKES for people to do alone.

There is a bottle neck of customers eating dinner with us which is why we offer a set dinner at night...... though saying that it is still always full :)

We have an amazing new menu which was put together by Earth Mother Organic in Durban. Check them out on TRIP ADVISOR

http://www.tripadvisor.co.za/Restaurant_Review-g312595-d1740718-Reviews-Earth_Mother_Organic-Durban_KwaZulu_Natal.html
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in amphitheater backpackers for one week. My tip is to rent a car if you are an avid hiker and make some friends to help split the cost of petrol. If you have a car you can also check out close restaurants, cathedral peak and the gorge which they charge you to drop you off and pick you up at a certain time which can make you feel rushed.

PROS:
The facilities are awesome and the sunrises and sunsets are picturesque. We were in the dorm which were resonably priced and the beds were so comfortable!

CONS:
FOOD-
If you are dropped off by the baz bus and no one told you beforehand to pick up your own food you are indeed trapped into buying food at the restaurant.( the shop is not within walking distance while carrying groceries) While the breakfast and lunch menus have enough choices for people on a budget there is only one choice for dinner. A 3 course meal from a "5" star chef. The food was average for the cost and the portions were quite small. It is like a very good cafeteria meal. I have done a lot of eating out in South Africa and have had much better meals for that price or even cheaper. If they had a menu with normal dishes for people who wanted to opt out of the 3 course meal that would be nice.

TOUR PRICES:
The price for the hiking trips are around $55 for the Tuelga Falls trip which I found expensive. You get a sandwich which costs maybe $3 and then the price of petrol.
We told Adrian that we really wanted to do the Cathedral peak hike but you needed a minimum of 3 people and we were only 2. So he said he would ask groups as they came in if anyone was interested and he would find us a third member. As it turned out another girl had said she wanted to go and he never relayed back to us that we now had a group and could go. Luckily we made a friends with that girl and a guy with a car so we got a group together to go to cathedral peak. When we approached Adrian asking for a map of the hiking route he did all he could to deter us from going saying it was too difficult without a guide and we needed to do it in a tour. We went anyway and bought a map at the office near the bottom of the peak. It was a tough hike but for EXPERIENCED hikers who know how to read a map it was doable. The scrambling part of the climb was tough but you can do it if you follow the foot trials you can spot where to scramble. So we ended up saving a lot of money as we found friends with cars we ventured out and around our selves. There are some really great restaurants nearby (driving distance, not walkable)

DORM:
We stayed in the silos which were converted to dorms and found that when it rained very hard the roof leaked. Not sure if they have fixed that or not.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eadela3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amphibackpackers, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2014

These clients stayed at the lodge for one week and thank you so much for saying that "the facilities are awesome" as we have spent so much time and energy over the years trying to think of every need that customers might want fulfilled. The sunrises and sunsets are picturesque as you say, but we sadly cannot take credit for that :)

I am glad that you found the dorm reasonably priced as are all the budget rooms and thank you for reporting that the beds were so comfortable! Again we have invested in good sprung mattresses which we continually replace .

We do charge for shuttles as petrol costs!!! Sorry that we have to do these shuttles at designated times BUT we don't have enough vehicles and drivers to do more per day as we have shuttles to and from the park, shuttles to and from Bergville, shuttles to and from Harrismith AND our regular tours to take care of. At least we do try and help those without cars though.

The idea that we are "trapping Bazbus people into buying food from us" is rather a shocking suggestion as we have invested so much in large and well equipped self-catering kitchens. If you are travelling by Bazbus and are averse to buying meals SURELY the onus is on you to enquire before arrival as to whether there is a shop on site? The beauty of the lodge is that shopping centres ARE NOT close by, although there is a resort with a small shop 7 km away.

We have an amazing new menu which was put together by Earth Mother Organic in Durban. Check them out on TRIP ADVISOR

http://www.tripadvisor.co.za/Restaurant_Review-g312595-d1740718-Reviews-Earth_Mother_Organic-Durban_KwaZulu_Natal.html

The price for the trips is not just to cover lunch and petrol..... I wish :)....
It covers:
Vehicle repayments
Vehicle insurance
road permits
Personal Liability
Passenger Liability
cross border permits
car registration
Guide registration
First Aid Certification and training (per guide)
Guide's Equipment (ropes, first aid kits, clothing et)
Guides salaries and fees (per person)
Entrance Fees (per person)
Community Levies (per person)
tyres (have you seen the roads.... eeeaaah)
fuel (16 seaters DRINK petrol)
Lunch per person (on that note we have new lunch packets with home made baguettes)

We only make profit from the 6th person in the bus BUT we go out on many trips with ONLY three clients ..... so when it is quiet we use money saved from when it is busy. This means that Amphitheatre is able to do at least one trip each day for people without cars.

Amphitheatre tries to encourage those with their own vehicles to go on their own trips. We even have maps that we have designed informing people where to go in the park AND places of interest in the surrounding are BUT as guides WE DO WARN AGAINST THE MORE DANGEROUS HIKES. Regarding the Cathedral Peak Summit hike, it is extremely difficult and we do strongly advise against doing it without a guide and his FIRST AID equipment and knowledge as well as his SAFETY ROPES. After reading this particular Trip Advisor Review a group of clients arrived at the lodge and told us that "according to Trip Advisor" we were overly cautious with our advice...... they tried to do the hike and one of the group then slipped and rolled 20 meters requiring a long and complicated mountain rescue. Members of the group returned to the hostel the next day (YUP they slept on the mountain) and they complained that we should have "deterred them from going by insisting it was too difficult without a guide".... hmmm we just cannot win can we :(

Yes the thatched roof has been re-thatched :)

Thank you for staying as long as you did and hope you guys come back again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at the backpackers for the first (and last) time as the usual campsite was fully booked. The campsite has beautiful grounds and a gorgeous view of the Ampitheatre. However, the campsite doesn't have individual fire spots so you are forced to go an wait for a fire to cook. The kitchen had overflowing bins and not enough crockery and cutlery. The bathrooms were average and not regularly cleaned. The campsite was extremely noisy and there was loud music all the way through the night up until 5am. This was bizarre and disturbing because their were also young kids staying in the campsite. Yes its a backpackers for young travelers, but past a certain hour (midnight), it should be controlled especially when families are also staying in the campsite. We also encountered problems with our 'tabs' when checking-out. We were strongly told we 'must' have tab numbers, even though we said we wouldn't be purchasing anything and if we did we'd pay cash there and then. Our tab numbers were used by other people and all 4 of our party had purchases that we did not ask for (whiskies, and food). The mandatory tab system is obviously flawed and should be reviewed. I see I am not the only one with these views about the backpackers. I am also anticipating the wonderful replies of the owners who seem to have an answer for everything.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaKavSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amphibackpackers, General Manager at Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2014

The reason that you found the campsite fully booked is because it was a long weekend. This meant that it was EXTREMELY busy..... not just at Amphitheatre but the whole berg. I can assure you that all other campsites and hotels in the area become very loud and noisy over these periods.
Thank you for noticing that "The campsite has beautiful grounds and a gorgeous view of the Ampitheatre" we have invested a lot of time and energy on the lodge and it is always great when someone appreciates this. The reason that the campsite does not have individual fire spots is because of the INCREDIBLE fire risk that this poses over the dry winter months. The area becomes like a tinderbox. Instead we have built braai areas near the pool and around the self catering rooms. We also have massive self catering kitchens with everything that you might need to cook for yourselves. It is interesting that the client complains about "not enough crockery and cutlery" as most public campsites DON'T PROVIDE ANY CROCKERY AND CUTLERY at all. The weekend in question had many self-caterers and indeed we might very well have run a little short BUT if you go to reception and ask for more you will be given more. The kitchen might have had overflowing bins for a brief period because we were overflowing with customers BUT the bins are emptied by a team every morning and every night. I am not sure what is meant by the bathrooms being "average/" BUT they certainly are regularly cleaned. The campsite was extremely noisy and there was one particular noisy group that we spoke to on numerous occasions and then asked to leave the following day. The site is controlled by a night guard (TWO over busy periods.)

We open accounts under people's room numbers, although people can AND DO pay cash FOR EVERYTHING. This assists people who do not HAVE CASH and is standard practice in all levels of the hospitality industry. Clearly when things get busy, mistakes can occur but clients are always given an invoice to review and any mistakes are quickly rectified.

It is a pity that you had a negative camping experience over that long weekend BUT I can more than guarantee if you returned on a normal day of the year you would enjoy how tranquil this place usually is. Long weekends are always very busy because customers return to our place year after year as most of them have positive experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jagersrust
9.8 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
273 reviews
5.6 mi away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
515 reviews
5.2 mi away
Berghouse and Cottages
Berghouse and Cottages
#2 of 14 in Bergville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ezulwini Berg Resort
Ezulwini Berg Resort
#3 of 4 in Jagersrust
36 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge

Address: R74, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Jagersrust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Jagersrust
Price Range: £27 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The venue is really amazing. The lodge is found on a stunning 300 hectares of land near the foot of the Amphitheatre (Royal Natal National Park) and Cathedral Peak. The Mpande River weaves through the lands. There are buck, small mammals and a fantastic array of wild birds near the 2 dams and a picture postcard view from the lawn, a 360 degree panorama that takes in the entire Northern range from the Amphitheatre all the way to Cathkin Peak. The lodge is a base from which you can explore different sections and all the highlights of the Drakensberg Park each day. Built from stone, thatch and wood, the place is like an artist's sculpture with stained glass, metal and wooden carvings, mosaics and beautiful indigenous rockeries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge South Africa/Jagersrust, KwaZulu-Natal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing