We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views of Pioneer Dam”
Review of Mopani Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mopani Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This camp is one of the newer camps in Kruger. It has a Baobab tree in the camp close to reception. The swimming pool is great. The restaurant is really good and the view of the dam while having a sunset supper is fabulous.


We stayed in a 4 bed perimeter view bungalow. This overlooked the Pioneer Dam and we had a wonderful time eating our food from the Braai while watching a lone Male Elephant on the other side of the dam.

Room Tip: Perimeter view bungalow number 49. PERI Perimeter view bungalow number 49.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect when booking this place, it was the last camp to have a space and we wanted to stay in the park (didn't know too much about the private offerings till after). The chalet is well designed, clean, comfortable and looked after. The camp is inside a tall fencing with jurassic Park style gate entrance, so very safe. The chalet we had was designed for 4 persons, we had to let 2 beds go unused. There is a kitchen area and dining area outside, as well as a dedicated BBQ for each chalet. We went end of December, although it had number of people, we didn't feel crowded ever.
The chalets have all working appliances like fridge, kettle etc and even provide all cutlery and plates, pans so you can really travel light. Overall a really nice place to stay and could imagine it being great fun with larger family or friends.
I would say be cautioned on the park provided drives however, we went on both the sunset and the surrounding rise one, however th loud truck stays on the roads so really didn't offer much that you could see in your own car. Actually we did see more driving ourselves than with the paid drives. The night drive is an experience but same 'no promise' of sightings is uttered. For the camp location, loads of impala and similar type of animals around here, elephants wee more visible further south and few cat sightings more near Northern camps. Mopani has a lake nearby but at least We didn't find a good viewings from there.
Overall excellent camp to stay at, though animal sightings are unfortunately not the best.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Aftab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Camp was stuffed to capacity (it was over December so if you don't like crowds avoid during this time). The one bedroom chalets are badly designed with no privacy whatsoever and the view is of the paved road and your neighbours. Bedcovers were a little grubby although sheets were clean. Pillows were worn so thin they really could not be called a pillow. We had a bat in our room, which I really didn't mind as such but unfortunately there was bat poop all over the room and bedding. Aircon didn't work in the one front room either and it was necessary in the December heat. This is my least favorite out of the four other camps I have stayed at in the Kruger. I will only stay there again if I absolutely have to en route somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I was ....so and so to go in the "official" camp in the Kruger. But we had no choice. We were coming from the great north (parfuri gate) and we had to reach a private reserve near sabi sand. days of travel by road to benefit of the "jewel of south africa: the kruger). But this camp is really good: large and separated "house" , really clean, with all the confort. It's not luxurious , but it's not he price of this too. The cleaning team is perfect, kitchen too, large fridge. Just one thing: dont' forget your meal....the shop is limited there. Really nice bar

Room Tip: near the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent two nights hre. There is a huge Lake and we would advise you to go to the Restaurant and take a sundowner or two to watch the sunset. Mopani Rest Camp is well run, it's an ideal place to spend one or two days in this part of Kruger. The rooms are not the greatest, take your own pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Kruger is always special but try and avoid Mopani. The linen was so thin and shredded on the beds you could see through it. The matress was lumpy, squeaky and uncomfortable, pillows were old and flat. The bathroom had cobwebs in and the previous guests toothbrush was still on the basin (Unless Housekeeping uses this to clean-not likely). The outside light did not work and the kettle-outside had moths in. The restaurant service was sublime!!!!The view fantastic and the food of a good quality. Curio shop expensive but had a good variety. Reception made a balls up of my on-line booking but sorted it out quickly. The main lodge is awesome but the rooms need attention.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at a 3 bedroom cottage. It was nice although for the price not as nice as you could find outside the park. Nevertheless the setting is beautiful, the camp is very clean. The lookouts are great. The swimming pool is very nice and stays open until 9 pm. Great if the day has been a hot one.
We had lunch at the restaurant and the food and prices were reasonable. The service as other reviewers have mentioned is very very slow, so as I mentioned in another review if you are in a hurry it is best to plan ahead and bring your own food that you can eat on the road or at picnic areas or in the camps picnic areas. If you are not in a hurry is is fine and the views and surroundings are very nice.

I would stay here again, but would try to book a bit earlier to have a chance to get some of the smaller cottages since a 3 bedroom cottage was rather large for 2 people. Everything else was booked so we had no choice and we are glad we stayed at this camp. This camp does not have camping facilities.

Room Tip: If you plan to cook buy your groceries outside the park before you come in since the selection is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
131.4 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 176 in Kruger National Park
121 reviews
76.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#40 of 176 in Kruger National Park
192 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.2 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#57 of 176 in Kruger National Park
421 reviews
47.7 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
238 reviews
97.2 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mopani Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mopani Rest Camp

Address: Pioneer Dam, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £74 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mopani Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Pioneer Dam in the Kruger National Park, lies it's best kept secret. Named after the mopane veld that surrounds the camp, Mopani Rest Camp nestles amongst the Mopani tree covered koppies. A signature feature is the huge gnarled old baobab tree in the heart of the camp. The vegetation inside the camp is left as found in the wild, adding to the unique atmosphere of the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mopani Rest Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing