We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of The Outpost

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Outpost
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Outpost is a great lodge in the most northern part of Kruger. We stayed there for 3 nights. Compared to other lodges where we have stayed, the design of the main building as well as the rooms is quite different. However, that adds to the magic of this place
The rooms ('spaces') are absolutely spectacular. One entire wall can be opened completely, and then you have a fantastic view on the valley where a river flows. This view you can enjoy from your bed, from the free-standing bath-tub, or from one of the seats or the sunbed, and as long as you do not step out onto the balcony, you have also complete privacy. You may even choose to leave this wall open during the night, so that it feels like you are sleeping out in the bush under a mosquito net.
The service in The Outpost is of high standards. All staff members did whatever possible to make us happy, and provided a great service with a really personal touch. Breakfast and lunch are served on a large table with the other guests. The candlelight diners you can enjoy with your beloved one at a somewhat separated table with good privacy. Food is of very good quality, and we enjoyed every single meal.
The game drives with your ranger are done in a private concession of Kruger, so it will be very quiet and you will encounter hardly any other vehicles. The amount of larger animals you will see is perhaps not as high as in other parts of Kruger, but we had among others three leopard sightings. We would recommend The Outpost particularly for bird lovers. Our ranger Alweet had a spectacular bird knowledge, and although we did not count, we must have seen at least 150 different bird species in the three days. The landscapes are also interesting. Apart from the bush, which you can expect in this part of Kruger, you can also watch a spectacular gorge. There is also a section with fever tree forest, which is lovely, and where you will see very large numbers of impala and nyala.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal with exception of the honeymoon suite. The higher numbers are a bit far away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-Tiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Jan-Tiny

Thank you so much for your comprehensive feedback. We are obviously thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at The Outpost. As you say, it is a magical place and you got to see all the special places in the concession.

As I have stated before, Alweet is a true asset to the lodge and we are very fortunate to have him on board.

Hopefully we will welcome you back at The Outpost in the not too distant future.


Kind regards


Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

We've visited the Outpost the second time in 3 years. We were afraid it couldn't live up with our initial experience but the opposite is true. We travel a lot worldwide and despite of the fact that we've seen several 'other' nice places also in South-Africa too the experience was again outstanding. Especially if you go for a beautiful diverse landscape a big diversity of wild life not overloaded with tourists this is an extremely nice and special location. During our stay at the Outpost we've seen Leopards, Elephants, Giraffes Buffalo's, Hippo's big Crocodiles, Turtles, Hyena, Owls, Eagles and many other special birds. If you 'guaranteed' would like see all of the Big 5 in 2 days you might want to combine this place with something more south in the Park. We started more south on a different lodge, followed by the Outpost and as in our opinion it stands out above the other locations we would recommend the same 'order'.

The staff is naturally friendly, very professional but not pretentious, they go for the extra mile without making you 'feel' that.
The location is as nice as the pictures indicate, they have a great kitchen and an excellent wine list.
You have stunning views from the facility which is on a hill, overlooking a lively riverbed with beautiful mountains on the background.
We've know there are more expensive locations but this one offers a very good price/performance and we're hoping we will be able to go back again in the future.
A special thank you to our guide Ellie who's been a terrific host and made our game drives 'fantastic' over and over again he went for the extra mile without looking at his watch!

Room Tip: Bring camera and good binoculars if you go for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHague_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear TheHague_traveller

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback. It's really reassuring to hear from repeat guests that the lodge lived up to your expectations.

We have been experiencing some awesome leopard sightings over the past couple of months and the game viewing in general has been quite awesome.

Alee and the rest of the staff are true gems and we are truly grateful to have them on board.

Thank you for visiting us again. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back at The Outpost in the not too distant future.


Kind regards

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from the most amazing vacation. We were lucky enough to spend 3 nights at The Outpost. The beauty and location of the lodge is magical - we kept wanting to pinch ourselves and ask if it was real. The "spaces" are as amazing and as special as they look in the pictures. The staff goes above and beyond to try and meet any request you may have. The food was amazing, with nice bar/wine options. They knew we were celebrating an anniversary and arranged for a hot bubble bath and a bottle of wine with lanterns in our room after dinner one evening - so thoughtful! The beauty of this part of the Kruger is very unique and our guide Ali made sure that we saw all of the amazing sights, animals and birds. We were lucky enough to run into a mother, father and 3 lion cubs on our way in one night! The animals were abundant but are not as comfortable with vehicle's as they are in the southern part of the Kruger. If you are lucky enough to be able to stay at The Outpost you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The northest hotel in Kruger. A little bit far ....( 2 or 3 hour drive from Louis Trichardt) but....A place...The place...The rooms are fantastic: a dream of architect....a dream for the traveller. Difficult to describe: a nest maybe....modern...impossible to describe the view: there's no word in our langage, only in the dreams. Sunrise or sunset, the both. Nice swimming pool and great games. Maybe not the best area for the animals: too north in the kruger but THE place for the wonderful landscapes. Just one small point (if you have to find one) the food is certainly good and tasty but you are exspecting more for this kind of place and....restrictive wine cellar for south africa. Our Guide was exceptionnal and the teams extremely kind and efficient. Stay here 3 or more nights. NB Take care for the fuel for your car (no refueling around)

Room Tip: rooms 9, 10, 11, 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic setting, views spectacular. Beautiful lodge, rooms amazing. Great food. Wine list good. Staff friendly, efficient and proffesional. Alveet our guide the best we have had, amazing knowledge and enthusiasm. The Makuleke consession has unrivalled natural beauty. Not to be missed

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dionisius d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Outpost. Well done to Sarah for awesome game drives. What a unique part of the world we were so privileged to visit. And to Charmaine and staff. Highly recommended for ambience, hospitality and commitment

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuarryLakeInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A group of friends spent 3 fantastic nights here. The view from the rooms is awesome with the entire space open on three sides you truly feel like you are part of the surrounding bush. The service was amazing and the food was so beautifully prepared & served by staff who really went out of their way to please. The game is slightly on the sparse side but the spectacular fever tree forest makes up for it in so many ways.

Room Tip: The rooms further up the walkway away from the dining area have spectacular views, but the higher yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear lulu008


Thank you for the great feedback. The rooms certainly are one of the highlights of anyone's visit to The Outpost and we find that some guests actually skip a game drive or two to spend more time in their rooms.

I agree with you as far as the Fever Tree forest is concerned. It is spectacular. It's really a case of seeing is believing.

Staff are all important when it comes to game lodges and I will certainly pass on your gratitude to them.


Hopefully we'll see you and your friends back at The Outpost soon.


Kindest regards


Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
9.3 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#36 of 178 in Kruger National Park
212 reviews
143.8 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#39 of 178 in Kruger National Park
265 reviews
153.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#32 of 178 in Kruger National Park
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
194.4 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#29 of 178 in Kruger National Park
600 reviews
133.6 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#61 of 178 in Kruger National Park
393 reviews
211.6 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#93 of 178 in Kruger National Park
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outpost

Address: Makuleke Region, Kruger National Park 2146, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 178 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £368 - £1,441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Outpost 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Outpost lies in the Makuleke Contractual Park, a vast and remote wilderness area bordered to the north by the Limpopo River and Zimbabwe and to the east by Crooks Corner and Mozambique.The Big 5 Makuleke Contractual Park measures some 26 500 hectares and is well known for its abundant wildlife including less common species not evident in the southern and central regions of the park. Apart from large herds of elephant and buffalo, guests will be able to see Nyala, an antelope which is not easily found in the more southern regions of the park, and over 350 recorded bird species. The diverse terrain of the region includes Mopane Woodlands, Fever Tree forests, Acacia thickets as well as some of the largest and oldest Baobab specimens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, South African Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outpost Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing