We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari Tent”
Review of Letaba Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Letaba Rest Camp
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in one of the safari tents for 2 nights, they're pretty basic with 2 single beds, fridge, closet and side table with a table and chairs on the decking and a braai. The washrooms and communal cooking area was less than a minutes walk away.

The tent is an ok size we got both our bags in and had room to spare on the floor but the ward robe filled up pretty quick. the beds were comfy and clean but the floor could have done with a bit of a mop.

Sitting on the decking let us see the amount of wildlife that was in letaba most easy to spot were the monkeys which they warned us about but we also saw bush buck, frogs, birds and even a monitor lizard so be careful what you leave around. My main concern with the animals was snakes getting in through the small holes in the corner of the tents.

Overall I liked this camp and would go back again but maybe try one of the huts instead.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Letaba Rest Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our bungalow was basic but had all the facilities we expected in Kruger. However when we arrived we were given a key for the outside screen door but not the inner solid door. There was also no way to secure this door when you were in the room. Rather than give me a key for the lock, the duty manager tried to move us to an inferior room where there was building work he said I would complain about. Another choice was another inferior room in a poor location. At no time did the manager attempt to address my security issue. He did assure me that there would not be any problems, but there were instruction in the room for how to deal with armed robbers. We felt insecure for our 3 day visit. The restaurant is in a fantastic location, but many of the items were not available (only fish item was off, no ice cream etc). Similarly with the wine list with white wine presented unchilled even though the temperature was well into the 30s. Overall we would not stay at Letaba again.u

Room Tip: We paid extra for a perimeter room which put us close to the river
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Melville House occupies a prime and private position overlooking the river. We were a family of six and found the accommodation more than adequate for our needs. Although the facilties and equipment are a little dated this didn't spoil our enjoyment particularly as we had our own houseman (Augustino) who was efficient and friendly and quietly went about his business in keeping the house in order whilst we were left to enjoy our safari. The staff in the camp were generally helpful and friendly and the highlight for us was a braai in the bush arranged by the camp. We were taken on a sunset drive to our bush venue and then a night drive on the way back to camp. The braai chef was great and our guide and driver very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyTraveloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I come here for years, bungalows very basic, but clean, we stayed a night and had to leave next morning at 9:00, that was clearly to late for the cleaner and had a very long face. It is clearly stated that we could stay until 9:00am!
The room maintenance could be better and needs a revamp....
The elephant museum is a must,....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We spent five days at Letaba Rest Camp. The bungalow was basic, but everything worked. Loved the setting of the the camp. The camp was very clean. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Only downside was the monkeys getting into the fridge! Would suggest that some form of locking system is put on the fridges.
Good game viewing and lovely walks within the camp.
Would definitely return

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have been going to Kruger for 28 year's and have seen the deterioration. R1000.00 a night for a filthy dump. Phoned the number on the wall for housekeeping and was told that this was her private number. Was told that there was nothing that could do ad they were fully booked. Shocking service. Spent 9 days in a slum. Very sad to see this. Will never go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on a recent trip to the Kruger. It allowed us to visit areas further north in the park that we couldn't reach from where we stayed at Hazyview.
We stayed in a large thatched cottage with 2 bedrooms as there were 4 of us staying. Both bedrooms were a good size with single beds and both en-suite. The decor was tired but there seemed to be a lot of refurbishment work going on in other cottages. There was a good sized kitchen well equipped to cater for yourselves. We ate at the restaurant on site which was quite disappointing.
There was also a large living/dining area. Outside was a table and chairs on the veranda, a lovely place to eat and drink.
Our cottage overlooked the river from where you could see lots of animals and birds.
We booked a night drive at reception which was very enjoyable. We saw Side-striped and Spotted Jackals, Lion, Hippos, Scrub Hare and Veraux Eagle-Owl and various antelopes. The driver was very knowledgable and added to the experience.
We enjoyed our night at Lataba Camp and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
77.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
390 reviews
106.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
101.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#48 of 175 in Kruger National Park
165 reviews
94.2 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#35 of 175 in Kruger National Park
573 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letaba Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letaba Rest Camp

Address: Lethaba-Shingwedzi Road, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £63 - £1,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic Letaba Rest Camp is situated on a sweeping bend of the Letaba River, midway between the southern and northern boundaries of the Kruger National Park. The name means "river of sand", and the sandy riverbed is an excellent location for game viewing, particularly elephant, which thrive in the area. Letaba is a green oasis in the surrounding mopane veld, and remains a firm favourite with visitors. At night the stars overlook a symphony of sounds. Owls, nightjars, frogs, fruit bats, crickets and cicadas all vie to be heard, until the lion roars, then all are silent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing