We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique experience”
Review of The Outpost

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Outpost
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent just one night here and it was an unforgettable experience. Charmaine and the staff were fabulous and our room was amazing but the best was Ali our game ranger and the 2 drives we did with him. Visits to Lanner gorge and the Fever tree forest were experiences we shall treasure forever . His birding knowledge was a delight and we added many new birds to our list. .

Room Tip: not no 1 it doesnt have a great view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvdb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear jvdb55

Many thanks for your review. We are obviously very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay at The Outpost. Charmaine is a gem and Ali is always a hit with the guests. Lanner Gorge and the Fever Tree Forest are some of the spectacular sights in the concession and guests thoroughly enjoy the experience. Needless to say, the birdlife speaks for itself.

One quick comment on room 1, 2 and 3, you are correct they do not have views of the Luvuvhu valley however the reason we built these rooms are as a result of some guests preferring to be closer to the central areas. In some cases guests with younger children also prefer these suites.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back to The Outpost in the not too distant future.

Best regards


Richard de la Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Not easy to get to but well worth the effort. I spent 2 nights in the lodge in May. The minimalist decor is ok but some color and art on the walls would help. Loved the blinds that go up and down at the push of a button and open the entire front of the room to the bush and breezes. Spectacular views from the rooms. Food and service were excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 11, 12 have best views and most privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Others have described the 'spaces', we were in #11 and the view is just mindblowing, miles of empty African scenery. The staff are really good, the food great but the best bit is the fact that the north of Kruger is empty of people, so when you're out on a game drive, you're on your own, and that is makes for a great feeling. There is only one public road through the area and The Outpost is able to go off road, so you really are in areas that others can't go.

The game is not as prevalent as elsewhere, but we saw plenty, and with really good birding, raptors plentiful.

All in all a fantastic place, just one word of advice - if you're in space 11 don't forget your bins, it's a long walk back! But the view is worth the walk.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnykemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The rooms are completely amazing. They are open on three sides, with a view over the bush and the valley. We slept with the stars. On cold nights they provide you with hot water bottles.
The whole lodge is done in a minimalistic and modern style.
All meals are usually served at communal tables. The Wine selection could be improved.

The landscape is very diversified. River gorges, Forest, plains and lakes are found very near together. The wildlife matches the landscape. We saw many different species. More than at any other place we visited. Ali, our very experienced ranger, showed us many birds and rare species. We got to see hippos out of the water, Aardvark, bushbabys and much more. Meeting with the animals is different to the experience with had in other lodges in SA. The Outpost is almost the only lodge in these parts of the Kruger Park. On many safari drives we saw no other car. The animals are more shy. It's a big five area, but the sightings of the cats are limited (e.g. Leopards only at night time). Due to the recent floods at the beginning of the year several roads are still closed. Due to detours the safaris tend to be longer.
I believe that all the rooms are about the same. But the location of the rooms is quite different. As a rule of thumb, rooms the furthest away from the main lodge have the more dramatic view.
Be aware, mobile phones don't work and WLAN (or Internet) is not or only very limited available.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_Asherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

All I can say is this is one of the most fantastic places we have stayed, and we have travelled quite a bit, especially in Southern Africa. The rooms, or "spaces" as they are called, are spectacular in that they are really just decks on stilts overlooking the valley with screens all around that you can open and close depending on the weather. Having a shower overlooking the river and the valley was an awesome experience. We had an elephant right underneath our room one night, making a lot of noise. Buck and other plains game were regular visitors to the river and it was good to have the different perspective of seeing them from above. I read some reviews about the portions being small, but to me it seemed that they never stopped feeding us! In fact on the second day we requested just a salad for lunch as we just couldn't put it all away! And trust me we tried as the food was delicious. The staff and service were faultless and nothing was too much trouble, not that we are demanding but it seemed that there was always someone around if you needed them. Our ranger, Andy, a young American chap who has fallen in love with Africa (snap!) was so knowledgeable about every aspect of the fauna and flora it was a pleasure to be out there with him and feel his enthusiasm. We saw plenty of game, perhaps we were just lucky. There are no huge herds here, but lots of pockets of zebra, giraffe, elephant, leopard. The bird life is phenomenal and I would love to go back in the summer when the migrants are around.

I cannot praise this lodge highly enough and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view - I think 10 and 11 are probably the best but it really doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sable37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review on The Outpost. It's always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves to the extent you have. It is a very special place and there is so much to see and experience.

Andy has been with us a couple of months now and his passion for the area and wildlife in general is conveyed to the guests on both game drives walking trails.

Birding in the summer months is incredible and the area is very well known for it. Some species only occur in the Pafuri area in South Africa.

We hope it is not too long before you visit us again.

Kind regards


Richard de la Rey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

What a fantastic breakaway spot! if it's peace and tranquillity you are after, this is it! A spectacular lodge in special settings with endless views across the mountains. the living spaces are well appointed, comfortable and immersed in the bush allowing you to totally become one with your surroundings. the lodge staff are efficient; yet friendly at the same time. The food is very good and scores full marks for presentation and taste.

With very few other vehicles almost a certainty, you have this special concession to yourself. for those who are interested in plants this area is a botanical wonderland, with rare plants around every corner.

If you are a 1st timer to Africa, be aware that this is big 5 territory; but sightings in this area are not as commonplace as elsewhere in commercial lodges; however the exclusivity and scenery more than make up for this. I would not let this deter from visiting this area.Walking in the area is also great with one being able to visit areas not accessible to all Kruger visitors.

This is a trip that was on the "bucket list" for some time and we were not disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but rooms 7-12 have the best views of the river and mountains. if you do not wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The lodge can exclusively use the Makuleke concession area so you can be sure that you will not see other vehicles on your game drive. And the best of all is that you can actually do bush walks among the big five with your guide.
The rooms, called spaces, are stunning with spectacular views. The staff is friendly and considerate and the food excellent.

Room Tip: Spaces 11 and12 have the best views but are quite far from the main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcaciaNamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
9.3 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#46 of 175 in Kruger National Park
169 reviews
133.6 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#64 of 175 in Kruger National Park
365 reviews
194.4 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#31 of 175 in Kruger National Park
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
143.8 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#2 of 175 in Kruger National Park
260 reviews
153.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#37 of 175 in Kruger National Park
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#17 of 175 in Kruger National Park
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outpost

Address: Makuleke Region, Kruger National Park 2146, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £762 - £840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Outpost 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Outpost lies in the Makuleke Contractual Park, a vast and remote wilderness area bordered to the north by the Limpopo River and Zimbabwe and to the east by Crooks Corner and Mozambique.The Big 5 Makuleke Contractual Park measures some 26 500 hectares and is well known for its abundant wildlife including less common species not evident in the southern and central regions of the park. Apart from large herds of elephant and buffalo, guests will be able to see Nyala, an antelope which is not easily found in the more southern regions of the park, and over 350 recorded bird species. The diverse terrain of the region includes Mopane Woodlands, Fever Tree forests, Acacia thickets as well as some of the largest and oldest Baobab specimens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, South African Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outpost Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing