We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Imbali Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Skukuza Rest Camp(Kruger National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
321
81
24
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
81
24
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolgame driveswater holewatering holehoedspruit airportdry river bedhis jobour honeymoonprivate concessionprivate deckthe rivermain areaother guestskruger experienceoff roadholiday of a lifetimewatching the animals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent a relaxing 7 nights at the beautiful Imbali Lodge for the first part of our honeymoon. I cannot recommend a better place to spend if you are looking for a place to get away from the mad city! Even though you are in the heart of the wilderness, you are surrounded by luxury! There is nothing quite like slipping into a warm jacuzzi with a cocktail, looking out at the glistening riverbed and watching the game passing through it. The food in decadent and you are sure to get a real taste of Africa . The game drives are spectacular and the field guides are all so knowledgable, I highly recommend Stefan! He went out of his way to share his incredible knowledge about the bush with us and his captivating stories will stay forever in our minds... "Ooooo Vrek".

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 a must
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrahrymer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Traveller,

We, at Imbali Lodge, strive for excellence in everything we do and are extremely pleased to learn that your stay was memorable. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your compliment regarding the food and staff. We certainly hope to welcome you back to Imbali Lodge in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
IMBALI MANAGEMENT TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just left the imbali safari lodge after 4 nights and had a wonderful stay at this beautiful lodge. Rooms are stunning with amazing views of the bush. We saw elephant, baboons, giraffe and even a leopard just drinking from the waterhole at the lodge dining area. Our guide Nicholas was brilliant with a great sense of humor and made sure we got to see the big five on our game drives as well as cheetah twice! food was really good and service good. We hope to return to imbali again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneV01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your stay with us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our lodge as well as your guide Nicholas. I will make sure to convey your review to him as well. We hope to welcome you back to Imbali in future.

The Management Team
Imbali Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I absolutely loved this place!

The location is awesome, our ranger stephan was incredibly knowledgeable. Our food options were kinda restrictive considering we are vegetarians, but was really good.

The room... well the room was out of this world !! A door which opens to a sun deck with a plunge pool and pool chairs.. all facing the forest with no fences !!

Little things like next day weather forecasts and small cards highlighting a new flora/fauna specious indigenous to the park, really add to the experience.

The entire thrill of walking down a wooden bridge to the room which opens with a huge key and being escorted by a guide because elephants had ventured into the premises a few days ago kinda seems out of a story book.

Looking at elephants, rhino's and lions while eating your meals has no parallel.

Looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyCoupleRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Traveller

Thank you for the glowing review. We are delighted that we could help you create memories to last you a life time. I agree, not many people have had the pleasure of having Lion, Elephant and Rhino as dinner guests!! We hope to see you back at our Lodge in future.

The Management Team
Imbali Safari Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

OMG I can't say enough about this place! Beautifully appointed rooms and very clean. The staff is amazing ( I was partial to Winston) and the food is right out of "Gourmet Magazine". Absolutely incredible. Our safari guide, Oscar, was persistent in getting you to see the "big five". He was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Never thought of going to Africa but now I can't wait to be able to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are set up the same in all three of their camps. I can't imagine one being better than the other.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear George C

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an amazing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Oscar went the extra mile to show you the Big 5. Winston is one of our longest serving staff members and quite the character. I will convey your very positive feedback regarding your meals to the kitchen, I’m sure they will truly appreciate it. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful lodge in future.

Yours in Hospitality
Imbali Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Imbali Safari Lodge was absolutely stunning, the lodge itself it beautiful and each room has its own private pool or jacuzzi. Tired from the drive, we were immediately revitalized by the staff because of their friendliness and enthusiasm. Our ranger Stefan was very knowledegable and was very good in educating us about not only the "big" animals, but also the fauna/flora and birds in the areas. What was so special to me was during dinner, elephants came right up to the pool and watering hole whilst we were eating, it does not get better than this on a safari. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to have a safari experience in the Kruger / Sabi area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy C, Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Tracey
Thank you very much for your glowing review. We were honoured to host you and your family. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience at our lodges in Kruger and that our guide took the time to educate you about nature as a whole, stopping for the smaller, often overlooked animals as well. We hope to welcome you back to our lodges again in future.
Regards
Imbali Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews