We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real wild experiences”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tamboti Satellite Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Real wild experiences”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

You sign up for a bush - tent wild experience and you get it.
Great tents - most of the furniture you need
Common ablutions are neat and clean
Night reverberates with Lion roars, wild dogs barking, hyenas, leopard growl.
Dinner time, a hyena walks 5 ft away from you.

PERFECT SETTING

Room Tip: All rooms have river view. Tents 1-10 are closest to ablutions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    40
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoedspruit
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times before and unfortunately it seems to be going a bit backwards. The positives: Bathroom facilities are immaculate and everything works 100%. Communal kitchen is tidy and well serviced / cleaned everyday. Setting is still one of the best in Kruger. Negatives: Housekeeping did not do a great job in servicing the tents, seems it was just done to get finished and dust under the beds were not swept away once during the three night stay. Rats / Mice made a mess outside under the cage and this was left for the entire stay. Furnishings / cupboards falling apart. Beds uncomfortable and in dire need of new mattresses. We stayed in Tent 20 and did not have power in the evening for duration of stay. We informed the duty manager but it seemed that nothing could be done to fix the electricity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoEs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It was my first time at Tamboti and I was suitably impressed. Entrance is quick and easy from Orpen Gate, the dirt road towards the camp is in good nick, the layout of the camp is L-shaped, each tent having its own view over the Timbavati river (most of the year a dry river bed). We stayed in the luxury tents, having their own kitchen and bathroom as well as a sleeper couch for a third person. The tent is spacious, well laid out and clean. Bedding was clean and adequate, as night time temperature was already cold. The camp does have an exclusive feel to it as only occupants may enter it. I'll definitely return in summer when the river has water. Monkeys are naughty though so don't leave any food lying around.

Room Tip: It seems the normal tents are a bit further spaced from each other, so if you don't want to hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJacobszTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed only one night and regretted that. We upgraded to a tent with bathroom as the camp is very overgrown and they have a huge problem with aggressive baboons. The tent is situated on the banks of a river so the view is amazing. We heard nightlife the whole night. It has a nice kitchen and the fridge is inside so baboons can't get your food and you do not have to turn the fridge around. Beware it gets very cold at night so use the blankets provided.
On the downside is maintenance. The taps in the kitchen is faulty, we had a incident where the tap did not want to close. The shower door can't close as it is broken. There is no side lamps so getting into bed after switching of the lights ended in a challenge. The pullout bed was broken.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marelu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Tamboti is the best camp in Kruger. It is peaceful, and the view over the dry river bed is epic! There is a very positive attitude from the staff at Orpen, and the person at the coffee bar sets the atmosphere! Always fiendly! The camp is clean and for the price there is no comparison. I really hope Sanparks keep this gem priced for the normal traveler. Orpen is also not so busy as the south of Kruger. Great place, great product, all that one needs. I like the fact that the fridges are "caged" outside the units. The units are tents and maybe at some stage could do with a nice wash on the outside, same with the shower curtains at the ablution blocks, but except for this, all is good and we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and every one is good. I seriously don't know if there is any bad units. I al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beukes Geldenhuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in one of their "semi-luxury" tents which i was pleasantly surprised with as it was much more spacious and well-appointed than i was expecting it to be. The shower was piping hot and quite powerful which was a surprise! We were right on the perimeter so found the electric fence to be quite distracting as it zapped insects/branches and it even disturbed our sleep one night. We weren't lucky with viewing game from our deck but it was peaceful and the game viewing in the area is great. We plan to return to this camp again when we're next in Kruger.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbelle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Tamboti. It is truly a REAL bush experience. Right next to the river you could hear and see wildlife. We had an elephant come right up to the electric fence. So it was a very cool experience. The rooms are pretty simple, but what else do you need in the bush but a bed and a roof over your head! I really wish that we stayed here longer, but we wanted to stay at other rest camps during our stay. But out of the ones we stayed at Tamboti was my favourite!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#121 of 174 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
6.7 mi away
Shindzela Tented Camp
Shindzela Tented Camp
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
428 reviews
17.6 mi away
Xanatseni Private Camp
Xanatseni Private Camp
#8 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
nThambo Tree Camp
nThambo Tree Camp
#4 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
392 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#51 of 174 in Kruger National Park
295 reviews
14.3 mi away
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
#6 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamboti Satellite Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamboti Satellite Camp

Property: Tamboti Satellite Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamboti tented camp is a small camp situated on the banks of the Timbavati River, on the western boundary of the Kruger National Park, approximately 2km east of Orpen Rest Camp. Due to the size and location of this camp, Tamboti is one of the most popular camps in the Park. A great feature is a boma, which makes it ideal for small groups of people to gather around the campfire and relive the animal sightings of the day. For the birding enthusiasts, Tamboti offers a bird hide in which to spend hours looking for that exclusive raptor that has up to now eluded you. The natural bush feeling is kept inside the camp, which has the result of emphasizing guest privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing