We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marc's Treehouse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Strasbourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent our honeymoon on a 6 day safari and it was just perfect. We really wanted a true bush experience and we got it! The camp is in the middle of a nature reserve and there are many animals wandering around. It's wonderful! There are kudus, monkeys and baboons all over the place as soob as you wake up. The food is typical and really nice. You eat dinner and breakfasts in very beautiful areas. The staff at the camp are very willing to help. The really want the guests to have the best experience ever. As for the safari itself, it was just magic. The program was varied and always interesting. There are so many animals to see and the guides are passionate and love ro share their knowledge (my wife is now in love with Bongani!!). All in all, I recommend this experience to everyone. You won't be disappointed! Chris & Eline

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris671985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, General Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Hi Chris and Eline

What a great review - thank you !!!

We are very pleased that your honeymoon was "perfect". Marc's Camp does have a fantastic wildlife ambience and all the various animals you mention add a very special touch to the atmosphere of this unique camp.

We are very pleased that you were happy with the food and the staff. To describe your safari experience with Viva Safaris as ''magic'' is really vey satisfying for all of our staff.

I am glad that you found our guides passionate and loving the opportunity they have to share their knowledge with their guests - wonderful !

Kind regards
Piero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    101
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
48
104
95
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I stayed at Marc's Treehouse Lodge during a 6-day safari at and around Kruger National Park. It is a delightful place: the staff are friendly and helpful, the treehouses comfortable and clean, the food is delicious, and the setting is breathtaking. The accommodations are a mix of treehouses and cabins built on stilts on the side of the slope to the bordering river. They are rustic, but very charming and comfortable. The dinners and breakfasts were delicious and we all enjoyed the company of staff and other guests. Perhaps best was sitting by the fire after dinner, chatting and playing music.

Practically perfect in every way! My wife and I and our 2 adult children loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent 3 nights nights at Marc's Treehouse Lodge and really enjoyed the experience. The facilities were clean and there was plenty of bedding to ensure we were warm enough at nights. It was the middle of winter so we were prepared for cold weather. The food was beautiful - could not fault it - good, home-cooked food. We were a family of 4 and the kids really enjoyed the experience. We did have a bit of a walk from the main dining area to our room - but it was good exercise! We found all of the staff very welcoming and helpful and really could not fault the quality. This is not a 5 star lodge so don't expect anything more than the basics - but what was provided was excellent.

The only down-side I would say is that you don't get a lot of free time (hardly any) to relax and enjoy the surroundings. They days start at 7.00am breakfast and then we normally got back around 5.30pm or 6.00pm for a 7.00pm dinner so it was go, go, go. But you are there to go on safari and see animals, not laze around, so we did cram a lot into our 5 days which was great.

Room Tip: If you don't like walking too much, request a room close to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfnut234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We generally enjoyed our stay at Marc's Treehouse Lodge. The staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful. Their guides for safaris are knowledgable and communicate well. The site for the lodge is well chosen, offering interesting views of watering places for animals.
There were only a couple of things we did not enjoy.
First, we felt that there was some false advertising. The website for Marc's Treehouse does not make it clear that all of the buildings are not actual tree-houses -- there are many chalets. The website says "We offer 12 tree houses." We chose the "Six-Day Kruger Tree-house Experience" partly because we thought it would be fun to stay in a tree-house. Instead we were put in a chalet. The website does mention briefly that there are chalets, but the posted pictures and the name of our tour made us think we would stay in a tree-house. We were disappointed.
Second, we noticed that we saw many of the staff working as early as 5-6 in the morning until as late as 10-11 at night and that we saw the same staff every day. We were there for 6 days. We wondered when the staff (guides, hostesses, drivers) get time off. Overworked staff cannot provide a quality level of service and could present a risk to the guests. For example, if a driver has worked a 10 hour day the previous day and then wakes up early to drive guests, he could fall asleep. I would also guess, that it is much harder for guides to spot animals and to be friendly if they are very tired. We hope very much that Marc's Treehouse Lodge is ethical (and legal) in their treatment of their staff, providing ample time for rest.

Room Tip: Specify what kind of room you would like -- tree-house, chalet, or tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sl562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaSafaris, Manager at Marc's Treehouse Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi
thank you for your review, I am pleased that you were overall happy.

I wish to advise that we have not consciously tried to con you about the treehouses. We have built many treehouses on stilts within the tree canopy. These are all en suite which is what over 95% of our guests want. The original treehouses are only 3 ( we lost 2 in the 2012 floods ) and these are not en suite.

As far as staff hours go, we work to the labour laws. If staff are at breakfast and dinner, then they have most of the rest of the day off as we do not have any guests in camp from 08h00 until around 18h00.
The drivers also have a maximum of 9 hours daily which includes a compulsory 1 hour lunch break.

Kind regards

Ronald Masango
CAMP MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was initially apprehensive when I first viewed some of the uppermost reviews which were very negative about this treehouse lodge, and the management's rather blunt responses back to the clients, though they are more than welcome to do so.

I would like to state, however, that from a fair perspective, Marc's Treehouse has indeed been a wonderful experience, and these unhappy guests probably had experienced rare isolated one-off incidents.

Me and my friend took up the 4 day safari tour with Viva Safaris and we stayed 1 night in the Tremisana Lodge and 2 nights at Marc's treehouse as part of the package. To begin with, the customer service was just splendid. My enquiries were addressed quickly and with such friendliness!

One memorable event I ALWAYS LOOKED FORWARD TO were the dinners, they were just SUPERB. Hearty meals cooked by individuals who have such passion for what they serve.

The rooms differed quite vastly in standards, from what I've heard. My room was fantastic though, interesting decor which really placed one in the midst of a real safari. Really beautiful paintings, and even the beds were so comfortable (other than the crazy fact they had 5 people worth of bed space in our room for just 2 of us!) "Treehouse" maybe slightly misleading though as there is truly only 1 room that sits totally on a tree, however the views and environment was still breathtaking. Expect abit of walking though, as some rooms can be slightly far.

Viva Safari has prepared a very interesting itinerary for their guests, contrary to just what most other companies provide, safari drives after drives, Viva has innovated with the bushwalk, where the guides turn into rangers and bring you on a walk around the reserve, and drives spanning from morning, afternoon and even night. Being situated on Bulule Game Reserve has the added advantage that you get to see animals up close and personal, while you even get a drive through the Kruger main park where animals are more abundant and you get to see a great variety. (Fences between the parks are knocked down though, but animals still seem to roam the Kruger Main park more, of course. This depends on their vegetation preference and availability of food). Animals are seemingly more abundant during the early mornings and late afternoons-nights due to their dislike for the heat of the mid afternoons (This is for spring).

The exciting thing about a Safari is the luck of the timing and location - if you are at the right place at the right time, you will see amazing things. I had the opportunity to see a Cheetah eating it's prey (deer) at a mere 3m away from the safari van! And no, it wasn't dangerous, they are more scared of us than we are of them! However, this is not a zoo, so don't expect the animals to be sitting there and waiting before they perform their daily activities for you to see. Kruger is a vast park, and animals can be anywhere at any moment.

However, one thing I would like to highlight is the administration. I believe that there is a slight shortage of staff as a few things were rather muddled up, such as noting 9 guests were on a ride to Kruger instead of 11, and the vehicle nearly forgetting about 2 individuals. For a company this size, it can be understandable, but still shouldn't happen! I hope that this can be improved as otherwise it is indeed a very great experience!

In summary, the price put up indeed is VERY REASONABLE considering the vast amount of things that Viva Safari has scheduled for their guests. Marc's Treehouse indeed is a very quaint camp site where the staff were indeed very friendly and helpful.

My advice: Do book Viva Safaris if this is your first time going for a Kruger safari, it will give you a good taste from an assortment of staycations and activities. Even if it is not your first time, it is still a really memorable experience. Additionally, book during the winter months, the animals are more abundant and not to say, we hardly even see insects around! Bring binoculars and a good camera, come with an open mind, don't expect the heavens, and you'll indeed have a blast of an experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyofthefuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were in Kruger during winter (month of July) & the nights were quite cold. The tents did not have heating & we froze to death that night. the zipper on my tent wasn't working either. I tried to inform one of the staff houses but no one responded when I knocked at the door (even though there were people inside) ! Camping is fun but to sleep in the middle of an African jungle with the tent not closed properly is a big risk. The toilet didn't have hot water, which was again a nightmare considering how cold it was outside (0-2'C) . We paid £315 for 2 nights & I was quite disappointed with the second which I had to spend inside an unlocked dreadful tent with no heating what so ever!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virum, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Marc's Treehouse Lodge was one of the best accommodations on my entire trip to South Africa. The staff was super friendly and ready to help with everything, and the guides were very knowledgeable. I enjoyed every single morning with good mood and smiles.

Room Tip: It can be cold in winter, bring warm clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
3.0 mi away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#28 of 104 in Hoedspruit
311 reviews
2.9 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#8 of 104 in Hoedspruit
375 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#15 of 104 in Hoedspruit
144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kusudalweni Safari Lodge & Spa
3.0 mi away
Lion Tree Top Lodge
Lion Tree Top Lodge
#19 of 104 in Hoedspruit
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc's Treehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc's Treehouse Lodge

Property: Marc's Treehouse Lodge
Address: Motlala Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Marc`s Treehouse Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing