We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Merstham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A superb destination”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was a special trip to celebrate a significant birthday. From beginning to end of our three day stay the staff, accommodation, food and total experience were beyond expectations. In particular, we enjoyed the game drives with Stefan (saw all of the Big 5) and walks with John (up close and personal with elephants at a pan - with a disgruntled and frustrated warthog waiting his turn at the edge). Also, the staff arranged a surprise romantic dinner for my wife's birthday. We will be going again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: There are only six tents, each of which is secluded, so any will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Peter v,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you had a great stay with us, and that we made your wife's special birthday so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hamiltons soon!

Regards,
The Hamiltons team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    19
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
178
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at hamiltons tented camp in June. What an amazing experience. Firstly the setting is beautiful right next to the river. You will have all your meals overlooking the beautiful river and immediately makes you feel relaxed. A big thank you to Ben and his team for making our stay unforgettable. They really went out of their way to make us feel special during the stay
Another big thank you to Adi our game ranger who made all the game drives an absolute pleasure, his knowledge added to the experience and was a huge highlight. The game viewing is unrivaled and you almost can touch the animals you are so close.all the game rangers in the area work together to provide the guests with the best game viewing possible. We even tracked down male lions one night thanks to the game rangers at another lodge. If you are looking to see the big 5 look no further then hamiltons

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Scott B,

Thank you for such a great review! We are delighted that you had a wonderful safari holiday with us and we hope to welcome you back to Hamiltons again soon.

Regards,
The Hamiltons team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at Hamiltons. What an experience! The setting is idyllic, the food was excellent and the service was better than anything we have ever experienced at hotels or lodges. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My husband celebrated his 70th birthday during our stay and we could not have asked for anything better. We had a private meal on our deck, a cake was provided and the luxury tent scattered with rose petals and the staff even sang to him. Without exception, each and every staff member, under the leadership of Harold, was helpful, exceptionally polite and personable.

Our Game Ranger, Adie, was very knowledgeable, a mine of information and went out of his way to make sure we had wonderful sightings - even to seeing a leopard in a tree with its kill on the night of my husband's birthday.

All in all a memorable stay, never to be forgotten and we can't wait for another excuse to spend time at Hamilton's. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

Jeanette Peasley

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Jeanette,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you had such a memorable stay with us! We will pass your message on to the team, as it's always so encouraging to hear that we are delighting our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hamiltons Tented Camp soon.

Best regards,
The Hamiltons Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a 3 night stay at Hamiltons. What a great time!!! From the moment we got there till we left we were pampered. Great privacy. great food....watch the intake. We got option on what we wanted to eat and were pleasantly surprised at the great quality.
wonderful game drives with an experienced guide. Amazing Rhino and Heyna encounters.
The view from the tent was great and dont forget to take abath overlooking the river. you might see the Hippo going by.

Room Tip: Give yourself enough time to get to Hamiltons. Yje Kruger National Park have lots of surprises and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovedtheisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear lovedtheisland,

Thank you for your review... we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon for another safari holiday.

Regards,
The Hamiltons team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had a wonderful two night/three day trip to Hamiltons.

The camp itself is really fun with its colonial theme; the pool area was lovely (although the weather was too hot to sit out long); the individual tented villas/chalets are fantastic - spacious, clean, excellent amenities. We loved them, it felt really private yet secure.

The safaris were fantastic - we were lucky and saw everything we wanted to but even on trips where there wasn't a lot to see in terms of big game the guides were brilliant at pointing out other interesting plants, telling us the history of the area etc.

The food & service is probably the only area that isnt perfect - but the food in the rest of south Africa is amazing and this is a remote destination. It isnt that it is bad - just that it is in keeping with the theme so felt a bit more dated than typical modern food.

As others had commented some of the service style is a bit random - with the "stories" told by the staff. Not really to our taste but didn't detract from our experience.

I was almost put off from going here because of some of the mixed reviews of the food and am really really pleased I didn't. We had a stand out time here and ate plenty of amazing food elsewhere in south africa!

Room Tip: Nobody seemed to have any complaints about their rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haeadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Haeadie,

Thank you for your lovely comments about Hamiltons Tented Camp. We are so glad that you enjoyed the ambience of the camp, and the game drives. We hope to welcome you back to South Africa (and the Kruger National Park) soon!

Regards,
The Hamiltons team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I just spent three nights and four days in this jewel by the river in Kruger National Park. It was an "Out of Africa" experience with exquisite decor and impeccable service from a staff that was both formal and extremely warm and friendly. The game drives with John were a treat twice each day. We saw the Big Five, and John was eager to show us even more (to the point of tearing down the road our last morning, so we could observe a rare sighting of African Wild Dogs and finding a chameleon in a distant tree during one of our night drives and bringing it to the Land Cruiser for us to observe and hold). The tented cabins are luxuriously appointed with big 4-poster beds under soft white mosquito netting, a deck with views of the river (and an elephant who visited to chomp on the trees right off the railing). On our anniversary day, Chef Abel made a special cake, which was presented by the staff who sang and danced their way to our table. That night, a special message was spelled out in leaves on our bed. "ALL THE BEST" was written in leaves surrounded with flower petals. What a special place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Shelley H,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you had such good game sightings with John! We hope to welcome you back to Hamiltons again soon.

Regards,
The Hamiltons team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This really takes you back to the colonial safari. While I am not pro the colonial era, being papered and spoilt is nice every now and then. It is quite a long drive from Johannesburg but at the same time to get to see so much of our beautiful land. If you can drive there, it gives you an opportunity to also have a game drive on the way to the lodge. It is important to remember that you will not always see all the wild animals that you might be hoping to see. The food was absolutely fabulous. The rooms are stunning. Rooms 1 and 2 are the most popular and sought after. We were in room no 4 and it was great. We could hear the hippos in the river next to our room. There were buck that can right to our room and it was lively to see them so close. The rooms do lack a fridge. I felt that if there was a fridge, it would have been just that little bit better. Saying that, refreshments were literally a call away and were brought promptly. The rooms are very spacious, clean good quality linen and the bath and shower were stunning. All the extras you can think of in a bathroom are there for you. Each room has a private deck with chairs set out for you every day. The manager and staff were beyond amazing. We stayed for 3 nights but in just that short time, you feel like you are at home and with family. Ronny will give you short stories to entertain you so ask for one! There is no cellphone reception at all so you are forced to relax so make sure you have your book or kindle to read. It is very quiet and tranquil there - I would go back in a heartbeat! When we paid our bill, we were given a picture that they had taken of us on our holiday there and that was one of the nicest touches. I get a very warm feeling when I think of Hamiltons. This lodge is fit for royalty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBucceri, Marketing representative at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Tracy M,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really enjoyed having you there, and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
The Hamiltons team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#46 of 171 in Kruger National Park
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#61 of 171 in Kruger National Park
383 reviews
8.4 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
384 reviews
153.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
153.4 mi away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#30 of 171 in Kruger National Park
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Property: Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Address: Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after Colonel Stephenson Hamilton, who was instrumental in establishing the world famous Kruger National Park, Hamilton's Tented Camp reflects a safari adventure of the early twentieth century, where grace and style were the epitome of luxurious living. Historically themed along the lines of a big game hunter’s camp encompassing the bygone era of the early 1900’s, Hamiltons Tented Camp allows indulgence in pure luxury, combined with the sounds and smells of the African bush. Six magnificent canvas tents, complete with teak floorboards, dreamy mosquito nets and a superb view of the seasonal river, are linked to the main lodge area by raised timber walkways amongst ancient Jackalberry trees. Uncompromising elegance and breathtaking beauty identifies Hamiltons Tented Camp with open tented lounge, butler service and personalised cuisine.All tented suites have a romantic slipper bath and outdoor shower overlooking the Ngwenyeni Dam, private veranda, air conditioning and an intercom service.Spa treatments are available in the privacy of your room. Safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park and guided safari walks by prior arrangement.Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room. The camp is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and charged per person per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing