We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here. Stay here now. Stop looking. You have found your hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here. Stay here now. Stop looking. You have found your hotel.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We just returned from five nights at the Hoyo Hoyo Tsonga Lodge. Hoyo Hoyo means "welcome" in the Tsonga language, and welcome we felt.

The food was excellent, with a variety of options for breakfast, lunch, high tea, and dinner. We almost ate a little TOO well.

I'm a bit surprised by the review of the Israelis below, as we saw EVERYTHING on the game drives the very next week (Sept 29 - Oct 5). All of the Big 5 (in just one drive!), plus about 11,000 other amazing creatures. Much of this is owed to the keen eye of our super-high-quality guide, a gentleman by the name of Twice. It was a bit like touring the wilds of Africa with your favorite college professor; he was both highly knowledgable and entertaining. We plan to return to Hoyo Hoyo in 2015 specifically because of him.

The huts were excellent, large, and well-appointed. The decks were lovely - we saw plenty of elephants, kudus, and bushbucks just off of ours. The outdoor shower was a little chilly, but the water was hot and it was actually a fun experience. Also, this is not a fenced in camp. It is not an artificial experience. You are outside with the animals. Thankfully, there are escorts to take you to and from your hut after dark and it never felt dangerous.

Overall, this is a five star property and worth the spend. Stop looking. Stay here. You have found your place in Kruger Park.

Worthy of note: We are a gay couple, and that was not an issue. We were treated with absolute respect throughout our stay at the Hoyo Hoyo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you so much for the excellent review of Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge. I am delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and had a very successful Safari. I will pass on your kind words to all at the Lodge and we would be delighted to welcome you back in future.

The Management Team
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    48
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
188
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We just came back from our holidays in south Africa. hoyo hoyo Tsonga lodge is a very nice lodge with amazing Staff that make sure that we were well taken care of and comfortable.
The Room and Bathroom are beautiful, huge and clean and the beds were beautifully decorated each night.
The Food was absolutely great with large selection and variety.
The game drives were less that we expected although the ranger was excellent it seems that most of the animals in this side of the park disappeared in compare to the lodges that are close to Kruger Gate
Bottom line, the Lodge is Excellent the service is outstanding but the game drive are poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicaVini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a memorable time in the bush. We were all surprised by the terrible weather we experienced in the month of September with extreme cold and wind. Unfortunately the adverse weather had a negative effect on game viewing but it was only temporary. The area of the Park that we operate in is actually very well known for the high predator density as well as abundance of general game.

Yours in hospitality,
HOYO HOYO SAFARI LODGE MANAGEMENT TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we love this hotel so much, reasonable price with good service.
only unsatisfied about the game drive, they asked us wake up at 5:00am, (usually is 6:00am), because they are sharing the car with the " Imbali lodge" which is another hotel guests. i can understand both of them under same hotel group, but which we are not happy to spend 1 hour trip to pick the other guests up which they told me "5 mins only", if you know just mins you won't ask us wake up one hour earlier.(we having the tea and coffee for 5 mins only.)

why cant they just provide one more car ? why all the hotel guests have to squeeze, all the car have 8-9 pax. Such a big hotel group(owned Hamilton and imbali and hoyo hoyo) just wanna save that small money?
anyway,hoyo hoyo still an attractive hotel for us,rather than the hamilton or imbali, they are too modern.

we stay in another private reserve, same price, they were also fully booked, but what they arranged is : each car only 4 to 6 pax for a 9 seater.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ch_Den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We appreciate all feedback received from our guests and endeavour to implement suggestions wherever possible. Unfortunately, one of our guides fell ill during the previous afternoon’s safari which necessitated the sharing of a vehicle and guide on the morning in question. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this situation may have caused. We are, however, glad to learn that you really loved Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge and enjoyed your time with us.

The Management Team
Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I don't really want to knock the place, because it is beautiful, and of course the Kruger is beautiful. The staff were generally very friendly. I would prefer seeing female staff working in front of customers alongside the men, not just in the kitchen, but that may be a local thing. Overall, we had a pleasant stay, but it was almost too nice. We had just come from a more rustic safari place, which I much preferred (and I'm not crunchy, but that just seemed more "right" out in the bush). So again, the accommodations were beautiful, and the staff was nice. However, after our much more natural place, this seemed a little out of place. What else seemed out of place about it? The elephants that magically showed up to drink water right outside the lodge, under the bright fluorescent lights? Yeah, that. Not a fan. People loved it, and I admit, I was mesmerized, but I can go to a zoo. I go to Kruger to see them in the wild, not seemingly coaxed to this area. I also really did not like the safari drives. The guides we had were not informative at all, and they constantly raced from one place to another in an attempt to show us the Big 5. I know lots of tourists want to check off the list, but this rat race was just stressful. Our other place was much more along our lines of thinking, which was "look, maybe we'll see something, but if we don't, we won't go crazy. Nonetheless, we're probably going to see something." And we did. At Hoyo Hoyo, it was just this interminable drive without much instruction or information. We were disappointed. Also, i really didn't like that the driver or guide did not keep our group quiet. Fellow tourists on our vehicle were LOUD, and they took FLASH PICTURES. It was beyond annoying. We are in the bush, and they wouldn't shut up. I expect the guides to stop that because we are to be respectful of nature.

Anyhow, the place was nice, but given the much warmer feeling we had at our previous safari (and other lodge before that) and our lodge after it, I have to give them a lower rating. It just could've been better if the safari were much better, more educational, and less like an amusement ride.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seawall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on our lodge in the Kruger National Park – Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We appreciate your feedback and would like to assure you that we value constructive criticism immensely and are fully committed to analysing each comment and, where we find reason, to implement the necessary changes or improvements. Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge prides itself in offering guests a luxurious experience and we certainly do not advertise ourselves as rustic nor is it ever our intention to do so. Perhaps the comparison with a more rustic venue is therefore not entirely appropriate. Regarding the waterhole and the elephant sighting you were fortunate enough to experience – I must explain to you that as a Kruger Concession we follow extremely exact rules and regulations with regards the siting of water anywhere on the concession. An in-depth environmental impact assessment was done prior to the development of this Lodge including the careful considerations by the Department of Environmental Affairs and the Department of Water Affairs. These entirely wild elephant herds often use this waterhole to quench their thirst and I can emphatically state that they are not coaxed in any way other than by the obvious requirement for water. We value these visits as it creates a perfect opportunity to sit quietly in the safety and comfort of the Lodge whilst observing the elephants. Regarding the noisy guests on your vehicle – we do apologise for this inconvenience – it is sometimes difficult to inhibit the guests from speaking and whilst I am certain the guide would insist on silence in a sensitive sighting, unfortunately one of the uncontrollable aspects in safari operations is the reaction and behaviour of our guests. Should you have requested to be changed to another vehicle with less noisy guests I am certain this may have been accommodated. Lastly we understand that guides try their utmost to deliver excellent sightings of as much wildlife including the Big 5 as possible, should this have caused you dissatisfaction we apologise and can only point out that each drive is unique with different potential sightings and as such the guides will try to accommodate everyone on the vehicle. Private safaris are a great way of ensuring that you have the ability to take a drive at your own pace, and I would suggest that you consider this as an option for future visits. Again I am pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful staff and the majority of our services at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge.

The Management Team
Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Afrique du Sud
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Not a bad experience but nothing to recommend.
The camp was run without manager during our stay. We add 1 nice person in charge of welcoming us, informing on the places, explaining the programme, serving the meals & fixing the rooms. Nice person looking to please us but not having neither the experience, the knowledge & the authority to carry all these roles.
Our ranger was as well a very nice person but apparently got more pressure to leave on time, to stop on time for the sundowner & get back at 7H00pm sharp rather than looking for animals or explaining anything. We have done a Drive in the Kruger National park that's it.

In 1 word, the Lodge was left to 3 employees (the staff sticks to the rules & procedures). No vibe, no atmosphere, nobody could even told us since how long the lodge exists, to whom it belongs, etc etc. We asked for a fire outside & were told that there was already 2 fires inside so consequently they were not allowed to make another one...
Last detail, rooms ok but not as per the standard expected. Lights are not strong enough, no shower inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vuestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeanne d, Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your valued comments.

Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge is managed by a Management Couple, with a team of butlers, chefs, rangers and a housekeeper. Most of our team have been at Hoyo Hoyo for longer than 5 years and their focus is on the operational management of the lodge.

Unfortunately August is one of the driest months in the Kruger National Park. As a result of the dry conditions and the possibility of strong winds, Kruger National Park management requested that no outdoor fires be lit. This is the reason why management only lit fires within the lodge.

The outside showers add to the ambience and safari experience at Hoyo Hoyo. We have taken note of your comment regarding the lighting.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Hoyo Hoyo - welcome in Tsonga, it is exactly how you feel when you arrive.
We were greeted with much excitement by Roger and Wonderboy. Friendly and efficient.
We stayed for 4 Nights, and I can't wait to visit this place again.

Rooms/Bathroom: Beds were huge. Rooms were clean and beds were beautifully decorated each night. With a turn down service. Beds were comfortable and I had a good nights sleep every night. Aircon - which serves as a heater in winter, worked perfectly. Bathroom - spacious, lovely toiletries and towels and gowns (bathrobe). The outdoor shower, was an amazing experience. Even though it was freezing at night, I really enjoyed the shower.

Food: What can I say. It was absolutely great. Breakfast was buffet and cooked. Buffet included cereal, cold meats, cheeses and muffins, fresh fruits and yoghurts. Cooked breakfast - English breakfast.
Lunch - although not a big selection, it was enough to fill the gaps. Bread rolls, salad, fruit, fish and meatballs. With dessert.
Afternoon tea - served just before the afternoon game drive. Among the things served, cake and quiche, mini pizza
Supper - we had a different menu every night. 3 Course meal - with two options for each course
And it was all delicious.

Game drives: Morning drives start at 6am in winter, with a 5:30 wake up call. It was such a nice experience. Very cold but they give you blankets and a poncho (but take extras). The evening game drive starts at 4pm in winter.
Our driver Selani, was such a friendly chap, and did a wonderful job
Coffee and tea is served on the morning drive, with rusks.
Drinks and biltong, dried fruit are served on the afternoon drives

Service: The staff are just amazing. Nicholas and Given are the "waiters" and really go the extra mile.
Wonderboy is the night watchman. A friendly and jovial person. Always laughing
Behind the scenes - Lizzie and Goodness the chefs. Really prepared the food perfectly
The cleaning staff did an amazing job
And then the Manager - Roger, he was very professional but so friendly at the same time

There is a plunge pool on the deck at the main building
And a watering hole at the main building, we saw a herd of elephant drinking everyday

Overall I cannot recommend this place highly enough.
If you ever get the chance to go there should be no doubt as to choosing Hoyo Hoyo

Loved this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingleKzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisha D, Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Traveller.

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We strive to give every guests visiting our lodge a once in a lifetime experience while staying with us. I must agree with you that the team at Hoyo is doing a stellar job at helping our guests to create memories to last a lifetime. I’ll convey your comments onto the team at Hoyo. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If only real life could emulate the environment created Hoyo Hoyo. Rogers and his staff have created an oasis within the dense South African bush. The time at Hoyo Hoyo, while very upscale is far from sedentary. The days are full. A sample itinerary is (1) wake at 5:00 to prepare to leave on the morning safari at 6, but arrive at the main building a little early to enjoy re-breakfast, (2) morning safari from 6 until between 9-10, (3) breakfast, (4) lunch around 11:30, (5) take a quick nap, (6) around 3:30 you head back to the main building for afternoon tea, (7) at 4 leave for the afternoon drive, (8) return from the game drive around 7, (9) eat dinner, (10) head back to your room around 9 or 10 to pass out. The experience, at least with regard to South African game viewing accommodations, is second to none. The staff is warm and welcoming, especially with teens. There is a nice variety of food and it is a high quality. The game driver(s) (we were blessed to have Salani) is knowledgeable and has a noticeable love for what he does. There are no guarantees, but your guide will make every effort within his arsenal to show you the Big 5, and many other interesting African animals along the way.

Hoyo hoyo means "welcome" in Tsongan, and that is exactly what you are when you stay here - welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#49 of 174 in Kruger National Park
305 reviews
2.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#63 of 174 in Kruger National Park
388 reviews
9.3 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
304 reviews
152.6 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 174 in Kruger National Park
146 reviews
18.6 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Property: Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Address: PO Box 196, Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the Mluwati River, in the Kruger National Park, this unique lodge boasts a breath-taking blend of ethnic luxury, encompassing both warmth and style. Hoyo Yoyo Safari Lodge offers an intimate atmosphere with only six luxury African suites, each with king sized bed, en-suite stone bathrooms, outdoor shower and private game viewing decks.All 6 traditional African suites are air-conditioned and have en-suite bathrooms with antique baths and outside shower. Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room.Welcome drinks on arrival, butler service, spa treatments in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park, guided safari walks by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per stay.Rates indicated are per person sharing per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyo-Hoyo Tsonga Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing