We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skukuza Rest Camp
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,045
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$986
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$966
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$773
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$753
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
US$2,058
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveller rating
246
558
333
61
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
558
333
61
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscattle baronriverside bungalowrest campthe riveroutlook safarislower sabiegas stationself cateringmain restaurantgreat restgame viewingguest houseself drivepaul kruger gatevervet monkeyscommunal kitchenearly morning
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It seems to me like all the accommodation in Kruger Park is basic the same.
We stayd in Skukuza Restcamp, Crocodile bridge, lower Sabi and all tipe of accommodation is the same. we are a family for 7 that travel and to find accommodation for a family of 7 is not always possible. The resturants in Kruger Park is not the best. My advice is get your own food and cook your self. All the units was clean. The bathrooms is due for upgrades Regards Thomas

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I enjoyed a two-night stay in this camp. Luckily we had a small 'veranda' which was protected so no monkeys could get in. Our neighbors were less fortunate and their fridge got plundered in less than 30 seconds :D They have a wonderful view from the restaurant terrace on the river where you can easily spot large game like elephants who come for a drink. Also a lot of game in the area of this camp and a lot of tourist groups stop here for a break so just talk to one of the guides to get some info :-) I also went for a short swim in the pool and some baboons were so hot they joined me. Kind of creepy at the beginning, but they just wanted to cool down and didn't steal my towel or backpack ^_^

Room Tip: Try to get a chalet where the terrace is fenced off. Otherwise monkeys can reach your fridge and steal your food (and they do)
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilse v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A great camp to start our Kruger experience. As we couldn't afford a guided safari tour, we decided to rent a car and spend 8 days in Kruger on our own. Our 3 days in Skukuza were the highlight, with exceptional game viewing and excellent park ranger led drives and hikes in additional to our own drives during the day.

The camp itself is the largest and most visited. The camp is well situated with plenty to keep you busy. The restaurant and shop have some great food, well priced, and the shop carries just about every necessity we could think of. The lookout deck next to the restaurant also provides a great viewing station while eating in camp, overlooking the adjacent river, and is a very pleasant place to lunch.

We spotted much more than we expected on our own drives, with elephant, zebra, buffalo, and many others not difficult to find. The roads are well maintained and the driving yourself is very easy and relaxed. All you need is a map, a good animal guide book or two, and some binoculars and you are bound to have a great time.

Our ranger led activities were offered at a low price and very, very well done. We did almost all the ranger drives while we were there (The camp gates are only open during daylight hours, so the best game viewing times you must go on the ranger led activities) and were never disappointed. In particular, Job and Alfred really were the highlight. They led us on several drives and one bush walk. They were both extremely knowledgeable and told us some great stories that kept us laughing most of the time. Be sure to ask Job to demonstrate how a rhino rubs itself on a rock to get the ticks off it's skin, I still laugh every time I picture that in my head.

Being our first Kruger trip, this was definitely the best camp to get started with. They offer the most activities, so you can always have something to do. The area is perfect with wildlife easy to spot. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matry0shka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a wonderful resting camp. We stayed in a roundavel chalet which was very clean and comfortable. There is a well equipped kitchen but I guess it would be difficult to cook because of the baboons in the camp. We can at best heat up food or arrange a barbeque.
There are about two good restaurants within and curio shop that is reasonably priced.
There is a river view which is the USP of this place. You can find animals coming here to drink water.
An overall good choice of a resting camp. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here for one night in the usual rondavell. Being the largest camp in Kruger we expected it to be busy, which it was. Less outside space than other camps and certainly more overlooked, being set in compact rows. It had the advantage of a restaurant as well as the usual San Parks cafeteria menu. We ate inside in the evening and the food was good and had breakfast out on the deck in the morning, again good.The shop was large and seemed well stocked,especially the walk in beer fridge. Don't know where the cafeteria got theirs from though, ours were barely cool, but they were cold in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews