We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Letaba Rest Camp
Nearby Hotels
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$825
US$785
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,054
US$1,030
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
US$1,982
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,462
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
94
226
97
23
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
226
97
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant museumrest campthe riverphalaborwa gategame viewingbush buckmature treesguest housebush kitchenstaff at receptionspotted hyenaparks boardstayed here for one nightbird hideextra blanketskitchen facilitiesfish eagles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during our DIY safari in Kruger.

We stayed in one of the outer rondavels ,close to the Letaba river. We were there in the dry season so the river was all dryed up, and had turned into this sand plain, where you'd see elephants burgeoning through. Also sunrises were amazing here.

The rondavel itself had basic (as you would expect from a national park) but good furnishings (see also the pictures below). there is a kind of semi-outside patio, with a lockable door, containing the kitchen and a small dining table. Next to the rondavel there is a braai (you can get meat to grill from the campstore). The Bedroom area of the rondavel is quite roomy and the beds were pretty comfy. Inside the rondavel is also a small bathroom with shower and sink.

Our rondavel was also nearly next to the main camp building, where the restaurant was located. Since we didn't really feel like cooking ourselves we had dinner at the terrace overlooking the river.The food was also fairly basic, but good, and it was nice to hang out on the terrace in the early evening with a beer and hearing the animals come alive.

We did not have as much luck with game spotting in this area as we did around the Lower Sabie camp (but I guess this can change day by day), but is was definitely good to stay multiple nights in one camp. this way could go game spotting at 5:00 AM, return for some relaxation, and then do another run in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank J0epMeloen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We chose this unit as it was river facing and we weren't disappointed. Yes it is a distance of about 30m from the river, but just to awake and go and sit out on the benches by the huts overlooking the river is magical as the sun rises.
The camp was wonderful, a hush rests over the camp at about 7pm as everyone relaxes before getting very early nights to set off early for game viewing the next morning.
One evening we has camp staff in the hut next to us and we were concerned whether we would be disturbed by loud talking/noise but they were fantastic and - like the rest of us - turned in early.
The Mugg and Bean has opened here recently and was superb. We only ate there once in the five nights, but the take away salads from the shop next door were a great accompaniment to a braai...plus a takeaway cake from the M&B made for lovely afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Perimeter/River views fantastic
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LizzyPasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wow - my favourite restcamp in Kruger thus far!!! Saw 3 different sighting of Leopard in one day, 2 of which was on a Sanparks night drive and one of which was a mother and 2 cubs!!!
We heard a lion kill one morning, and everyone in the camp jumped into their cars to try and find it. The accommodation was, as with the other Sanparks accommodation, clean and adequate for our purposes. Pictures on the internet are accurate. The "proximity" to the Phalaborwa gate afforded us the opportunity to stock up on supplies at Woolworths and Spar. The camp shop was very well stocked, but we decided to make the trip anyway - prices in the park quite high compared to outside. Plus the drive meant we could see game en route. We saw a Leopard!!!!!
A good vibe and atmosphere!! Hoping to go back...

Room Tip: Sleep quality is disturbed by the sounds of the bush - lion roaring, hippo grunting and hyena kackerling!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank loren1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

As all the restcamps have, the atmosphere is pleasant and the park feels safe. The 2p bungalow was clean and we were overlooking the river and the garden while building a campfire on our Braai. Don't go to the Mugg&bean restaurant, service just isnt there yet since its been open for only 1 month. Next time we definitly will buynour own food in the very complete campstore and have a nice bbq. The beds and shower were good. The refrigarator worked well and the little kitchen was complete.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Paulcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Management are definitely getting it right at this camp. ALL the staff are friendly, efficient and motivated! Attention is being paid to the small details. There was even a staff member who came around to each chalet in the evening to check that everything was fine. The camp is looking really good and the kids loved exploring the trees and gardens set amongst the chalets. An extremely child friendly camp with daily activities organised for the kids. The elephant hall museum is very impressive and informative. Mugg and Bean restaurant has a beautiful view over the river, and serves lovely meals! Mopani rest camp is a morning game drive away and is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PorterCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews