We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience of life”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Singita Lebombo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Until now the Travel of my life. the best staff , the best location, the best experience, the best safaris, the best lodge.
Everythings tops.
Unforgetable the stars, the cocktails at sunset and the dinner at the jungle.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CORMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

After quite a few safaris in various sports of the world I really did not think it possible to dazzle me. I was wrong.

From the moment of arrival, met at the airstrip with refreshments and a guide to take us to the lodge (that part goes with all Singitas and most lodges) to arrival at the lodge welcomes with a drink, moist towels and a very detailed and helpful briefing on what to expect in addition to a interview about all our preferences. We are quite demanding of our culinary preferences and Singita Lebombo met our requests accurately and graciously (that cannot be said of all Singita nor most other lodges although they all purport to do so).

Our guide and tracker were gracious, helpful and extremely knowledgable. Both were denizens of the bush themselves and their abilities were outstanding, as were there constant explanations of everything happening. Both were enthusiastic and determined to help us experience whet we were most interested in. We love to walk, so we had walks on each of our twice-daily safaris. It was exhausting, because they both would keep going to find special things (a hidden European Swallow nest with three eggs inside, a rhinoceros heading to water at dusk, three cheetah on a hunt, on and on). Each trip went to different places, which provided distinct and unique perspectives on the area. The lodge benefits by being one of the most remote, which also means wildlife is less predictable than happens in the older lodges (Sabi Sands lodges, for example) that have wildlife habituated to humans, thus with much more accessible views. That has it's own pleasure, but Lebombo far exceeds them in the thrilling reality of the experience.

The food was simply outstanding, as was the wine selection and every other aspect of our stay. They do laundry during the day and return it in time for evening, so there is no need to carry much clothing.

For the first time in our lives we completely forgot that we were meant to leave and ended out in a rush to be ready. This was one of the best travel experiences of our lives. We will return! It seems grotesquely expensive but it is worth every penny.

Room Tip: My favourite is Room #5 which is the furthest away from the lodge, as well as a five minute walk and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbcarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The setting in the bush is lovely. Although the Lodge is VERY high end, it doesn't overwhelm its surroundings. Our room was beautiful with a lovely sitting area, very nice dressing area, indoor and outdoor shower and a delightful deck overlooking the river. My son slept outside one night, under mosquito netting, and said he loved it. He started outside the next night but rain around 1am forced him inside. The guide/spotter and drives were all perfect. We were constantly amazed at their ability to 'find' the less visible animals like cheetahs. And, the food and service. . .I can only say it was just perfect. All in all to say I loved it would be an understatement.

Room Tip: We were in #15 and while it is a long walk to the lodge, we loved its location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Even though Lebombo is located in Krueger Park it is a private concession that affords guests a unique experience inside one of the worlds largest reserves. The concession consists of only (15) private villas and has all of the amenities you could possibly imagine. The cuisine was amazing and a day at the spa is not to be missed. Singita has a reputation of providing 5 star service in unique surroundings and Lebombo certainly hold true to this promise of luxury & impeccable service!

Room Tip: We stayed in villa four, which had perhaps the best view of the river. Keep in mind that villa five...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

“World’s Best Hotel” would be an understatement for Singita Lebombo! Singita Lebombo is an unforgettable property which provides an out of this world, magical experience for its guests. We stayed at the luxurious lodge for four nights during our honeymoon and our time in Lebombo will forever remain in our hearts. The staff is as unbelievable as they come. Every wish and desire is their pleasure to accommodate. The service is top notch and there’s nothing that’s too difficult to provide for their guests. The cliffside suites are stunning!!! Singita lebombo is one of the most exclusive lodges in all of Kruger National Park. We stayed in Suite 5, which was the furthest away from the main area (we requested this room ahead of time through our friends at JG Blackbook), and it did not disappoint! It had unobstructed panoramic views of the N’wanesi River and we absolutely loved the seclusion. We even saw a live kill from our balcony!

The game drives, walking safaris and a bike ride in the bush with our ranger were extraordinary. We had the most unbelievable night’s sleep outside on our balcony where the Singita staff set up the bed with a mosquito net, where we slept under the stars and to the sounds of the wildlife. The lodge’s pool is super luxurious overlooking the bush below. The staff even set up lunch in the pool – complete with fabulous bottles of wine (the beauty of a 5 star all-inclusive) – on one of the hotter days. The spa is super relaxing (we each did a treatment a day) and my husband and I had the most amazing couple’s massage one evening after our game drive in our cliffside room, complete with lit candles, rose petals, a drawn bath and room service after our treatment.

The wine selections are expansive (they’ll arrange for you to have any bottles you want on the game drives – and you can even learn how to sabrage bottles of champagne in their amazing cellar) and the food is second to none!! The meals are expertly prepared, innovative and truly out of this world in taste and presentation. They will make any and everything that you want. One morning my husband wanted wildebeest and eggs and not only did they deliver on this desire, but it was exquisite!

While Singita Lebombo might be expensive, once you take a look at your surroundings, the impeccable service that you receive, the incredible game drives and the luxurious property and suites – it will be worth every penny and a dream come true to stay there! We look forward to many more memorable travels to Singita properties. Thank you for welcoming us into your family!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitkneejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We really liked our stay here. The drives were amazing and informative. Luckily the other couple we were assigned to seemed to like to stay in their room, so we had the guide and tracker pretty much to ourselves. The food is good - certainly one rank above but still a bit heavy on the sauces - and the wine list is spectacular. The rooms - huge, view terrific, fridge full of Amarulo! Everyone who works at the hotel is super super peppy, just something to know in case you are used to more understated service. I think the only downside was the spa treatments weren't that interesting, heavy on the aromatherapy and lotions.

You really can't go wrong with Singita.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheVastMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We never expected such a perfect place in the bush! 15 designed rooms with a view, guaranteed lots of privacy. The food is outstanding, the wine cellar is incredible. Friendly, helpful and well-trained staff gives you the feeling of being home.
The Rangers were very knowledgeable about the wildlife and what animals you can find right at the moment. Flying there with Federal Air to the Singita airstrip was also easy and affordable...
We will return for sure!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chrizzswizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
43.7 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
402 reviews
51.4 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#2 of 175 in Kruger National Park
260 reviews
26.0 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#54 of 175 in Kruger National Park
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
148.4 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#45 of 175 in Kruger National Park
172 reviews
58.9 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#31 of 175 in Kruger National Park
584 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#39 of 175 in Kruger National Park
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Lebombo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Lebombo Lodge

Address: Private Concession | Eastern South Central, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £2,728 - £2,837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kruger National Park, north-east of Johannesburg, boasts a truly unique lodge. Guests stay in scarcely visible lofts perched like eagle nests on stilts built into the top of basalt cliffs. The rooms with floor-to-ceiling glass walls look onto breathtaking scenery and a setting renowned for its concentration of game. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Singita Lebombo Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing