We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and over priced”
Review of Berg-en-Dal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berg-en-Dal
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Family of 6 stayed in a chalet for 7 nights. The location is fantastic if you are flying into Nelspruit. Doing the Berg-en-dal, Lower Sabie, Skukuza ring is probably best for game viewing. The accommodation is not up to standard. Camp facilities for young children are lacking. There is a large pool and small jungle gym at Berg-en-Dal. I'd rather stay in a private game lodge and do day visitor trips into KNP next time. First visit ever to KNP and disappointed with the camps.
Please note - No TV, poor cellphone reception, poor data connection, No Wifi

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed one night at Berg-en-Dal rest came (Bungalow BA3U). Great way to start the holiday. First night in Kruger National Park. The bungalow was cosy and had all that we required for self-catering. Ensure you have private amenities. Makes the stay much nice.

Check in staff were fabulous and they ensured our friends were in a bungalow near by.

Make sure you get yourself a Wild Card Pass (available for international visitors) as this saves you having to pay each day to stay in the park. You can use this card in all places in Kruger and other parks. Worth purchasing before hand.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We enjoyed the camp for the 2 days we spent here. The wildlife experience was exceptional and the facilities fine. The location was a perfect launch spot for our wildlife drives. Great location, comfortable lodgings, excellent stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AlexGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The perfect location for exiting the park.

The chalets are great, and the best part is that each is fairly private. Your neighbour is not within earshot.

Loved the game drive and the guide was by far the best we've experienced in Kruger. He knew his stuff and was very obliging when it came to questions.

Definitely one of the better camps in the park!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Minxund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here because we had a long drive to the park and needed to get to the cottages before the gates closed. We weren't disappointed - we had a two bed chalet and it was comfortable, private and had everything we needed. The restaurant has good food and the shop is adequately stocked for necessities. Staff all round were friendly and helpful. didn't see much game at the little dam but it might not have been the best time of the year. I would stay here again but if I had more time, I would go further north into the park as there is more game up there

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Can highly recommend the Bushman Wilderness Trail starting from the Berg-en-Dal rest camp.
Fantastic hiking experience, knowledgable guidance from the rangers, comfortable and pleasant accomodation and last but not least good food. A must do!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G2_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was my first return to Kruger in 14 years. I have undertaken contract work in Southern Africa for twenty five years and my wife has so much wanted to go out on safari. So we went! Flew into Jo'Burg and drove, unlikely to do it again, forgot I was getting old. The trip is fine, 420 kilometres, stop at Milly's for eats - see other review, call at Woolworths in Nielsprut for essentials and then onwards with sixty kls to go and the road dug up for twenty kilometres. Took two hours to get to the gate, arrived two minutes late, but thankfully, having rung ahead, they allowed us to go in. In the dark did not have much of an impression, torch in suitcase - stupid me. Shop well stocked, reception great in and out in minutes. Found the accommodation with no problem and in. Clean, clean bathroom, kitchen utensils OK but an odd assortment. However, having been before, I made sure we had what was essential. So, the following morning we had a look around. Berg en Dal is the most recently built camp in the Kruger. The cottages are brick built and unlike much of the rest camps in the Kruger are not round. The kitchen's are inside and the Braai is outside. As we came to Braai for the first part of the trip, we did not use the restaurant, so cannot really comment - Kruger is updating its restaurant outlets, Mugg and Bean are brilliant - see other reviews. The camp is 15kls from Melanane gate. There is a major population of game in the south, including lots of Rhino. The Big Five are there plus Wild Dogs and the usual predators - Jackal and Hyena. This is a good place to start a trip, but please remember this is Africa, it is a National Park - probably the best in the world - and you are a welcomed visitor. It is not Five Star accommodation supported by Michelin Starred Food that is the deal, remember that, and you will enjoy - this from someone who has slept in the open air under a mosquito net in the bush in Southern Zimbabwe - so actually, for me Kruger accommodation is splendid. So two nights in Berg en Dal and then onto Letaba - see review.

Room Tip: Perimeter rooms are good. Choose one with a kitchen and not shared cooking facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pick1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#67 of 176 in Kruger National Park
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#81 of 176 in Kruger National Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berg-en-Dal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg-en-Dal

Address: Malelane Gate | Southern Kruger, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 176 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £60 - £1,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Berg-en-Dal 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Also Known As:
Berg-En-Dal Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing