We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, mass tourism camping site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Reviewed 17 August 2014

After 3 nights in a small private reserve (monwana game lodge) the contrast was striking in many ways. Impossible to compare but as we wanted to spend 1 night in Kruger national park, this proved to be ok (although some accommodation we saw inside the park looked better). It is a huge site but the tents are clean and efficient. Godd choice for budget travellers.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Nkambeni Safari Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nkambeni Tented Lodge is great accommodation choice when visiting Kruger National Park with your loved one. Superb hospitality of the most friendly personell turned our stay into truly unforgettable experience. We will definately get back there soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Nkambeni Tented Lodge offer moments to remember.The accomodation, food and attention of the personell are of very high standerd .A place we will remember and recommend to our friends.
The site is a pluspoint so near to Kruger National Park.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Johan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was fortunate to have spent 8 nights at this facility. I was surprised at the affordability as I had always believed that there were no 'cheap' accommodation in the Kruger National Park. Beautifully appointed tented cabins on elevated platforms with all modern facilities. Reverse cycle air conditioning, mosquito nets, private bathroom and toilet as well as an outside shower with twin showers open to the sky, hot and cold water, coffee and tea making facilities. The room is serviced daily, clean, safe and private. A short walk away was a beautiful and huge reception/dining/bar facility - all in African style. From there, I received breakfast and dinner (included in the price) which was never the same any two nights and included everything for every taste. If after a monster breakfast, you still need to have lunch, they do have a lunch menu available. Moving to the bar, you could watch a large flat screen television (for those who don't really want to go without). You could also just relax on beautifully appointed furniture and watch nature at its best next to the bar or read a book or just laze around. Just a short distance away, the resident hippopotamus lazing about all day and night in the dam will give you a birds eye view. Birds galore in the trees dotted around the property. Wildlife can be observed from anywhere in this dining/bar/relax area, moving about all day. Feel like a swim? Dive straight in the inviting pool that is situated in view of the dining area as well as the hippo dam. Want to get away from everyone? No worries, lose yourself in the elevated, viewing platform next to the pool. You may be lucky, depending on the days that you stay there, to have a barbecue (braai if you are South African) in the great outdoors with a tribal show thrown in. The staff at the facility is friendly, ever willing to help. The safaris in modern, clean and safe vehicles cover the whole day and best part of evening. You can indulge on a morning, afternoon, all day, sundowner, walking, birding safari, to name a few....the limit is your imagination and what you want to see. The guides are ever so helpful, knowledgeable, competent and willing to assist in any way. They will place you in the best position for viewing and photographing. If you want to experience South Africa at its core, I would strongly recommend Nkambeni for its affordability, for giving me the chance to be surrounded completely by nature, for making me feel so welcome, for showing me the Big Five and the rest, but more importantly, for giving me the chance to come back home totally relaxed...and wiser. You could pay a lot more if you wanted rose petals on your bed, bath turned on for you etc, but the money saved going without these 'over the top' touches, would more than pay for the souvenirs you could pick up in the shop behind the reception area for yourself or friends back home.

Room Tip: Look no further....no need to pay hundred nor thousands for a night....when you can stay here and re...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were part of the Parakletos hiking club that wanted to have a hiking experience in the Kruger park. Nkambeni was recommended. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a competent, friendly staff who made us feel special. The rooms (tents) are luxurious with air conditioning, an en suite bathroom including an indoor and outdoor shower. We could watch a rugby match in the bar, watch several game animals coming to the water hole and had a wonderful culinary experience at the buffet. The night in the boma with yet another delicious buffet by the fireside while the full moon rised was unforgettable. Both the bush walk and the game drive at night supervised by very competent guides, yielded lasting memories. I can recommend Nkambeni Tented lodge to anyone who wants a bush experience in luxury.

Room Tip: Some of the tents are next to the fence which makes for a special view from the deck on the bush.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francois727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at Nkambeni in May 2014 and we had a very pleasant stay. Althought the weather was cool the tents were warm.The glass fronted showers and outside showers are unique.


The train noise in the middle of the night comes as a bit of a surprise until one realises what it is.

The evening's entertainment at the boma and the food was excellent. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant were also good. The little shop at the resort was closed at the manager was away, which was a pity. The cost of the game drives is exhorbitant and drive available in the park are more reasonably priced. The problem is, however, as Nkambeni is outside the entrance gates one cannot use the night drives offered in the park.
Overall a great experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOKSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at Nkambeni as part of a nomad tour, the first night we stayed in a lodge and it was an amazing experience, clean, warm and the outdoor shower was certainly an experience! The next 2 nights we camped. The camping facilities- toilets, showers were unique but clean and well maintained. The staff and the game drives particularly Simon for our bush walk was a knowledgable, kind guide and Clayton for out night safari certainly made it an experience I'll never forget. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreannaReid92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
21.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
65.1 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#83 of 175 in Kruger National Park
55 reviews
46.9 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#131 of 175 in Kruger National Park
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.4 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 175 in Kruger National Park
105 reviews
14.0 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 39 in Hazyview
536 reviews
23.7 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#34 of 175 in Kruger National Park
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkambeni Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkambeni Safari Camp

Address: Numbi Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa (Formerly Faircity )
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £87 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nkambeni Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Kruger National Park experience with friendly staff, clean serviced en-suite canvas chalets with bush views, a restaurant and bar with real South African food and drink overlooking a waterhole with resident hippos and a range of optional safari activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Nkambeni Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Nkambeni Tented Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing