We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views and more”
Review of Letaba Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Letaba Rest Camp
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for one night with teen son on month tour of Southern Africa. We liked this camp and stayed in one of the bungalows which was spacious, comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the Elephant Museum and a terrific and quite long night drive seeing leopard, hyena, elephant. Beautiful views of Letaba River as you walk around the camp with lots of game all along the river. During our stay, the main restaurant was being remodeled so they had set up an outdoor restaurant where we had several very good meals with good service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prissyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Letaba Rest Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Letaba itself was a pleasant, scenic camp. One would thoroughly enjoy their stay there. Enter the Mugg & Bean though, and prepare for hell.

Dirty, waiters took 20 minutes to come take our order. Then, during the 50 minute wait for the food, the tables around us left, but their leftovers were left on the table for 15 minutes. Oh, and half of the menu was "out of stock".

I would love to see if any of the sluggish, nonchalant employees will make any effort at all to reply to this.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank NicVann97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

stayed one night at Letaba in tent site. Very comfortable. common kitchen and ablutions were well placed. Also laundry facilities were available and worked very well.
Letaba Elephant Hall is a special treat.
Bushbucks and Bushbabies in the camp.
there was also a very loud bird offering wake up call at 5:15 just as my alarm didnt work.. All perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lethaba pretty north So road around alot quieter, much better then Skukuza or Satara.
Monkeys a problem, but listen to the guidelines, and turn you firdge around, we had not issue.
Rooms cleans daily, simple, but sifficient.

Did the mornign walk, didnt see much, but nice to wander in the bush.

Shopw well stocked, and staff friendly.

Elephant museum a must

Perimeter walk was spooky at night, not sure if we should be doing it.

Overall pleasant and comfortable. WIll definitely come back

Room Tip: Try get close to the fence, so you can see the amazing sunsets from your stoep.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOandAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Letaba was the poorest camp we stayed at in Kruger. The rondavel was very run down. We had a perimeter view but in reality could see little without walking to the nice river setting. The area in front of us was pretty bare but the real problem was the monkeys who were aggressively stealing. Not their fault but that's the situation. The Boskombuis wasn't bad.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank john222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On our 4 day impromptu trip to the Kruger National Park, our first night's stay was with Letaba. We were very happy to find available accommodation within the park. At the price we paid for the rondawel, I did expect a bit more though. The accommodation is very basic and therefore in my opinion a bit overpriced. The self-catering kitchen could do with some cutlery and crockery. Fortunately (because we didn't book anywhere), we took our own. However we did enjoy the views from the restaurant and the animals on the site were a real treat. Nature there is simply out of this world.

Room Tip: Be sure to book well in advance.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Tent and communal ablutions were clean. The in-camp bushbucks are making the place special. Unfortunately the new restaurant wasn't done yet, so we had to use the bos kombuis (bush kitchen). The food was pretty good, and we enjoyed eating there. Staff was friendly at the bos kombuis and reception. Since the camp is somewhat to the north, there are less different animals around, which we knew. We enjoyed our stay very much. Nice and quiet environment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid_en_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
77.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
389 reviews
106.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
101.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#47 of 175 in Kruger National Park
165 reviews
94.2 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#35 of 175 in Kruger National Park
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letaba Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letaba Rest Camp

Address: Lethaba-Shingwedzi Road, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £63 - £883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic Letaba Rest Camp is situated on a sweeping bend of the Letaba River, midway between the southern and northern boundaries of the Kruger National Park. The name means "river of sand", and the sandy riverbed is an excellent location for game viewing, particularly elephant, which thrive in the area. Letaba is a green oasis in the surrounding mopane veld, and remains a firm favourite with visitors. At night the stars overlook a symphony of sounds. Owls, nightjars, frogs, fruit bats, crickets and cicadas all vie to be heard, until the lion roars, then all are silent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing