We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place in the bush”
Review of Berg-en-Dal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berg-en-Dal
Reviewed 21 March 2013

A lovely lodge to stay in with a nice braai (bbq) facility and very comfortable beds. A refreshing swim in the pool is a real treat and there is a shop nearby for all your basics.
At night the stars are so bright and you can hear the sounds of the animals not far away.
Just a shame some of the neighbours don't appreciate the sounds of nature as much.
All in all a great stopover while visiting the Kruger Park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelBee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a nice bungalow near the camp fence. The room was clean, reasonably well appointed with a nice atmosphere. We went on a fantastic morning walk with 2 great guides. Walked near hyena, buffalo, zebra and impala. Saw rhino and lion footsteps - quite a unique experience. In the evening went on a nice game drive, saw elephant, rhinos, impala and giraffe before dusk, then switched on the searchlights and saw elephant, kudu, impala, hippos, owls, hares, snakes... Also saw lots of animals during self drives in the southern area, basically covering almost everything but the cats, which eluded us.
The main downside was the restaurant, slow service and poor quality. Definitely a recommended way to see animals in Kruger

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Opher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 2 toddler children. The bungalows are huge and are fully self contained making it easy to prepare meals with children. The pool is great and there is also a small rhino exhibition near reception that was very interesting. It was a very comfortable stay at this rest camp and wish we had of stayed here more than one night rather than at Skukuza. The staff were all very friendly.

This is definately the place to stay at if you are travelling with children and we also saw rhino and lions close by to the camp.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 321catherinem12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was our 1st stop at Kruger Park on our 4 night Self-Drive Safari in a rented Caravan Camper. We were very impressed with Sans Parks overall level of cleanliness, organization, maintenance & customer service (except it took 10 weeks to get our Wild Card). The camp has communal showers, bathtubs & toilets which are in good working order & clean. Additionally the communal kitchen facilities are an added feature that we do not enjoy in Canadian Provincial Parks. Furthermore each camp site has a water & electrical supply.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Berg-en-dal is a campsite near the Malalane Gate. It is a red brick, fairly new campsite with clean, adequate cottages. We stayed in a two bedroom unit near the centre. There was air conditioning in both bedrooms but the living area was not air conditioned. Hence, the people sleeping in the two spare beds in the living area could have a hot and uncomfortable night!

The braai (BBQ) area was good and we were delighted to be joined by a spotted genet, no doubt used to receiving the odd scrap of left over meat from the braai! He was truly beautiful and we have many photos of the little creature to remember him by.

We thought the facilities were good, although we did not try the restaurant. There were a few missing touches in the cottage, such as a salt pot (who ever remembers one!) and would have appreciated a washing up brush or cloth. The kitchen utensils were pretty basic, but otherwise, we were pleased with our stay there and recommend it for those of you who like to cook for yourself but want a clean, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nicola v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed three nights and the accommodation we had was more than adequate. The only criticism was there was no shade on the outside area which was huge but too hot to sit in the sun without some shade. Was a little odd entering the unit through a bedroom but added to the quirkiness of the unit. We saw 4 of the big five on our self drive but disappointing with the restcamp game drive but this is Africa and the animals are hanging around waiting for tourists to appear. We were fortunate on our own drives to see leopard and lion. WE didn't come to Kruger for the accommodation but for th wild life so the camp was acceptable fo rour needs. Food not good though!

Room Tip: Try and get a unit witth shade so you can enjoy the sunshine
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank diana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed a 3 sleeper permiter chalet. The accommodation is very rustic with basic ameneties. No oven or microwave. The aircon worked well thank goodness as the tempretures were well above 35 degrees C.

Although very clean, I could definately see that there is some deterioration in the accomodation standards since our visit in April 2012. It just feels 'unloved'. The bed bases have no covers, the curtains hang from a few hooks and dont close properly a blanket had a stain on. Our rubbish bin in the kitchen had not been emptied and contained dirty diapers from the previous occupants.

The accommodation is over priced for what you get ...

The restuarant's food quality varies from okay to poor and is quite expensive for what you get. Best advice is to take and prepare your own.

Room Tip: Pay the additional for a perimiter chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linmic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#68 of 176 in Kruger National Park
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#81 of 176 in Kruger National Park
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Makumu Private Game Lodge
Makumu Private Game Lodge
#11 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berg-en-Dal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg-en-Dal

Address: Malelane Gate | Southern Kruger, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £60 - £954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berg-en-Dal 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Berg-En-Dal Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing