We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in the Fever Tree Forest”
Review of The Outpost

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Outpost
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wedding in the Fever Tree Forest”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

The Outpost arranged our wedding in the FTF for 30-odd people. Long story short: The perfect lodge setting overlooking the bush and the staff (both onsite and reservations) delivered a once-in-a-lifetime experience that "blew us away". The "spaces" (aka rooms) are unique and are an experience in themselves - one can spend an entire day in one's "space" in serene contentment.
We're planning a return visit in order to immerse ourselves again in the lodge's facilities, including benefiting from the most interesting rangers (Kara, Sarah, Alveet). The couple running the lodge (Beatrice + Aaron) are terrific/attentive and the reservations team (Lauren, May and Richard) are organisers par excellence. Well done all!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichMsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear RichMsa

First of all congratulations are in order !!!! Thank you so much for sharing such a special occasion with us. I'm thrilled to hear it went off so well. You were both an absolute pleasure to deal with.

So many of your guests wrote back to us and told us what an awesome time they had. Sounds like a huge success to me.

What more can I say about the staff. They really are fantastic and make us so proud.

I really hope you get to visit us again soon and thank you once again for sharing the special occasion with us.

Kind regards


Richard de la Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    39
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
151
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

If you are a birder! This is the place!
Stunning views, fantastic birding and great service.
The rooms open up on 3 sides and have the most incredible views onto the riverbed.
Our guides were very knowledgable - and we saw a wide variety of birds including the summer migrants. The fever tree forest is a must.
We celebrated our friend's wedding in the Fever tree forest and the staff set up a great meal efficiently and with no fuss. The Camp Manager went the extra mile in every way possible. She baked a delicious cake for the wedding party and between the team repaired a broken sump of a car. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FamilyBarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear FamilyBarrow

Thank you for the compliments. It is sincerely appreciated.

Once again the birding comes to the fore. The birding is always impressive, especially this time of year. The Fever Tree Forest is a must for anyone visiting The Outpost. It really is special.

Aaron and Bea are simply wonderful and really do go the extra mile.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Outpost in the not too distant future.


Kind regards


Richard de la Rey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have just returned from a magical stay at The Outpost which is in one of the most beautiful and remote areas of the Kruger Park - there may not be huge quantities of game but there are different sightings and magnificent birding. The rooms are unique with blinds making up three walls that can be opened onto endless views and the feeling of being part of nature.

We found the food great and the service was good and at no time in your face - everyone just got on with what they had to do.

Our guide, Alweet has to be one of the best guides we have had the pleasure of driving with, with a true passion and love for the bush and brilliant bird knowledge.

We would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR22TSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear SR22TSC

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

The birding certainly is world class and I hope you were able to tick off a few special species.

Alweet is an absolute gem and we are privileged to have him on board.

I sincerely hope that it's not too long before you visit us again.


Kind regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This review is long overdue and I would like to first and foremost apologise to the staff at The Out Post for taking so long to tell them how wonderful they are.

My boyfriend and I won a trip to The Out Post in Jan 2014. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and special. The managers Erin and Beatrice were great and really made our stay there something worth remembering.

We felt as if we were part of the family. Nothing was too much effort and everyone was always accommodating - especially Alweet, our game-ranger, who stayed up until 12am trying to find us an owl we really wanted to see :-)

Our room had an amazing view of the river and we were lucky enough to see a few elephant there on two occasions.
The hospitality we got was something out of this world!

Our food was also great - the one bit of criticism I did have was the size of the portions. They were HUGE! Langu, our amazing host, eventually told the kitchen to half our portions... there was no way we could finish all the food they try make you eat :-)

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our six year anniversary- and too our surprise The Out Post team had arranged a romantic dinner with champagne for us- The attention to detail was great, it was small things like this that made our experience such a pleasant one.

The Out Post has a very special place in our hearts, because of the team there. Thank you to everyone we met- you will be seeing us again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Megan M

My apologies for late reply to your fantastic feedback.

Thank you for all the compliments. We are extremely fortunate to have the wonderful staff compliment we have at The Outpost. A lodge is only as good as its staff members and in this respect we are very fortunate.

I am thrilled to hear that you and your boyfriend had such a wonderful time and congratulations from all of us on your 6th anniversary.

I hope we will see you back at The Outpost for your 7th anniversary.


Kind regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have just arrived back in Hamburg after our 3 night stay at the Outpost. The view from our bedroom still lingers vividly as it is undoubtedly the most exquisite we have ever experienced. Thank you so much for making such a memorable holiday possible for us and our German friends. From the spaces to the staff, location, service, game drives and G&T's, The Outpost exceeded all our expectations. I have never stayed in such a beautiful place and doubt I ever will again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 but I believe all of them are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFRIDYSSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear AFRIDYSSEY


Thank you so much for the most wonderful compliments.

The Outpost rooms are one aspect of the lodge that separates us from most other lodges and we are flattered that you rate it as the most beautiful place you have ever stayed.

Thank you so much for visiting The Outpost and I sincerely hope you will be back.


Kind regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We visited the greater Kruger National Park during December 2013 / January 2014. We stayed at four lodges, 4 nights at The Outpost.

Firstly, the reservation office manager, Richard, was outstanding. He attended to all our questions and queries in a most professional, yet relaxed and friendly manner.

The managing couple at the lodge, Aaron and Beatrice, are an asset to the company. They are good hosts, friendly and efficient. The staff members are well trained - some obviously better than others, but all good at what they do.

The food is excellent and the chef went to a lot of trouble to attended to our gluten free dietary requests.

The rooms are modern in a bush setting - a surprising sight at first, but very pleasing. The rooms don't have walls - only canvas screens that roll up electrically - if they are all up, the "room" is open on three sides, which is spectacular in good weather. This does not mean they are not private - each room is situated in such a way that it is safe from prying eyes.

Unfortunately we had inclement weather on two days of our stay, meaning we had to keep the screens down. When the screens are down, one cannot enjoy the great view from the room. The rooms are in need of some basic maintenance. However, it is obvious that Aaron and Beatrice have started attending to this (they had only been there for approximately three months).

The Outpost is situated within a concession area in Kruger National Park. It is rich in diversity and many bird species occur here, not to be found in the rest of the park. Our guide Alweet was excellent and went to a lot of effort, sometimes doing three drives a day to accommodate the different needs of different guests. It was a special treat seeing Pel's Fishing Owl on the 1st of January after Alweet had timed his evening drive perfectly!

All four lodges we visited are within the same price category. The Outpost easily beat two other lodges in terms of standard and experience. However, the competition is stiff and I rank it in the joint first place with one of the other lodges on our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Martin O

Thank you for the chat subsequent to your visit and for fantastic feedback and compliments.

I was so happy to hear you saw a Pel's Fishing Owl and on top of it on the 1st January. That's a great start to the year.

Alweet is brilliant and anyone who is interested in birds thoroughly enjoys his drives. His knowledge is remarkable.

Thank you so much for visiting The Outpost. I know you'll be back and we look forward to that.


Kind regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Outpost is a great lodge in the most northern part of Kruger. We stayed there for 3 nights. Compared to other lodges where we have stayed, the design of the main building as well as the rooms is quite different. However, that adds to the magic of this place
The rooms ('spaces') are absolutely spectacular. One entire wall can be opened completely, and then you have a fantastic view on the valley where a river flows. This view you can enjoy from your bed, from the free-standing bath-tub, or from one of the seats or the sunbed, and as long as you do not step out onto the balcony, you have also complete privacy. You may even choose to leave this wall open during the night, so that it feels like you are sleeping out in the bush under a mosquito net.
The service in The Outpost is of high standards. All staff members did whatever possible to make us happy, and provided a great service with a really personal touch. Breakfast and lunch are served on a large table with the other guests. The candlelight diners you can enjoy with your beloved one at a somewhat separated table with good privacy. Food is of very good quality, and we enjoyed every single meal.
The game drives with your ranger are done in a private concession of Kruger, so it will be very quiet and you will encounter hardly any other vehicles. The amount of larger animals you will see is perhaps not as high as in other parts of Kruger, but we had among others three leopard sightings. We would recommend The Outpost particularly for bird lovers. Our ranger Alweet had a spectacular bird knowledge, and although we did not count, we must have seen at least 150 different bird species in the three days. The landscapes are also interesting. Apart from the bush, which you can expect in this part of Kruger, you can also watch a spectacular gorge. There is also a section with fever tree forest, which is lovely, and where you will see very large numbers of impala and nyala.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal with exception of the honeymoon suite. The higher numbers are a bit far away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Tiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOutpost, Director of Sales at The Outpost, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Jan-Tiny

Thank you so much for your comprehensive feedback. We are obviously thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at The Outpost. As you say, it is a magical place and you got to see all the special places in the concession.

As I have stated before, Alweet is a true asset to the lodge and we are very fortunate to have him on board.

Hopefully we will welcome you back at The Outpost in the not too distant future.


Kind regards


Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
9.3 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#53 of 174 in Kruger National Park
154 reviews
133.6 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#62 of 174 in Kruger National Park
341 reviews
194.4 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 174 in Kruger National Park
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
153.4 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#48 of 174 in Kruger National Park
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#19 of 174 in Kruger National Park
409 reviews
208.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 174 in Kruger National Park
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outpost

Property: The Outpost
Address: Makuleke Region, Kruger National Park 2146, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Outpost 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Outpost lies in the Makuleke Contractual Park, a vast and remote wilderness area bordered to the north by the Limpopo River and Zimbabwe and to the east by Crooks Corner and Mozambique.The Big 5 Makuleke Contractual Park measures some 26 500 hectares and is well known for its abundant wildlife including less common species not evident in the southern and central regions of the park. Apart from large herds of elephant and buffalo, guests will be able to see Nyala, an antelope which is not easily found in the more southern regions of the park, and over 350 recorded bird species. The diverse terrain of the region includes Mopane Woodlands, Fever Tree forests, Acacia thickets as well as some of the largest and oldest Baobab specimens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Odigeo, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Outpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outpost Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing