We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best camp in Kruger.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

In my opinion, it was the best camp in Kruger. Better than Skukuza, Lower Sabbie or Pretoriuskop. Very small and intimate, where you have a very good, close contact with animals. There is a very quiet and peaceful. At night you can listen to the passing next to the elephants and lions. Amazing place. Bungalows was really good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rotta_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

We booked the only remaining hut which happened to be the hut that is designed for physically disabled visitors. The bedroom was fairly standard and clean and tidy. The bathroom/shower was interesting to say the least as the entire shower area was an open area that was tiled and the water ran everywhere. The tiles were extremely slippery and as able bodied people we had to be very careful. The monkeys were an issue and frankly a simple bar across the fridge door would resolve some of the issues, preventing them from raiding the fridge. Pretoriouskop has resolved this issue by building a metal cage door around the fridge. What really amazed me was the bin that is provided for the outdoor kitchen was an open plastic bin with no way of sealing the rubbish and preventing access. Monkeys, birds and ants galore took advantage of the bin. Surely a bin inside a cupboard would be a better solution. nevertheless none of this detracted from the wondrous environment of the beautiful Kruger National Park

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingwegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The monkeys here are a real nuisance, if you sit outside they will come and attack you and are very intimidating, if you don't turn your fridge around to face the wall they will eat all your food. This camp is not as attractive as Letaba and doesn't have the views but the sunset drive the rangers offer is well worth the money, we saw a pride of lions as well as porcupine, rhino, vultures, elephant so close you could almost touch it andso much more, the only things we didn't see were leopard and cheetah. The extra space you gain by opting for accomodation with kitchen and bathroom is great and the shower was hot and powerful if not the prettiest I have ever seen. There are huge numbers of elephants near here and their young are great to watch. If you can go near the perimeter you can watch elephant and hyena from your accomodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiltshirewanderer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The last of the four camps that we stayed in and by far the best. Croc Bridge is one of the oldest and definately the smallest of the camps ( only 15 chalets) , however it has a wonderful small initmate feel, and you deifnately feel part of Africa staying here. It has a very small shop with limited supplies and with nowwhere to eat you need to take your own supplies. They are building at the moment and have a new reception area, but again service was pretty bad. Chalets are delightful, round rondables very clean and tidy with an outside kitchen. Fridges had been turned inside due to problems with monkeys opening them and stealing contents. There were a lot of monkeys on the camps, and our kids ,not great wildlife lovers ,loved interacting with them. Had a chalet right next to the perimetre fence and were delighted when a family group of warthogs paid us a visit. Bought supplies from the shop to have a braai , and had a lovely evening sat outside.beware though as it is rural there are a lot, and I mean a lot of flies, you will need reppelant here as well as something to cover food. Kitchen was well sticked and had all the utensils you need. Some people were staying in the tented huts which looked lovely , but with no air con and 36 degrees outside they were very hot. Went on the sunset drive with Dominic , a very knowledgable and friendly guide. Was a great spotter and highlights of evening were the jackal, hyena within touching distance of truck and porcupine. The only downside one of the lamps did not work, and guests were not given any instruction on how to use lamps. Unlike other night drives Dominic did not have a lamp herself, so all the spotting relied on the guests, so as they had no idea how to use them , and all of the sightings was down to one of our party who is an experiences safari goer.
Having an evening drink we were treated to the sight of two hyena touring the perimetre fence and an elephant less than 6 ft away munching on bushes.
Game viewing betwen here and Lower Sabie was some of the best, and had some incredible close up contact with elephants, a little too close for our friends who were charged at twice thanks to the bad driving and inconsiderate other drivers who went too close to the animals and then drove off at high speed frightening them. Be aware that the elephants come very close to the road, and keep eyes open that you are not separating the herd or mothers from babies. Also another top tip : do not drive over elephant dung, they eat camel thorns that will puncture your tyres!
A wonderful camp

Room Tip: Ask for a perimetre fence accomodation, also book a wild card if staying for a few days as this give...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TraceyS1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

we moved here for 1 night from Satara to make our onward journey easier the superviser was not helpful at all we paid our conservation charge of 90pound at Satara and were told we would have no extra charge to move but we were charged another 30 pound the superviser just did not want to know after neally an hour we paid it just to get away from the place. the cabins were good they had been up dated and were clean with outside cooking

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycewalesengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was our first time camping in the Kruger National Park and I wasn't dissapointed. The stands here were well maintained with electricity provided. Bathroom facilities were spotless clean and the other campers very well behaved. This is an excellent area for game viewing and on the first day we saw lions, elephants, rhino, giraffe etc on the roads between Crocodile Bridge rest camp and Lower Sabie rest camp. In the evenings the hyena came right up to the fence, it was amazing to see. The small shop in the camp is well stocked with meats, fruit, vegetables,breads, cheeses and beverages (alcoholic and soft drinks) along with toiletries and other handy items like adaptors, candles and torches. A delightful camp that is very well maintained, I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: When you are camping, choose a spot right next to the fence (but please don't feed the hyena'...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was our first Kruger National Park camp, recommended by a KNP fanatic!! Despite the fact that he neglected to mention that plates and cutlery aren't provided(!) we still had an awesome 2 nights here. We stayed in Safari Tent 8 I think, it's basically a quite big tent on a platform, with 2 beds and a fridge that's outside on the veranda where the table and chairs for eating are. Beautiful setting as you look out in the morning sun or evening dusk over the bush. We had a very friendly hyena that kept us company/entertained in the evenings as it paced past us waiting for scraps from the braii - which we did not give! Nice and peaceful campsite, very friendly people, clean and great animal viewing even in the camp. Some warthogs made it into the camp as well which was fun!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tefoonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 175 in Kruger National Park
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#49 of 175 in Kruger National Park
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp

Address: on the northern bank of the Crocodile River | Southeastern corner of the park, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing