We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhino Post Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The accommodation was absolutely fantastic, having a bath while watching an elephant outside is the most sureal and amazing experience, definitely one I'll always remember. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. our ranger was very knowledgable about the animals (and birds) in the park, giving a very educational and exciting game drive, most of the best sightings we had we were the only car there due to the rangers knowledge and experience. We saw everything (bar a Leopard and Cheetah - can't hold anyone to blame for this!) but I loved the 3 days we spent here. The location was amazing we saw lots of animals at our watering hole near the lodges, Hyena at dusk and Elephants, Baboons and Buffalo at breakfast to name a few. The food was excellent and all our needs were met with a smile. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs and eye mask, living surrounded by amazing nature is noisier than you think and the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Rhino Post from July 31 to August 2, 2011 for our anniversaries. We are from Ontario, Canada and we landed in Johannesburg, then flew to Nelspruit and got a Transfer provided by Rhino Post from Nelspruit Airport to the Lodge ( for extra cost of course). The Transfer gentleman was waiting for us and was very knowledgeable about the area and history, we enjoyed his company a lot, which made the 2.5 hours fly by.

The Atmosphere
This place is in the bush, and they have done a wonderful job of keeping that feeling, but have all the amenities that a 5* resort most would come to expect. The rooms are exactly as they are pictured on the website. I cant say enough about the Atmosphere, and it will definitely satisfy you.


The Food
They provide coffee and tea and muffins first thing before the 6:00am game drive. Then they provide a full breakfast at 10:30am after the drive. At 3:30 you go down for "High Tea" which is just a small snack before the Game drive at 4:00pm, After the night drive you get dinner at around 8:30pm.
All of the food is presented and tastes really good. We had many unique meals, and enjoyed every one of them.
- The only "critique" we had about the food/beverage area is that they charge extra for beer,wine, even bottled water. It isnt so much the cost, because its inexpensive, its just that everything ( and we mean everything ) else is included, except this - so it seems weird to charge for it. Beer: R15, Wine: R8 a glass, Water: R8.

Game Drives
They have two vehicles that go out at the same time, but not together, they take different routes. They sit max 9 people and then the ranger up front. Ours Rangers name was Mike and he was very knowledgeable and so friendly. You always go out with the same ranger and the same group so you get to know them and it really makes the stay enjoyable. We saw 4 of the big 5, the missing one being lions, this was a little disappointing, but on our last drive Mike was able to find a Leopard that gave us a good show.

The Watering Hole (on property)
This was a neat little thing they have done. They have water running to a cement "pond" across from the lodge. It is located perfectly so you can see it from a lot of the resort. We could see it from our bathtub and deck and I believe at least 2 other rooms had same view. Many different kinds of animals come and drink, while we were there we saw: Hyenas, Impala, Buffalo, Rhinos and we had just missed a regular elephant come for a drink.

Small Interesting facts...

-It was 4 Degrees Celcius in the morning when we got out of bed ( COLD!!), bring a coat and mitts and a hat if you go this time of the year.

- It is possible to get a chartered flight into Skukuza Airport, through Rhino Post (but its pretty expensive, but a good choice if time is tight)

-Malaria risks are VERY low here in the winter time, we in fact did not even see one mosquito. So do not let Malaria be a reason you don't visit Kruger.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank i3urt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at Rhino Post Safari Lodge and we had an awesome time. The lodge is very peaceful and tastefully designed. It is built next to a river bed and each individual lodge, of which there are 8 have a view of the river and the water hole. From our outdoor platform/seating area we could see a pride of lions drinking, hyenas and buffalo all on different days.

The staff at the lodge are first rate. They really made us feel very special and you could tell that they really enjoyed working at the lodge. The guides - we had Ben and Benard, were very knowledgable, fun and extremely clever at tracking the game and showing us the animals. We saw the big 5 by our second day and hundreds of other animals besides.

The lodge holds a maximum of 16 people so it never feels busy and the meals together are great fun. We loved this place and would love to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomsherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Our experience at the Rhino Post was truly excellent.
We were fortunate enough to have the place to ourselves on the first night of our stay (which gave us 2 private game drives!!), but even when full the lodge only sleeps 16 so is hardly crowded.
All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and had some interesting tales to tell. I enjoyed having the chance to chat in a bit more depth with some of them before and during dinner (where one or more staff will "host" ). The guides were knowledgable and almost as anxious as ourselves to have a good drive every time.
The room was very comfortable - loved the outdoor shower. Raised walkways connect the thatched rooms with the main lodge area. You have to be accompanied to and from the room by a guide after dark as the camp is not fenced and animals do stray in. There were two leopards in the camp during our stay as well as elephants in the river bed and troupe of baboons in the neghbourhood as well. We also saw Nayala from the walkway one afternoon.
The main lodge is also very comfortable with a lounge area, as well as an open deck dining area and really nice "camp fire" raised area we used for sitting around after dinner talking with fellow guests.
Food was generally good without being great - gourmet style dishes for dinner. Breakfasts (Brunches) were enormous and superb.
Best of all were the afternoon teas served just before settign off for your evening drive. Plenty of choices, sweet and savoury, which changed every day.
The Lodge has been built and is operated in sympathy with the wilderness nature of the National Park with a lot of thought put into use of materials and operations. I noticed low power lightbulbs for example and believe the sewage system is quite sophisticated to try and minimise the impact of visitors and staff on the environment.
The Rhino is one of only 7 concessions within the Kruger Park itself and the drives take place both on the concession and in the park. We saw the big 5 multiple times during our stay of 3 nights.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a bit of comfort without the ostentatios luxuriy of some of the other private reserve lodges.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ss1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed at Rhino Post in early November and were absolutely blown away by how amazing our experience was. Our guide, Bernard, was entertaining, interesting and generally brilliant - we saw all of the big five and the atmosphere in our group was fantastic. This was truly an experience of a lifetime, massively helped by the professional and friendly staff at Rhino Post. The Lodge itself was amazing - the 'tents' were beautiful and had great views of the watering hole. I LOVED the outdoor showers, and the food was great. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests on the first night by having a meal together on the decking. We met some lovely people and it was the best possible start to our amazing stay in beautiful South Africa. I really can't praise it highly enough!! If you're thinking of going on safari at Kruger Park then you MUST go to Rhino Post Safari Lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We arrived at the Rhino Post Safari Lodge one day after a terrible heat spell (118oF) and then the temperature dropped about 60oF and we froze. The staff is very accommodating and our driver/guide Charles was absolutely wonderful in finding the animals we so much wanted to photograph. Managers Sharon, Nikki and Garrett are warm, friendly, and attentive. Dinners are gourmet-based and quite adequate, breakfasts are buffett for the most part, and the staff will prepare egg dishes to your
liking---the omelettes were wonderful! Tents are large and well-appointed, with a large, portable space heater (which we used daily), inside bath tub, outside shower, separate
small room for the toilet, spacious outdoor deck with view of the waterhole which the animals frequent. We were surprised one morning to find a herd of about 12 elephants
within 10 feet of our tent munching on tree branches and bushes on their way to the water hole. The safari drives were all on the blacktop roads which made getting close to the animals difficult, although with an adequate telephoto camera lens you can get some
spectacular photographs! We enjoyed our four-night stay at this lodge except for the cold, wet weather which was beyond anyone's control.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LBK32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is a great lodge, with excellent rooms, young but well educated and trained guides for game drives, great code of ethics for game drives, and friendly staff. The food is quite nice and the artificial watering hole on the other side of the river bed provides a wonderful view of plenty of wildlife that pass through, especially in the dry season.

I was slightly bothered by the outdoor only shower, since mosquitoes do like to nibble on you in the morning, and I also didn't like the fact that they charged for bottled water. On the other hand, they do have a computer with internet access, which was surprising. In truth, they have room to improve, so they really deserve a 4.5 / 5, but I'd rather reward the effort than knock the failures.

This is definitely a better spot to stay vs. all of the private Sabi Sand properties bordering Kruger. There is no bush-bashing, flash photography, or multi-vehicle congregation around a sighting, which is all the way it should be in the wild.

The only thing is, the sister Rhino Plains Camp is a more authentic experience that focuses on long bush walks as the main way to experience Kruger. If you only have 2 or 3 nights, consider Plains Camp, otherwise, split your stay across both sites.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Circumlocutious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
3.5 mi away
Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
22.8 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#54 of 175 in Kruger National Park
312 reviews
13.7 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
13.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Post Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Post Safari Lodge

Address: Mutlumuvi Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhino Post Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhino Post Safari Lodge is situated at the southern end of our 12,000 hectare private wilderness concession in the Kruger National Park. The concession shares a 15km unfenced boundary with the famous Mala Mala and Sabi Sand reserve with an abundance of wildlife moving freely between the two reserves. The concession is noted as an excellent game viewing area with encounters with the Big Five and where good sightings of wild animals can be expected. Rhino Post Safari Lodge is set under magnificent Tamboti trees on the banks of the Mutlumuvi Riverbed. The nature of a wilderness area is that there are no permanent structures, so Rhino Post Safari Lodge is built with natural materials – stone, wood, thatch and canvas - to give it an authentic bush feel. Each of the 8 suites are beautifully decorated with the bedroom and lounge area having wonderful views of the riverbed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rhino Post Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing