We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bungalow 141 needs to be renewed URGENTLY”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

The skukusa park is very nice and the people are very friendly. I was suprised to see that the shops had so mutch to offer in terms of food and gifts.

No words to discribe the restaurants. The nicest people and wounderful food. Simply lovely.

The park and the bungalows... Please take a light because if you stay on the street of bungalow 141 there is not a single light, not even a presence light. The bungalow 141 is very old. The wardrobe was made out of compressed wood painted. The fridge in the room takes out a lot of space (is this the only bungalow with the figde on the room?). The carpet is old and has stains. The cealing is full of spider webs. The bathroom needs renovation.

Not a keeper. Bungalow 141 seems to be the worst (very crappy).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cristinaperestrelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

To visit Kruger is always a great experience and we enjoyed our stay. I came with an business partner for three nights to Skukuza, the other camps were sold out. It was clean and quite and we saw a lot of game.
The Resturant is in a terrible stage. The food terrible, the steaks are tough, not nicely presented.
Staff tries hard, but shame. We had the chicken, that was eatable.
The best is you bring your own stuff and prepare!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

When booking our accommodation for Kruger I quickly found out that a lot of the camps that I opted for were already sold out so that we had to stay at Skukuza for our first night. Since the camp had the reputation for being noisy, overcrowded and without any safari feeling, I was not too enthusiastic, but we were pleasantly surprised by the camp!

First: Check in/out was fast and efficient. I am impressed by the high professionalism as all overnight guests are put into a system when entering the park, so that when you check in at any rest camp they immediately know where you are coming from, where your next night will be spent, if you already paid the conservation fee, if you need an exit permit and so on. Great service!

Second: The atmosphere was a lot more “safari” than we thought. We had a great semi luxury bungalow right at the river front; this gave the impression of being on your own in the bush, no other bungalows in sight when sitting on the veranda. The bungalow was reasonably clean and nicely equipped (huge bed, glasses, bathroom amenities, TV).

Third: We had the best dinner in Skukuza while in Kruger, definitely try the Selati Grill!

If we go back to Kruger for another safari, I would always choose Skukuza again for at least one night (just to have the Amarula Crème Brulee again!).

Room Tip: Choose a Semi Luxury Bungalow. Being first row to the river seems to make all the difference in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in a family rondavel. It was clean and had everything we needed. With an outside kitchen you have to keep food etc under lock and key as it has an outside kitchen.
There is a restaurant and good stocked shop on site. We stayed in SA spring, but in summer it must be quite busy. We booked a sunrise game drive which was 'quiet' and I'm not sure we'd do it again, but all wildlife is unpredictable.
Skukuza is a safe family friendly site with a (unheated) pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Skukuza is the largest and busiest Rest Camp in Kruger NP. We stayed 3 nights and unluckily our chalet was situated on a busy access road and intersection. There was an almost constant stream of cars and vans passing within metres of our patio and then groups of people walking past until quite late. There is a warning about the presence of baboons and the need to secure food items. The fridge was located in the patio/kitchen area and had no lock or gate on it so we turned the fridge sideways and jammed the door against the wall with the heavy wooden table and chairs. However we came back the first evening to find all the fruit, veg and rusks gone and the rest of the contents spread all over the place. The camp seems to be used mostly by short stay group tours and is probably best avoided by other travellers.

Room Tip: If you intend to stay at Skukuza, avoid Rondavel #112 and rather choose one of the luxury riverside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenMulga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed here for one night over, to while visiting Kruger national park. The private bungalow with bathroom i booked was pretty comfortable, we had refrigarator in the room, coffee/ tea, soap and towels. There is a very good restaurant in the camp, they close pretty early about 9pm, so make sure to get there before, don't miss the delicious food there.
In summary, all was good in Skukuza. I would recommend it for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It seems to me like all the accommodation in Kruger Park is basic the same.
We stayd in Skukuza Restcamp, Crocodile bridge, lower Sabi and all tipe of accommodation is the same. we are a family for 7 that travel and to find accommodation for a family of 7 is not always possible. The resturants in Kruger Park is not the best. My advice is get your own food and cook your self. All the units was clean. The bathrooms is due for upgrades Regards Thomas

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
428 reviews
7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
31.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 178 in Kruger National Park
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#12 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
520 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
17 reviews
14.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing