We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imbali Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imbali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I absolutely loved this place!

The location is awesome, our ranger stephan was incredibly knowledgeable. Our food options were kinda restrictive considering we are vegetarians, but was really good.

The room... well the room was out of this world !! A door which opens to a sun deck with a plunge pool and pool chairs.. all facing the forest with no fences !!

Little things like next day weather forecasts and small cards highlighting a new flora/fauna specious indigenous to the park, really add to the experience.

The entire thrill of walking down a wooden bridge to the room which opens with a huge key and being escorted by a guide because elephants had ventured into the premises a few days ago kinda seems out of a story book.

Looking at elephants, rhino's and lions while eating your meals has no parallel.

Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishabh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for the glowing review. We are delighted that we could help you create memories to last you a life time. I agree, not many people have had the pleasure of having Lion, Elephant and Rhino as dinner guests!! We hope to see you back at our Lodge in future.

The Management Team
Imbali Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    70
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
67
208
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallkill, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

OMG I can't say enough about this place! Beautifully appointed rooms and very clean. The staff is amazing ( I was partial to Winston) and the food is right out of "Gourmet Magazine". Absolutely incredible. Our safari guide, Oscar, was persistent in getting you to see the "big five". He was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Never thought of going to Africa but now I can't wait to be able to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are set up the same in all three of their camps. I can't imagine one being better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear George C

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Oscar went the extra mile to show you the Big 5. Winston is one of our longest serving staff members and quite the character. I will convey your very positive feedback regarding your meals to the kitchen, I’m sure they will truly appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful lodge in future.

Yours in Hospitality
Imbali Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Imbali Safari Lodge was absolutely stunning, the lodge itself it beautiful and each room has its own private pool or jacuzzi. Tired from the drive, we were immediately revitalized by the staff because of their friendliness and enthusiasm. Our ranger Stefan was very knowledegable and was very good in educating us about not only the "big" animals, but also the fauna/flora and birds in the areas. What was so special to me was during dinner, elephants came right up to the pool and watering hole whilst we were eating, it does not get better than this on a safari. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to have a safari experience in the Kruger / Sabi area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy C, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear Tracey
Thank you very much for your glowing review. We were honoured to host you and your family. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience at our lodges in Kruger and that our guide took the time to educate you about nature as a whole, stopping for the smaller, often overlooked animals as well. We hope to welcome you back to our lodges again in future.
Regards
Imbali Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent a few nights here as well as two other private lodges in S. Africa. It is small, so it feels like you have the place to yourself. James, our guide is exceptionally knowledgeable and went out of his way one evening to get close to a lepard that another guide had spotted. He also deftly handled a rude and overbearing family group (from a country east of S. Africa) who virtually demanded he produce a lion and were late to two consecutive game drives by separating them from other guests. He even offered photo suggestions.

Excellent food, beautifully appointed facilities - both the common areas and the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 61GaryL843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy C, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear 61GaryL843

Thank you very much for the great review, we really appreciate it. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed your Safari experience and that your guide made sure to leave you with a memorable experience and lasting memories of our Lodge and Concession. We hope to welcome you back one day.

Regards the Imbali Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had a nice stay at Imbali last month, lovely accommodations & friendly and helpful staff. Our ranger Oscar was phenomenal, going out of his way to make sure we had amazing sightings. However, since returning home, the experience has been nothing short of awful. We realized that we had been double charged for our stay and contacted them to address the error. They replied with no apologies but told us they would look into it.

I wanted to wait until the problem was fixed to write this review, but one month later, the administration still has done nothing to reverse the charges!! Worst of all, they have not been communicative and had no sense of urgency, we have to keep emailing them asking for updates. Finally we contacted our credit card company to handle it from their end.

Get it together Imbali, it's not okay to double charge your patrons, barely maintain a sluggish correspondence, and leave an HUGE problem unresolved. This experience really marred what otherwise would have been a very nice memory. I saw that another reviewer on tripadvisor has had similar issues so they must have a serious problem with their billing process - until they figure it out, choose to stay somewhere else in Kruger.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank eskimo118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at Imbali for two nights and went on 3 safari drives. We enjoyed our stay here and would return. Here are some details and notes of our experiences here.

ROOM
The bed was huge and covered with a mosquito net. There was an open walk in shower with a window you could look out of as well as a bathtub. Rooms came with an assortment of teas, a water heater, and insect repellant (although we didn’t need it). The porch/patio was very large with two lounge chairs (covered) and a hot tub (although touching the water, it wasn’t very hot so we never went in). If you didn’t want to lounge in the heat, you could lie in bed and look out the back wall that was all windows. We had the first room on the left with a view of the “dried” creek. An elephant walked right by, dug a hole to get water, and gave us a personal backyard showing!!! NOTE: you’ll have to get an escort when walking to and from the main area to the rooms at night. The only fence around the camp is to keep elephants and large animals out. A little scary to think a lion can walk through camp, but talking to the staff that had only happened twice in his long tenure there and it seemed like most lodge’s fences were similar.

FOOD
Amazing! All around. Impala filet for dinner and coffee muffins for breakfast were our favorite. Dinner with the driver was also fun!

SPA
We did an after breakfast couple’s massage in the convenience of our room’s back patio. They brought portable massage tables and set them up outside. Fun experience to get a massage with the sounds of nature and little dear-like animals running around.

SAFARI DRIVES
We were in covered vehicles. The roads of this camp were very well kept! We couldn’t go off road, but were able to see lots of animals. Out of the big 5 we saw everything except the leopard. Our favorite was a pride of lions; there were 3 moms and 8 cubs – we were so close! Stefan was our driver and he was great – super passionate and very knowledgeable even on all the 100s of bird species. He also gave us great tips on using our SLR cameras having taken time off work in the past to attend some animal & nature photography courses. NOTE: they do not use a second person/tracker, but they do walkie-talkie with other drivers on animal sightings. They also do not go off the main roads.

CONS
-super slow wifi in the main area. No wifi in rooms. They have a desktop in the office, but wasn’t worth the wait/inconvenience to use.

COMPARISON
We stayed at Imbali and Arathusa, each for two nights. At Imbali we liked the rooms better. At Arathusa, we liked the camp/resort grounds better overlooking the waterhole. Both places had really good food, helpful staff, and exciting drive experiences. Arathusa had a unique dinner braai (grilling). Imbali invited the drivers for dinner every other night. Arathusa was more expensive; it had an actual spa building and looked to be building a new dining area. Arathusa also had better wifi access.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcil008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisha D, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Marciel008

Thank you for your valued comments on Imbali Safari Lodge.

We have taken note of your comments with regards to the Wi-Fi. Our internet connection at the lodge is via satellite and can be affected by weather conditions.
We do go off road on the concession for Big 5 sightings, but only if these sightings are not close to the road. We have a focussed approach to conservation, and will always try and reduce the impact of vehicles on the bush.

Once again thank you very much for your valued comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

After having to leave Kruger Park unexpectedly due to our car breaking down, we decided to treat ourselves to a night at Imbali, after being unable to get accommodation back in Kruger. We had a wonderfully warm welcome from Julius and his team who went out of their way to provide fantastic service throughout our stay. Our ranger, Stefan, deserves special thanks as there was little game around and yet he managed to make our two drives very interesting. We had received notification from our bank that our payment had gone through (both via sms and email, which we printed out for the office) but as this did not show up in their banking (their error as their credit card banking was not up to date) the administrative department asked if they could take a copy of our other credit card which they promised would only be put through if they could not find our initial payment. This was not done with much tact either - we almost got the feeling that we were not being trusted, being constantly badgered during our stay. Within an hour of leaving, I received an sms from the bank notifying us that a second payment had been processed - no phone call, no notification from Imbali. I emailed to ask them to rectify the matter but have not heard anything from them. It will now be up to us, on our return home, to approach our bank to get this second payment reversed. This has ruined what would have been a 5 star review and left us upset and angry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SunnyKZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisha D, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Mrs Bland

Many thanks for your review and our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
We have followed up on the charge and accounts has confirmed that the payment was taken twice. We have requested for a reversal from your bank and the money should have reflected in your account by latest Thursday the 11th of July.

Sincerely
Imbali Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.1 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#53 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
8.5 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.7 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#92 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
14.9 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
153.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#46 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbali Safari Lodge

Property: Imbali Safari Lodge
Address: Imbali Concession | Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Imbali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive lodge within the world-renowned Kruger National Park, Imbali Safari Lodge continues the safari tradition of a bygone era. Each private suite has exquisite views from the spacious wooden decks and private Jacuzzi overlooking the riverbed and the plains beyond. In the 1900's the African Safari was a journey of great danger and even greater luxury.All twelve private suites have either their own private Jacuzzi or plunge pool, large king size beds and a romantic antique-styled bath en-suite, timber walkways, telephones, mosquito nets and air conditioner.Spa treatments available in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, guided safari walks by prior arrangement and self drive in the Kruger National Park. No cell phone reception and limited landlines. Children are welcome, but a minimum age of 6 years is applicable for game drives - at the discretion of management. Maximum of 2 children under 12 years of age may share with parents. Children 5 years and younger stay complimentary when sharing with parents.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Imbali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbali Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing