We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No roof”
Review of Mopani Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mopani Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No roof”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed two nights in Mopani and although we live this camp the accommodation this time was poor. We had no grass on the side of the bungalow. If you lie on the bed you see the sky. Upside was we heard lion, jackal, hyena the whole night. Luckily it did not rain but we had a lot of spiders and I was bitten by one.
The shop is undergoing renovations so choices is limited and the place is small and cramped.
The restaurant is amazing, food choices is great and good all around.
We did a sunset drive, really great. It was very cold that day and we were the only crazy ones that ventured out in the cold. We were rewarded with fantastic sightings. It was so good we booked a bush braai. On the pricey side but amazing experience. The food was good, and the experience one to remember.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marelu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    107
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
62
101
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Travelled as two couples with two kids, stayed for one night at Mopani rest camp in guest cottage. Cottage was large three spacious bedrooms one with ensuite. There was also a separate shower and toilet. Kitchen dining area was large and well equipped, evrything you required and was very clean. The terrace area outside was fab, couldn't fault this accomodation.

Recommend sticking with sunset drives as we booked our first night drive and were disappointed. I know that seeing game is based alot on luck, but it also helps if the driver slows down.

Room Tip: Recommend a perimeter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666Nomad_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The relatively small and quiet Mopani Rest Camp has probably the coziest atmosphere of Kruger National Park's camps and, situated high above the Pioneer Reservoir, wonderful and magic views. The bungalows are comfortable and clean. The restaurant has a pretty sitting area with an outdoor, tree-house type veranda - though it couldn't save some disappointment with an overcooked dinner. Typical of many Kruger camps, the Reception's acceptance of one brand of credit card is no guarantee that the restaurant accepts the card and may lead to considerable confusion. The Manager's voluntary intervention the next day and concern about getting a full guest feedback showed a sincere interest in making this camp the best in the park.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Travelled as two couples, stayed for two nights at Mopani rest camp in guest cottage. Cottage was large three spacious bedrooms one with ensuite. There was also a separate shower and toilet. Kitchen dining area was large and well equipped, evrything you required and was very clean. The terrace area outside was fab, with a great view over the river where we saw Hippos each night. Couldn't fault this accomodation.
Regarding Wildlife, on the first day we saw Lions with a kill. On the second day we were so lucky to see a Leopard around 6pm sunning itself on one of the road signs it was beautiful in the evening sun we were so close and it wasn't fazed. This was our highlight (see photo).
As we stayed on New Years Eve we booked on the New Years Eve Drive which took you to a picnic area near to midnight where there was Champagne and wine to toast in the new year a fitting end to our two night stay.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Mopani is well located in kruger for spotting game. It has all the amenities inside but the small pool is mostly crowded. We took evening safari and spotted a lot of birds (hard luck with cats). The restaurant serves good food. The location is perfect for a relaxed get away. I would love to visit it again.

Room Tip: Carry more raw material if you plan to cook, everything is expensive in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deveshyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This camp is one of the newer camps in Kruger. It has a Baobab tree in the camp close to reception. The swimming pool is great. The restaurant is really good and the view of the dam while having a sunset supper is fabulous.


We stayed in a 4 bed perimeter view bungalow. This overlooked the Pioneer Dam and we had a wonderful time eating our food from the Braai while watching a lone Male Elephant on the other side of the dam.

Room Tip: Perimeter view bungalow number 49. PERI Perimeter view bungalow number 49.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect when booking this place, it was the last camp to have a space and we wanted to stay in the park (didn't know too much about the private offerings till after). The chalet is well designed, clean, comfortable and looked after. The camp is inside a tall fencing with jurassic Park style gate entrance, so very safe. The chalet we had was designed for 4 persons, we had to let 2 beds go unused. There is a kitchen area and dining area outside, as well as a dedicated BBQ for each chalet. We went end of December, although it had number of people, we didn't feel crowded ever.
The chalets have all working appliances like fridge, kettle etc and even provide all cutlery and plates, pans so you can really travel light. Overall a really nice place to stay and could imagine it being great fun with larger family or friends.
I would say be cautioned on the park provided drives however, we went on both the sunset and the surrounding rise one, however th loud truck stays on the roads so really didn't offer much that you could see in your own car. Actually we did see more driving ourselves than with the paid drives. The night drive is an experience but same 'no promise' of sightings is uttered. For the camp location, loads of impala and similar type of animals around here, elephants wee more visible further south and few cat sightings more near Northern camps. Mopani has a lake nearby but at least We didn't find a good viewings from there.
Overall excellent camp to stay at, though animal sightings are unfortunately not the best.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aftab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
31.1 mi away
Letaba Rest Camp
Letaba Rest Camp
#10 of 13 in Kruger National Park
382 reviews
131.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
76.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#105 of 171 in Kruger National Park
433 reviews
66.4 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#120 of 171 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#17 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mopani Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mopani Rest Camp

Property: Mopani Rest Camp
Address: Pioneer Dam, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Mopani Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Pioneer Dam in the Kruger National Park, lies it's best kept secret. Named after the mopane veld that surrounds the camp, Mopani Rest Camp nestles amongst the Mopani tree covered koppies. A signature feature is the huge gnarled old baobab tree in the heart of the camp. The vegetation inside the camp is left as found in the wild, adding to the unique atmosphere of the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mopani Rest Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing