We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhino Post Safari Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kruger Boutique Hotel(Marloth Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Machai Lodge(Hazyview)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
344
43
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
43
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong tablewatering holegame drivesother guestsprivate concessionoutdoor showerhigh teadry river bedwild dogscourse dinnergreat guidewater holedry seasonamazing experiencethe entire staffmorning and eveningour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is a great lodge, with excellent rooms, young but well educated and trained guides for game drives, great code of ethics for game drives, and friendly staff. The food is quite nice and the artificial watering hole on the other side of the river bed provides a wonderful view of plenty of wildlife that pass through, especially in the dry season.

I was slightly bothered by the outdoor only shower, since mosquitoes do like to nibble on you in the morning, and I also didn't like the fact that they charged for bottled water. On the other hand, they do have a computer with internet access, which was surprising. In truth, they have room to improve, so they really deserve a 4.5 / 5, but I'd rather reward the effort than knock the failures.

This is definitely a better spot to stay vs. all of the private Sabi Sand properties bordering Kruger. There is no bush-bashing, flash photography, or multi-vehicle congregation around a sighting, which is all the way it should be in the wild.

The only thing is, the sister Rhino Plains Camp is a more authentic experience that focuses on long bush walks as the main way to experience Kruger. If you only have 2 or 3 nights, consider Plains Camp, otherwise, split your stay across both sites.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Circumlocutious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We saw the Big 5 each time we went out on a drive. The lodges are fantastic with great views from your balcony over the watering hole. We saw rhino, leopard,buffalo without even leaving our own thatched lodge. the food is great- even for me as a vegetarian!
The safair guide was excellent and really knew a lot about the animal and birdlife.
We booked through a company called Imagine Africa and we cannot recommend them highly enough. Everywhere we stayed on our 2 week honeymoon was fantastic and just seemed to get better and better.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We started our African holiday with four days at Rhino Post which was a lodge that had been strongly recommended to us by friends. Well, we couldn't have chosen a better place ! It is the only private concession within Kruger and it's relative isolation away from the bigger and more commercial lodges/resorts works well in its favour. The game viewing is exceptional , even without leaving the lodge. Our first moments on the deck had us looking at rhino, then buffalo, then kudu, then baboon.....all before we had unpacked! In seven game drives, morning and afternoon, we saw (and learnt about ) so many different species of wildlife,birdlife and plants that ' THE BIG FIVE ' seemed only to be the start of our experience. Our hosts Gerrit & Nikki were always happy to share their vast wealth of knowledge with us. Ranger Tim, well, what can I say, other than ...a truck that laughs a lot , sees a lot, you were amazing. Marli & Sharon, you made us feel right at home and are part of the reason we will be back next year....who knows, maybe we will one day exceed Carl and Ally's four return trips. We highly recommend to anyone planning a trip to Kruger to include a stay at Rhino Post Safari Lodge.
Pete/Max/Borat.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wellmax229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My partner and I stayed at Rhino Post for 4 nights and had the opportunity to experience the most amazing wildlife and share the company of warm and captivating hosts - with a wealth of knowledge - and a lifelong passion for conservation. The safari experience in particular with our ranger 'TIM' who was not only knowledgeable and willing to provide the ultimate safari experience..(was rather cute as well) and it seemed the more we were able to tease him the luckier we were with our game (he will do anything for a strawberry!). The food well exceeded expectations - and was nothing more than a culinary delight. You could linger on the deck which overlooked the waterhole for hours just waiting for a myriad of wild animals to make their presence - whilst your hosts Gerrit and Nikki were able to give you great insights into every species. Somehow RHINO just attract the most interesting and delightful guests that I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. As a lifelong airline employee of 33 years I have seen most regions of the world and feel comfortable in giving Rhino Post the highest rating. LINDA AND PETER

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emirates1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at Rhino Post Safari Lodge for 4 nights in late August-Early September 2010. It was the best trip we have ever taken, and saying it tops Italy in our minds is saying a lot.

First, the accommodations and facilities are absolutely BEAUTIFUL. We weren't sure what to expect given that the rooms are technically "tents". But we weren't expecting the level of elegance that we found in our rooms... Beautiful linens, gorgeous claw-foot tub, outdoor shower, lovely furniture. The hot water bottles in the bed to keep your feet warm and turn-down service were delightful icing on the cake.

Second, and most importantly, the staff at Rhino Post were OUTSTANDING. The managers Garrit and Nikki were hospitable, knowledgeable, and deeply passionate and invested conservationists. Our guide, Tim, was intelligent, mature beyond his years, and had a unique and rare gift of balancing his passion for Nature with a spirit of good humor and fun. In addition to all the iconic symbols of Africa, he introduced us to rarer ones, including one particularly elusive member of the Big 6.

We will be thinking about our experiences here for a lifetime, and we can only express our gratitude to the staff at Rhino Post for this amazing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBL_from_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews