We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge and Busy!”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Reviewed 9 September 2013

There was nothing particularly wrong with Skukuza but we found it to be far to large and busy. It literally is a village in its own right. Can't comment on the accommodation as we stayed in our own tents (be warned, if you want an early night and are close to the washing up facilities you will lie there listening to people clattering away and chatting till late!). The wash areas were clean and tidy with plenty of hot water.

It is just so big you don't feel like you are in a game reserve, more like a gigantic Butlins. If you actually want to see game near the lodge and maybe sit with a drink and observe any wildlife then this is not the place for you.

I genuinely can't see the appeal, apart from the fact it is very central and easy to get to.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahv70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

The Skukuza Rest Camp is lovely. Our cabins (where there are signs on the doors warning you of the baboons) were so very cute. Very comfortable beds. Kitchenette at the front with table and chair, and generous sized bedroom and bathroom inside. Our drive to get to Skukuza was amazing, with plenty of animals to "ooh and ahh" at along the way.

The shop area is well stocked, and we bought coffee, etc. (not provided as this is a self-contained accommodation). Plenty of souvenirs, etc. to buy. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had a lovely lunch overlooking the river.

Our night safari was pretty grim, but gave us a good laugh. Our guide had never seen hail before at Kruger, and boy, did we see hail!! We took photos of him holding it. It was absolutely freezing! We gave up and returned to the camp early, but I still laugh thinking of the "experience". We had dinner that night at the Restaurant where the old train station is, and the food was good.

Our day safari was amazing - saw lions crossing the road! Very lucky. So many beautiful animals in a lovely National Park. Got some amazing photos of hippos and crocs. We started at 6am and thought we were going straight to breakfast, but that didn't happen until 9.30am, so we were famished, but enjoyed the full bushman's breakfast at another rest camp. The vervet monkeys enjoyed any leftovers on the tables.

Breakfast at the restaurant area was lovely, and the staff were extremely helpful and nice. Great selection of food available.

Gorgeous place to stay, apart from the cold (which wasn't forecast!!). Would love to see Kruger again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

To be out in the Park every day and then come back to this wonderful place was such a wonderful experience and one that I want to experience again. The people were wonderful and so was the food. We were out every day on a safari for 12 hours a day and saw the most incredible animals and landscape. This was a trip of a lifetime and I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see Africa at it's best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aartime728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Skukuza is the largest camp in the park offering a variety of accommodations from campsites to cabins with multiple bathrooms and self-catering services. It's busy and crowded. We stayed in a house with two bedrooms each with 3 twin beds and two full bathrooms that included both showers and tubs. The covered front porch was a lovely place to sit and enjoy the evening or early morning. There's a pool in the park that we didn't use, but saw several kids swimming.

by staying in the park you can take advantage of park-offered game drives and hikes, movie showing. If you don't want to cook for yourself, there are two restaurants in the park. The camp store has a large variety of souvenirs as well as various foodstuffs in case you forgot to bring something.

The facilities were clean, beds comfortable.

One definite advantage to this location is the proximity to prime animal viewing areas. The roads along the Sabie and Sand Rivers - particularly the H$-1 by the Sabie - yielded rhino, lions, hippos, giraffe, water buffalo on my drives. We didn't see any leopards, but they had been sighted around here in the previous two days and it's a noted area for seeing them. Also, a short hop south of the park you can drive to the top of Mathekenyane and enjoy a sunset or sunrise (or a lovely view and chance to stretch your legs any time of the day). If you can, it's worth staying a couple of days in this area and exploring the southern part of Kruger.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Journeying_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and returned to the Kruger park after 20 years. We went with a couple of good friends and stayed for three nights in a two bed roomed cottage. We have been to the park often in the past and stayed at the luxury lodges on the park borders. The footage was very comfortable and reminded me of my youth in Zimbabwe, where one is close to nature. The sounds of Lion and Hyena at night brought back so many memories. We tried both restaurants for dinner at had breakfast at a couple of camps and once at the golf club. We went out at 6 every morning as the gate opened at spotted all of the big five in the near vicinity. A truly wonderful and relaxing experience which ones soul needs annually I think.

Room Tip: You must get to the gate at 6 in the morning for the best sitings, also midday was pretty busy at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in a family cottage which had a very odd layout. It's clearly made for the outdoors as you cannot access the kitchen or dining room from inside. Something to consider if you are there in winter & planning on self-catering. However do note that all the restaurants are outside to some extent & it is chilly in the evening in winter. The building has very sort of 60's era fittings. It's basic but does the job. It's a great location in the park over looking the river. At sunset you could see elephants wandering down the river past the camp. Also note that this is a big camp so there are lots of people milling about. We were lucky as our cottage was right on the end so it was nice & quiet.

Room Tip: See if you can get one on the end where it's quieter or closer to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We arrived just before the closing time of 5:30PM. We purposely stayed out as late as we could to extend our safari drive.

Apparently other people had the same idea. There was a long line at the checkin/registration office when we arrived. It was a very slow moving line.

I don't know why it should take that long. I had a confirmation letter from them, and already prepaid for my two bungalows. I assume other guests also had to book and prepaid for their reservations.

Also, I could see open stations and two other staff out in the back walking around, I wished that they had thought to come and help out. All the guests were fuming and looking at their watches.

Finally we got our keys. I was happy they gave us two bungalows next to each other. We decided to have dinner at their restaurant.

This camp is big. I think the biggest camp inside Kruger park. It took us a while to find the restaurants. They weren't located at the main checkin office area. We missed the sign, or the sign wasn't very obvious.

Try not to get lost here! You must remember to bring a flashlight with you when walking at night. Because there were little or simply no light at all. So, to get back to your bungalow, you need a good memory and flashlights to see the room numbers. All bungalows looked the same.

We also got lost on the way back, but eventually found our bungalows in the dark. We had two flashlights.

We had dinner and breakfast at this camp. Our expectations for meals inside these camps were low, and they met or exceeded our expectations here.

We thought the bungalows were inexpensive. The rooms or beds were not luxurious, but clean and comfortable. So, for the price paid, this restcamp provided very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTraveler852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
417 reviews
7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
31.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 176 in Kruger National Park
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
14.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing