We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time.....even better!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhino Post Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

It's hard to rave about this lodge without sounding like we work for them, but we don't, and we travelled a long way from home just to return here.
In August 2010 we started our first trip to Africa here and fell in love with the lodge, the staff, the management and just the way the place makes you feel like family. We stayed 4 days then and promised ourselves a return trip for a longer stay,one which would include the Plains Camp
This time,we booked for 7 days (directly through the ISIBINDI website who gave us a discount), and stayed 2 nights at the Lodge, then 2 nights at Plains Camp for the walking safaris and another 3 nights back at the Lodge which were fabulous and quite different experiences.

Firstly, the Lodge.
All 8 tented rooms are beautifully constructed, private and cosy, as the many photos posted will attest to. The outdoor showers are great to relax under after the morning game drive and the large private tub next to the fully opening window even more so!
The dining room and bar are great communal areas to relax in and compare stories with your fellow travellers. We really enjoyed meeting the other guests staying here and hearing what life was like in their part of the world. As the Lodge only accommodates around 16 guests, friendships are easily formed. We still stay in touch with a wonderful couple from San Francisco we met here last time.

Secondly, the food.
All the meals we had at both locations were excellent. We were offered 2 choices in starters, mains and desserts every night and in 7 nights there were no duplications in the menu. Also, the Bush Braai, if you are there on the right night, is a wonderful, fun experience. A lot of work goes into setting this up for the evening meal and it certainly makes you feel special.

Thirdly, the rangers.
At the Lodge we had James as our Game Ranger who expertly filled the shoes of Tim, our wonderful ranger last time, and he worked hard to make every drive different and interesting.
We learnt many new things about tracking, birdlife and some of the smaller animals that co-exist with the BIG 5 ( that some guests are obsessed with; we did see them many times by the way!)
At Plains camp we were looked after by Mark and James (different ranger) and could not have been in more competent,safe and knowledgeable hands. It is difficult to describe the feeling these guys have for the bush, but our short time with them was indeed an amazing education. Mark is also a passionate anti-poaching pilot who helps rid the Park of these heartless vermin.

Lastly, the staff.
May as well start at the top..... Nikki & Gerrit, what can we say,.. your company, your stories, your passion for conservation and the bush are what makes this such a special place. Add to this the warm welcoming presence of Sharon & Marli and it's little wonder that staff here rarely move on. Thanks also to Colin and Ben for the laughs. Lulu is still here too!

Just a footnote on the Game Drive experience here.
Rhino Post has been unfairly compared to some of the private parks around Kruger that have off-road Game driving. We have stayed in Lodges that have been more than 3 times the price and have not enjoyed the overall experience as much. Sure, some of the driving was off-road,but short of a Honey Badger, the game viewing was equally rewarding on the tracks that Rhino Post are exclusively allowed to use. We saw so much more than the Big 5 it felt like the Big 95. If gold taps, butlers, indifference and Vegas prices are your thing then Rhino Post may not be for you, but we think it is incredible value and we will return a third time, hopefully more.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 8 for maximum privacy. Room 6 for good waterhole views, especially from the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Wellmax229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in December 2011, as part of a holiday during which I also visited Cape Town, the Winelands, Victoria Falls and Joburg, all expertly arranged by 2by2 Holidays. During my holiday I enjoyed some wonderful experiences but the hightlight of my trip was my stay at the Rhino Post Safari Lodge. The Lodge offers accommodation which I would describe as understated luxury, the food was excellent and the camp had, at all times, a relaxed feel to it. The camp is built next to a large watering hole which is used by the animals and so it wasn't even necessary to leave camp to see some amazing sights, including lions, elephants and buffalo. However, what made this place so special, for me, were the staff. Sharon, Marli and every member of their team were fantastic. They were, at all times, incredibly friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our Game Ranger, Ben, was also a star. Thanks to Ben we saw all of the Big 5, on numerous occasions, and additionally we enjoyed many amazing sightings of other animals and birds. Ben's knowledge of the animals and his dedication to ensuring that each game drive was both memorable and great fun was incredible. I would have no hesitation in recommmending Rhino Post to anyone. However, don't just take my word for it. During my stay at Rhino Post I met a documentary maker and travel agent with over 15 years' experience in the travel industry. He told me that Rhino Post is "as good as it gets".

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank charlton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Loved the place. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and we felt comfortable and at home. It is comfort bush style so for the first time ever I had a shower outside surrounded by a fence with the monkeys in the trees looking on! Our ranger Ben helped us to see the Big 5, the ugly 5 and some of the tiny 5. He eventually found us a leopard after a tip off from Bernard at Plains Camp which meant a lot of teasing for him. Its like that here you feel part of the family

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The accommodation was absolutely fantastic, having a bath while watching an elephant outside is the most sureal and amazing experience, definitely one I'll always remember. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. our ranger was very knowledgable about the animals (and birds) in the park, giving a very educational and exciting game drive, most of the best sightings we had we were the only car there due to the rangers knowledge and experience. We saw everything (bar a Leopard and Cheetah - can't hold anyone to blame for this!) but I loved the 3 days we spent here. The location was amazing we saw lots of animals at our watering hole near the lodges, Hyena at dusk and Elephants, Baboons and Buffalo at breakfast to name a few. The food was excellent and all our needs were met with a smile. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs and eye mask, living surrounded by amazing nature is noisier than you think and the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the Rhino Post from July 31 to August 2, 2011 for our anniversaries. We are from Ontario, Canada and we landed in Johannesburg, then flew to Nelspruit and got a Transfer provided by Rhino Post from Nelspruit Airport to the Lodge ( for extra cost of course). The Transfer gentleman was waiting for us and was very knowledgeable about the area and history, we enjoyed his company a lot, which made the 2.5 hours fly by.

The Atmosphere
This place is in the bush, and they have done a wonderful job of keeping that feeling, but have all the amenities that a 5* resort most would come to expect. The rooms are exactly as they are pictured on the website. I cant say enough about the Atmosphere, and it will definitely satisfy you.


The Food
They provide coffee and tea and muffins first thing before the 6:00am game drive. Then they provide a full breakfast at 10:30am after the drive. At 3:30 you go down for "High Tea" which is just a small snack before the Game drive at 4:00pm, After the night drive you get dinner at around 8:30pm.
All of the food is presented and tastes really good. We had many unique meals, and enjoyed every one of them.
- The only "critique" we had about the food/beverage area is that they charge extra for beer,wine, even bottled water. It isnt so much the cost, because its inexpensive, its just that everything ( and we mean everything ) else is included, except this - so it seems weird to charge for it. Beer: R15, Wine: R8 a glass, Water: R8.

Game Drives
They have two vehicles that go out at the same time, but not together, they take different routes. They sit max 9 people and then the ranger up front. Ours Rangers name was Mike and he was very knowledgeable and so friendly. You always go out with the same ranger and the same group so you get to know them and it really makes the stay enjoyable. We saw 4 of the big 5, the missing one being lions, this was a little disappointing, but on our last drive Mike was able to find a Leopard that gave us a good show.

The Watering Hole (on property)
This was a neat little thing they have done. They have water running to a cement "pond" across from the lodge. It is located perfectly so you can see it from a lot of the resort. We could see it from our bathtub and deck and I believe at least 2 other rooms had same view. Many different kinds of animals come and drink, while we were there we saw: Hyenas, Impala, Buffalo, Rhinos and we had just missed a regular elephant come for a drink.

Small Interesting facts...

-It was 4 Degrees Celcius in the morning when we got out of bed ( COLD!!), bring a coat and mitts and a hat if you go this time of the year.

- It is possible to get a chartered flight into Skukuza Airport, through Rhino Post (but its pretty expensive, but a good choice if time is tight)

-Malaria risks are VERY low here in the winter time, we in fact did not even see one mosquito. So do not let Malaria be a reason you don't visit Kruger.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank i3urt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at Rhino Post Safari Lodge and we had an awesome time. The lodge is very peaceful and tastefully designed. It is built next to a river bed and each individual lodge, of which there are 8 have a view of the river and the water hole. From our outdoor platform/seating area we could see a pride of lions drinking, hyenas and buffalo all on different days.

The staff at the lodge are first rate. They really made us feel very special and you could tell that they really enjoyed working at the lodge. The guides - we had Ben and Benard, were very knowledgable, fun and extremely clever at tracking the game and showing us the animals. We saw the big 5 by our second day and hundreds of other animals besides.

The lodge holds a maximum of 16 people so it never feels busy and the meals together are great fun. We loved this place and would love to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomsherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Our experience at the Rhino Post was truly excellent.
We were fortunate enough to have the place to ourselves on the first night of our stay (which gave us 2 private game drives!!), but even when full the lodge only sleeps 16 so is hardly crowded.
All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and had some interesting tales to tell. I enjoyed having the chance to chat in a bit more depth with some of them before and during dinner (where one or more staff will "host" ). The guides were knowledgable and almost as anxious as ourselves to have a good drive every time.
The room was very comfortable - loved the outdoor shower. Raised walkways connect the thatched rooms with the main lodge area. You have to be accompanied to and from the room by a guide after dark as the camp is not fenced and animals do stray in. There were two leopards in the camp during our stay as well as elephants in the river bed and troupe of baboons in the neghbourhood as well. We also saw Nayala from the walkway one afternoon.
The main lodge is also very comfortable with a lounge area, as well as an open deck dining area and really nice "camp fire" raised area we used for sitting around after dinner talking with fellow guests.
Food was generally good without being great - gourmet style dishes for dinner. Breakfasts (Brunches) were enormous and superb.
Best of all were the afternoon teas served just before settign off for your evening drive. Plenty of choices, sweet and savoury, which changed every day.
The Lodge has been built and is operated in sympathy with the wilderness nature of the National Park with a lot of thought put into use of materials and operations. I noticed low power lightbulbs for example and believe the sewage system is quite sophisticated to try and minimise the impact of visitors and staff on the environment.
The Rhino is one of only 7 concessions within the Kruger Park itself and the drives take place both on the concession and in the park. We saw the big 5 multiple times during our stay of 3 nights.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a bit of comfort without the ostentatios luxuriy of some of the other private reserve lodges.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ss1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
3.5 mi away
Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
22.8 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#58 of 175 in Kruger National Park
312 reviews
13.7 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
430 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
13.4 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Post Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Post Safari Lodge

Address: Mutlumuvi Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhino Post Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhino Post Safari Lodge is situated at the southern end of our 12,000 hectare private wilderness concession in the Kruger National Park. The concession shares a 15km unfenced boundary with the famous Mala Mala and Sabi Sand reserve with an abundance of wildlife moving freely between the two reserves. The concession is noted as an excellent game viewing area with encounters with the Big Five and where good sightings of wild animals can be expected. Rhino Post Safari Lodge is set under magnificent Tamboti trees on the banks of the Mutlumuvi Riverbed. The nature of a wilderness area is that there are no permanent structures, so Rhino Post Safari Lodge is built with natural materials – stone, wood, thatch and canvas - to give it an authentic bush feel. Each of the 8 suites are beautifully decorated with the bedroom and lounge area having wonderful views of the riverbed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rhino Post Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing