We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Excelent Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imbali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great Location Excelent Service.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A perfect lodge for staying in Krueger. The service was wonderful. The safaris very professionally done with very knowledgeable drivers/guides. Lots of animals (all of the big 5).
Food was fabulous, fusion type. The room was also wonderful with an outdoor Jacuzzi and an indoor tube bath.
Best of all, the staff. Great service and always there to help and service you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kartikmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear kartikmexico,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you had a good stay with us, and that you enjoyed the safaris, great food and excellent service. We hope to welcome you back to Imbali soon.

Regards,
The Imbali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    77
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
76
224
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

One needs to have taste to appreciate the quality of Imbali experience. Trevor and his wife, the owners of this luxurious lodge, are simply exceptional hosts. The two of them went out of their way to receive us at the Orpen gate of Kruger as we had arrived after the gate closing hours. The couple had made the necessary arrangements and were so kind to drive about 45 mins. (one way) to meet us at the gate and escort us to the lodge. We were greeted by a mostly warm but some times slightly unprofessional serving staff. Note that the owners and managers were exceptionally hospitable and professional and constantly went out of their way to make the experience memorable for our three children and for us. In addition to the morning and evening safari, they arranged a special mini safari appropriate for our little one to make sure that he gets a piece of the experience - truly a class act. Imbali has probably some of the best chefs working for them. The lavish meals served at the lodge are simply delectable. The property is very well maintained with high quality furniture all around. Imbali is a great place to relax and luxuriously and peacefully enjoy wilderness. It offers internet to stay connected to the outside world but rightfully no TV. If you are visiting Kruger to watch TV, then your taste is quite different then ours and you may find Imbali a misfit for your taste. Truly, one needs to have the taste to appreciate the hospitality of owners and managers and quality of the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raza1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Raza1234,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday at Imbali Safari Lodge... thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back soon.

With warmest regards,
The Imbali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have just spent a couple of nights at the lodge and cannot praise the team enough for everything. From the hospitality on arrival until the singing and dancing on departure, the service, food, game drives and location is absolutely outstanding. Staff went beyond expectation in making it the most memorable of stays. Should anyone want a bush wedding, there is no better place.This is definitely 5 starin all aspects.

Room Tip: We dont think you will find any rooms better than the others, all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toppie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Toppie2014,

Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to Imbali again soon.

Warmest regards,
The Imbali Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and our cottage wasn't just the cleanest - dusty and floors about the same. The staff was very attentive and the food was good. A couple of nights the staff entertained us with songs. Safari guide Nick was amazing and our rides never disappointed. He actually had dinner with us one night - very knowledgeable young man. Our plunge pool was layered in dirt & dust. Would we go back? No. Big disappointment in that we were to be at Sabi Sands and accommodations got changed 2 days before we left. Someone said this happens quite often in Africa.

Room Tip: No choice as they are individual cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brab2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Brab2b,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed the safaris with Nick, and that the food and staff made your holiday memorable.

We are disappointed to read about the issues you have raised with the dust in the room and the pool. Winter is a dry time of year for us, and we had unseasonal high winds in April which blew the dust all over the lodge. The pools are cleaned on a daily basis, but cannot be emptied every day as we are in a water sensitive area. We are looking at solutions that will not waste water. We have discussed the issue with housekeeping to avoid this problem happening again.

We hope to welcome you back to Imbali Safari Lodge for another holiday.

Regards,
The Imbali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Me and my husband (30 and young ) stayed at Imbali during April 1-4 for 3 nights. We drove from Joberg in our own car and entered Kruger from Paul Kriger Gate. We dint expect the lodge to be reached through 20 kms of unpaved road. It was a bit scary in the evening time to reach the location on a small hatchback car. So , if you plan to drive around on your own( you should !!) , definitely pick an SUV/Jeep or something taller. The bushes around that area are 5 feet tall :) We loved our guide "Andrew" who was introduced to us during the first day dinner time. He is amazingly knowledgeable and friendly guy. We had 2 early morning game drives where we spotted leopard ( one on action on top of a tree , another catching fish near the river area ) , lioness and cubs( 3 lioness and 8 cubs) , hyena, wild dogs, rhino , elephant herds and all the rest animals. The best part was on one of the evening safari on the drive back, Andrew was smart and patient enough to spot a leopard crossing right in front of the road, 2 wild buffalo's..he stopped right there when he spotted 3 lions nearby. It was amazing to watch the 3 lions attack on the buffalo in pitch dark where we could hear the roar stopped right 5 meters besides the scene. The lions walked right around our vehicle when they re-planned their strategic attack and walked towards the rest 8 cubs which were lying just few meters away from the scene. I guess we felt the luckiest here to get Andrew as our guide :) Our room faced the dry land and we missed the river facing room. It was dry yet calm and peaceful to enjoy the tiny plunge pool at the back. The staff is extremely friendly. There were no mosquitoes during our time of stay, yet the room was serviced 2 times every day during our safari drives, Do not miss THURSDAY, as they had an amazing barbecue (lamb, kudo, chicken)and candle light dinner arrangements for everyone outside :) we were surprised with African music and dance by the chef and staff:) IMBALI made our Kruger visit memorable :) Both stay and safari is an unforgettable experience. If you are looking for great game drives and a comfortable stay with good food, we would highly recommend them. Thanks to the team.

Room Tip: Pick one with river view better than a dry forest :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RjWrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear RjWrld,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you had such a fantastic safari experience with us. Andrew is an extraordinary guide, and we will pass your compliments on to him.

We hope to welcome you back to Imbali Safari Lodge soon.

Best regards,
The Imbali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our family of 8 including two girls aged 8 and 12 spent 3 nights at this lodge in South Africa and were blown away by the quality of service and the enthusiasm of the staff. Special kudos to game drive guides John and Andrew, and servers Winston and Baldwin who went out of their way to make our visit memorable. We enjoyed massages from Larado along with her smiling face at the dining room. We saw ALL the "big five" in the first 24 hours at the lodge. When we arrived, John, met us in the driveway exclaiming, "jump in the truck, there is a leopard just outside the gate! I've been waiting for you to arrive to show you and there is also a pride of female lions walking on the road just a mile from here"!!! On THAT particular sunset drive, we also came upon three hyenas eating the remains of a wildebeest. Imbali has just 12 units so is intimate and quiet. All meals and Two game drives per day are included with your stay.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a "river view" as some baboons and impala come to the river for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Micki D,

Thank you for your positive review. Your feedback has been passed on to the team who are so glad that they made your safari memorable. We are delighted that you had a great holiday with us, and we hope to welcome you and your family back to Imbali soon.

Regards,
The Imbali team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My sister & I visited in Feb 2014. It was just awesome, from the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a great host, Julian. He was so friendly but professional as well. The rooms at Imbali at really great. I loved the fact that we had our own plunge pool. We over looked a dry riverbed, very peaceful. The layout of the room was perfect, lovely bathrooms, beds were so comfy. I give 10 stars to the chef, the food was really good, quite a wide variety of dishes.
Our game ranger really went out of his way to ensure we had a good sightings. We saw the Big 5 on the 1st day we were there. A lot of other lodges I have been to have a "schedule" laid out for there guests during the day. At Imbali you get to really relax and do exactly what you want to do, be it taking a self-drive in the Kruger or just lazing around the pool at your own room. The only thing I can complain about is that we never got to stay longer. I will definitely return to this amazing lodge. I highly recommend it when looking for a lodge to visit in the Kruger.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Lindy L,

Thank you for your lovely review. Your kind words are much appreciated and have been shared with the team.

We are delighted that you and your sister had such a wonderful experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back to Imbali Safari Lodge soon.

Regards,
The Imbali Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#56 of 174 in Kruger National Park
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#46 of 174 in Kruger National Park
313 reviews
58.7 mi away
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Shishangeni Private Lodge
#87 of 174 in Kruger National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
9.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
153.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#52 of 174 in Kruger National Park
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imbali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imbali Safari Lodge

Property: Imbali Safari Lodge
Address: Imbali Concession | Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Imbali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive lodge within the world-renowned Kruger National Park, Imbali Safari Lodge continues the safari tradition of a bygone era. Each private suite has exquisite views from the spacious wooden decks and private Jacuzzi overlooking the riverbed and the plains beyond. In the 1900's the African Safari was a journey of great danger and even greater luxury.All twelve private suites have either their own private Jacuzzi or plunge pool, large king size beds and a romantic antique-styled bath en-suite, timber walkways, telephones, mosquito nets and air conditioner.Spa treatments available in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, guided safari walks by prior arrangement and self drive in the Kruger National Park. No cell phone reception and limited landlines. Children are welcome, but a minimum age of 6 years is applicable for game drives - at the discretion of management. Maximum of 2 children under 12 years of age may share with parents. Children 5 years and younger stay complimentary when sharing with parents.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Imbali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imbali Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing