We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mopani Rest Camp”
Review of Mopani Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mopani Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mopani Rest Camp”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We've just returned from a couple of weeks in South Africa. We've visited Kruger before and as well as staying in a couple of safari lodges we wanted to try the rest camps.

We spent one night in Mopani Rest Camp with our grown-up son and took a guest cottage. This turned out to be a 3-bedroom cottage, sleeping up to 6 and had a fully equipped kitchen.

It was clean, spacious, with comfortable beds etc - but needed a bit of TLC to put right normal wear-and-tear. We felt it was good value for money and suited our needs (touring camp-to-camp) quite well.

There were lakes next to the camp but we ddin't see any wildlife - maybe we ddin't find the right spot or the views were obscured by bushes etc.

The camp restaurant was acceptable - the food was OK and priced reasonably - rather like a motorway service station. The shop provided enough to do self-catering.

We took a night ride with a ranger - quite interesting, but didn't see an awful lot as it traversed mainly the public roads. Perhaps the highlight was the huge herd of buffalo that looked back with glowing eyes reflecting the light from our lamps.

If I was returning to Kruger I'd certainly have no hesitation in using this rest camp again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colinobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    112
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
64
105
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We we allocated a very good unit with a view of the dam, sighting were great but there were some niggles. The temp was 40 degrees Celsius on the friday and our air con was not working. The swimming pool has black algae and needs attention. That been said the staff were great, very helpful and we had seen a lion with a snare round its neck and the staff were most attentive to sort the situation out and kept us informed that the ranger had arranged a parks board vet and had darted the lion and removed the snare and applied antibiotics etc. The camp is a stunning camp with excellent accommodation for a rest camp. We had excellent sightings around the camp and the camp shop well stocked and well priced. We did not eat at the restaurant as it was under going alterations. this camp is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: There are only 4 units with dam views but they are stunning, units can cater from single rooms to 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in 2 different camps while in Kruger Park the previous month. This turned to be the best of the two. Situated in an area with much wildlife Mopani offers nice comfortable bungalows. Northern part of Kruger is supposed to offer less opportunities for wildlife. We have a different opinion after our trip since we saw much wildlife in the area. The only real experience with lions viewing took place between Mopani and Punta Maria. Also we saw a big herd of elephants and this is also the place to see some baobab trees! We drove all the way from the south to the north of Kruger Park and this area is not of a less beauty at all! The rest camp location is beautiful as it is right on the Pioneer dam. We could even hear lions and hippos while having our dinner at the restaurant of the camp. We enjoyed also the sunset by staring the dam. Generally, as it is of the newer camps in Kruger we found accommodation nicer and well maintained. It also has a little shop with souvenirs, food and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skybluem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the rest camp for two days with our three grown up kids. We got a very big and spacios chalet, fully equipped. The camp itself is very nice and clean. The camp is situated at the northern part of Kruger. According to our experience, animals were found in the center and in the southern part of Kruger (at least during the winter time when we stayed), so we had to travel south every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rfourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed two nights at Mopani at the start of our week at Kruger. Our 4 bed bungalow was well-equipped with kitchen facilities and the bathroom was clean. The unit was serviced daily, including having all our dishes washed, which we didn't expect. The gift shop was under construction, so not much to say about it. The kids liked that we could hear lions about 15 metres away, on the other side of the fence once the sun went down. This is one of the few camps at Kruger that can accommodate a family of four. We admit that we were surprised that so few places could sleep four... most two-bed units and larger, 6-8 bed family chalets (for much, much more) elsewhere in the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I really liked Mopani camp. We had a lovely bungalow (102) which overlooked the river. You could hear hippo splashing around and grunting. The room was spacious and very well decorated. There was also a separate area with bunkbeds, a shower room and outside kitchen and dining area. It was nice and clean with lovely bedspreads and curtains. All of the camps in Kruger provide you with bath and hand towels, a soap for each guest and the kitchens have washing-up liquid, dish cloth and teatowel, so you don't need to bring any of that stuff with you.

The shop sells a nice selection of food, practical items and gifts, though check carefully as a lot of the breakable gift items were broken. These hadn't been cleared off the shelves, and I saw other things with chips on them.

The restaurant was lovely, and I was surprised that they offered quite a wide variety for vegetarians - I'm sure there was a breakfast option, they had toasties with chips, a wrap, a sandwich option, veggie burger and pizza. However, it was the same chain for the whole park, so apart from a couple of places that had a different evening menu, the choice over a week was more limited. They are very big meat eaters in South Africa, and the braai option was very popular with most people. The restaurant was very quiet. I tried the pizza and also a toastie for lunch one day and I can recommend both. The food and drink in the restaurant and the shop were both very reasonably priced.

I would definitely recommend this camp, it was my favourite of them all.

Room Tip: Bungalow 102 was in a lovely spot over looking the river, and was very close to the restaurant and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SamB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This camp overlooks the Pioneer Dam and resembles a gated housing estate with well laid out roads to give a real community feel. The camp was the last built apparently in the mid 1990’s and the bungalows are built with stone and not rendered and painted as with the other main camps.

We stayed in a guest cottage (FF6V) No. 43 with a great view over the dam. The cottage was spacious with a separate inside lounge area, full inside kitchen, air-conditioned, three bedrooms, two bathrooms, TV with limited stations and DVD player for those who can’t go without….lol. The cottage had a fantastic large deck with a table and chairs overlooking the dam.

The rooms are serviced daily with fresh towels, beds made and rooms thoroughly cleaned. The shop is well stocked with food and beverages, hardware, clothes, books and giftware, but not quite the large range of the more southern camps.

We didn’t eat in the camp restaurant as we had a full kitchen and self catered.

We found this camp was great for some R&R after a hectic 2 weeks, 12 hour day, self drive safaris elsewhere in the park.

The camp staff were all courteous, friendly and helpful.

SanParks should be commended for the well organised and running of their camps.

For the price and purpose of stay, our personal rating of the overall experience of this camp is a 5 out 5.

Room Tip: We stayed in a guest cottage (FF6V) No. 43 with a great view over the dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
101.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
384 reviews
76.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 174 in Kruger National Park
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 174 in Kruger National Park
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
131.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 174 in Kruger National Park
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14 reviews
66.4 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#128 of 174 in Kruger National Park
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mopani Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mopani Rest Camp

Property: Mopani Rest Camp
Address: Pioneer Dam, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Mopani Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Pioneer Dam in the Kruger National Park, lies it's best kept secret. Named after the mopane veld that surrounds the camp, Mopani Rest Camp nestles amongst the Mopani tree covered koppies. A signature feature is the huge gnarled old baobab tree in the heart of the camp. The vegetation inside the camp is left as found in the wild, adding to the unique atmosphere of the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mopani Rest Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing