We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paid R1000.00 p/n for a dump. It was filthy.”
Review of Letaba Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Letaba Rest Camp
Rand burg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paid R1000.00 p/n for a dump. It was filthy.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have been going to Kruger for 28 year's and have seen the deterioration. R1000.00 a night for a filthy dump. Phoned the number on the wall for housekeeping and was told that this was her private number. Was told that there was nothing that could do ad they were fully booked. Shocking service. Spent 9 days in a slum. Very sad to see this. Will never go back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    200
    86
    20
    6
See reviews for
116
185
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on a recent trip to the Kruger. It allowed us to visit areas further north in the park that we couldn't reach from where we stayed at Hazyview.
We stayed in a large thatched cottage with 2 bedrooms as there were 4 of us staying. Both bedrooms were a good size with single beds and both en-suite. The decor was tired but there seemed to be a lot of refurbishment work going on in other cottages. There was a good sized kitchen well equipped to cater for yourselves. We ate at the restaurant on site which was quite disappointing.
There was also a large living/dining area. Outside was a table and chairs on the veranda, a lovely place to eat and drink.
Our cottage overlooked the river from where you could see lots of animals and birds.
We booked a night drive at reception which was very enjoyable. We saw Side-striped and Spotted Jackals, Lion, Hippos, Scrub Hare and Veraux Eagle-Owl and various antelopes. The driver was very knowledgable and added to the experience.
We enjoyed our night at Lataba Camp and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The best experience of my entire life. You drive 2 hours into the bush to a bushveld camp on the banks of a river full of hippo. Daily you take hikes out of the camp with armed guides who get you up and close with nature. We tracked and saw a leopard which is not easy to do. Highly qualified and skilled guides who take their job seriously.

Helpful?
2 Thank WRLDTraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have stayed here often over the years in a bungalow and it is one of the better camps in the Kruger. It is peaceful and the shop is well stocked for daily essentials such as milk, bread, ice, charcoal, cooldrinks etc. We always self cater and take our own provisions, meat and drinks with us. The kitchen has limited utensils and it is difficult to see which switch is for which plate on the hob. The outside braai area does not have lights so a headlamp or torch is a must.
Reception staff were pleasant, the room and shower toilet clean. The bushbuck, squirrels and bird around the bungalows just add to the tranquility.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cramSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The bungalow was basic but everything worked, including air con as was very hot and humid. Nice setting with Bushbucks wandering about. The room was clean although basic but really just needed somewhere to sleep. The staff were helpful and shop reasonably stocked, good game viewing in surrounding area.

Room Tip: Suggest perimeter room as overlooks trees and shaded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGSFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just average campsites. The plus was that they had a few picnic tables at the camping area, which was useful for those who didn't carry their own gear (read - us). However the camping sites are not private at all, braai facilities are made from old car wheels and some of them have holes from rust thus cannot be used.
Bathrooms and kitchen facilities clean however very basic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the rondavels. The accommodation is excellent, the kitchen is well equipped and the braai well illuminated. The setting is lovely with bushbuck grazing on the lawns under the shade of the magnificent old trees. We had good sightings of lion and leopard and watched a a couple of spotted hyena who were keeping guard over a playful group of tiny young ones.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenMulga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 174 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#106 of 174 in Kruger National Park
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#55 of 174 in Kruger National Park
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#31 of 174 in Kruger National Park
555 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#17 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letaba Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letaba Rest Camp

Property: Letaba Rest Camp
Address: Lethaba-Shingwedzi Road, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic Letaba Rest Camp is situated on a sweeping bend of the Letaba River, midway between the southern and northern boundaries of the Kruger National Park. The name means "river of sand", and the sandy riverbed is an excellent location for game viewing, particularly elephant, which thrive in the area. Letaba is a green oasis in the surrounding mopane veld, and remains a firm favourite with visitors. At night the stars overlook a symphony of sounds. Owls, nightjars, frogs, fruit bats, crickets and cicadas all vie to be heard, until the lion roars, then all are silent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing