We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget choice in Kruger”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in Skukuza camp for two nights. We didn't have much expectation as we only paid a trivial cost comparing the private camp. It's a reasonable place to spend nights because sleeping is the least wanted thing you want to do in the park.

My only complain is that, the room is TOO DARK

p.s. we stayed in "semi-luxury" bungalow...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

The SanPark lodges in the Kruger National Park are a great value way of being in the bush and seeing great game both on and off-road at reasonable prices. By and large private bush camps and game lodges in most African countries charge silly prices for the privilege of being pampered. These, in my humble opinion, are rarely worth it unless it's in an exceptionally remote area or run by highly knowledgeable rangers. Skukuza is big, the rooms are clean and it's a good place to start your tour if you're coming in through the Nguni gate. We stayed in a chalet on the river which was great, peaceful. Cooking facilities are fine. Reception staff (sadly) seem indifferent, unsmiling with a hint of arrogance. Perhaps because it's the SanPark headquarters. Food, like most SanPark lodges, is poor. They really need to get their act together. Perhaps offer the catering franchise to a private contractor. We did our own catering.
There's no pool and it's a bit municipal. Other SanPark lodges ( Oliphants/Sirheini/Shimawini) are much nicer, more spectacular and remote but Skukuza is a decent enough first stop

Room Tip: Get a chalet on the river if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slowflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a perfect place to start when you want to go to the Kruger Park. The small houses were clean and nice arranged. There is really no need to go to one of the higher-level-hotels outside the Kruger. Here you get everything you may need (except a flatscreen tv and a pool).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for one night and we found the rooms adequate. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We had two complaints and that was that there where no outlets in the room to recharge batteries and that had to be done outside the room where monkeys could easily get to them. A word of advice take a good flashlight since lighting on the paths is non existant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stopped in at my favourite South African destination after our Mozambique holiday and stayed at Skukuza for the first time. Booking was done relatively easy through SANParks website and we stayed in a rondavel with a whole family of 5, so had no issues. The staff were very helpful as our fridge was not working on our arrival and they swopped it out very quickly. We had a great time there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marksmen69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here for just one night in riverside bungalows. We booked with SAN parks on the internet which was very easy.
The bungalows are clean and comfortable with both air-conditioning and a ceiling fan.
They are fairly well equipped for self catering and include fridge,microwave etc.
The only real complaint we had was that we booked four bungalows and they were not situated together.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here one night during our Kruger tour. And this one was my least favourite. It is just a busy place and doesn't have a very "bush" vibe to it. And we stayed in a standard room which was no space at all in the room. We paid the same price at berg en dal and had way more space and way more cozier. But it was still not bad of a place at Skukuza, I can't complain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
417 reviews
7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
31.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 176 in Kruger National Park
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
14.8 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing