We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Safari Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Safari Camp”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed two nights here with friends and it was fantastic.
You are really close to the park and all the wildlife. We saw a hyena passing by during our dinner. It is a smaller camp in comparison to Olifants and Skukuza with less luxury but it is more of the original safari feeling. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank JGoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    85
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
120
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great camp. Easy to get to and with lots of fame around.
Bathrooms are clean as us the rest of the camp.
There were no monkeys at all that we saw, the biggest problem we had was getting water which was been hogged by South Africans washing there big 4x4s...don't ask as I have no idea ehy

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SMWelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Very quite, lots of game nearby big 5 right out of the gates. Small game wanders into camp. Rondavels are standard layout and very clean. The monkeys we not a problem. Staff was fantastic, did a night drive out of this camp.
Store was very well stocked. Close to town if you need to leave the park and grab something. Their "crafts" shop was packed. Maybe my favorite of all the Kruger parks.

Room Tip: If you can book early and request near the fence so you can watch the animals go to the water in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

As everyone says, a small camp with a nice layout. Friendly pleasant staff and it's a prime viewing spot. The rondavels are standard layout and in need of some renovation. The monkeys weren't a problem to us but lurked around. There were mossies around and despite precautions I picked up a couple of bites ( end of May). We went on a sunset drive where the guy tried very hard to get some top sightings but didn't succeed.
Unfortunately when we were there there was a constant noise through the night of machinery from the land over the river (a generator?) not enough to stop us sleeping but a distraction from the feeling of a park.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank john222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We camped at Croc bridge for 4 nights and it was a lovely experience.

We were fortunate enough to camp right next to the fence and was treated nightly with the resident hyena doing the rounds.

The camp also receive daily visits from warthogs and monkeys.

This is really a special little camp with friendly staff and the shop is well stocked. There is no restaurant or swimming pool (unfortunately). The ablution facilities and communal kitchen were clean.

The sunset drive with Irvin was one of the best sunset drives we ever had.

Will visit again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindafrompotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It was our first time in Croc Bridge Rest Camp. We had a tent next to the fence, which gave nice entertainment in the evening with hyena's walking around and elephants walking next to the fence. The tent and communal ablutions were clean. Too bad there's no opportunity to grab something (warm) to eat, it's all self catering. Staff in the shop and at reception were very friendly. Since it was the first time we stayed at one of these tents, we didn't know where to find the switches to the outside lamps, and they were not clearly marked at the electricity panel. We managed though, and it sure didn't spoil our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid_en_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp is situated on the Northern bank of the Crocodile river at the Southern tip of Kruger National Park. Accommodation is typical Kruger. We had a rondawel on the river. Nice views. Unfortunately a farmer on the opposite bank was pumping water for irrigation purposes out of the river and the noise was a big spoiler.

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrevanderMerwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 174 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#106 of 174 in Kruger National Park
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#17 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#1 of 13 in Komatipoort
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp

Property: Crocodile Bridge Rest Camp
Address: on the northern bank of the Crocodile River | Southeastern corner of the park, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing