We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bustling Main Camp of Kruger”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bustling Main Camp of Kruger”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was situated in this camp for two nights during a recent bird watching tour/safari to Eastern South Africa. The camp was packed with tourists and getting around was difficult at times. The hut I stayed in was decent and clean. The main restaurant had good dinners but the staff and customer service was terrible. One member of our party was double charged (on a credit card) for the dinner and had a very difficult time getting the overcharge taken care of. The staff member (at the main restaurant) taking care of this problem was rude and abusive - maybe they have to deal with so many people that they just don't care anymore, but that is not excuse. I would recommend staying in one of the smaller camps and avoiding this one all togeter. Of course the Kruger itself is fantastic.

Room Tip: Avoid this camp if you can. Stay in one of the smaller camps you will enjoy it much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    448
    287
    54
    25
See reviews for
250
442
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Kruger Park sells itself, fortunately for the administration. Skukuza main camp is the biggest and I don't think it is the best. However, my review is specifically for the accommodation we hired at a very high cost. This was the ABSA guest house.

The property was advertised as having 6 bedrooms, with two single beds in each and 4 bathrooms. With 6 couples we thought this would be fine. However, on arrival we discovered that the rooms are two blocks of three bedrooms, two of the bedrooms in each block have ensuite bathrooms. This means that two bedrooms would have to use the facilities of one of the other two bedrooms - walking through the bedroom to access the bathroom. This situation is ridiculous. Staff did not seem to realise that we had paid to rent the accommodation and came in and out of our rooms as they wished. We came back on a number of occasions having been on a game drive, tired and looking forward to some sleep, to find 4 or 5 staff, often noisily, present changing curtains! Then they were not put up properly to the extent that one couple came back to their room and couldn't get in because the curtain pole had collapsed. They even brought in an industrial sewing machine and were busy altering the length of curtains that had been put up the previous day incorrectly, in the middle of the garden! We paid R44,500 for renting this property - expensive. We even had to kill a rat in the kitchen - quite a large one. Luckily we had a farmer who wasn't scared of rats!

We were terribly disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't go to the ABSA guest house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maddy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kruger National Park hotels

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just like other NP in Africa, when you try to stay inside a NP, you have to endure the crowded people at the campsite.

We used our own tents there for 4 nights, always people around you. But the facilities are good, kitchen convenient, bathroom clean and shower warm.

The ground is not so flat, so if you bring along your own tent, be sure to get rid of the stones on the ground.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuyao2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Leaving the lovely Letaba, Oliphants and Mopani behind, we set off for a leisurely drive to Skukuza for our semi-luxury treat. Stopping at Satara for brunch we were delighted to find that as promised Mugg and Bean were open for business, albeit with a limited menu. Good quality, well trained staff. Hit the shop for goodies to bring home. Brief stop at Tshokwane then on to Skukuza via the H1-2. Elephant, Buffalo, Baboons, Zebra, Impala, Giraffe, Bushbuck, Kudu, Blue Wilderbeest, Common Duiker, Hippo, lots of birds, and a Giant Kingfisher killing a fish before swallowing in one. Arrived at Skukuza just after 2pm. Welcomed and in our semi-luxury accommodation in fifteen minutes. Absolutely perfect. River View - Elephant in the river, Kitchen outside, and a preparation area inside. Lovely room, double bed, splendid bathroom - well worth the extra £25 a night. Off to the shop for my Wife's retail therapy. Then visited the restaurant to inspect the menu. No Mugg and Bean - to be installed later this year - my Wife decided the BBQ man was back on his pedestal and so we went back to the shop to buy food. Sirloin steak, boerewors, lamb, lots of fruit and vegetables and then back home for a shower and the chance to explore the wonders of the television which was in our accommodation - all sport - this is South Africa!! Hippo and Crocodile had now joined the Elephant in the river - though not in the same place! Hornbills everywhere. Lit the braai at four, lit the mosquito coil at five, changed into anti mosquito clothes and sprayed and cooked at six. Watched the bats for a while, listened to the wonderful sounds of the night - this accommodation is well away from the central camp, checked out the stars and slept like angels.

Next day a leisurely drive to Lower Sabie. This camp was washed out in the great floods of 2000. It has been rebuilt and is absolutely beautiful, with wonderful views of the Sabie river from the balcony of the restaurant - Mugg and Bean up and running - had a splendid breakfast, shopped for more goodies to bring home and trekked back via the same route stopping at the sunset waterhole which is about 500 meters from the camp. This is a great site, Water Monitor, Hippo and Crocodile abound, with many water birds. Giraffe and Warthog visited whilst we there. Off again and back in time for lunch. Good game viewing on the way there and back. We now needed to plan what perishables were left and what we were going to do with them, as our last Braai was this evening before our last night drive - (we did one at Berg-en-Dal and one at Letaba, and I have not mentioned them because the actual viewing was quite disappointing although we did see Hyena at Berg-en-Dal, but the guides were very good). At long last we saw porcupine, but alas still no cats.

There are new Guides and Maps written and designed by Andy and Lorrain Tinker, together with Diary Booklets and Tick lists. These are brilliant, and congratulations once again to SANParks for these developments. Alas, the old Ecozone map has gone - but I still have one!

The next day we set off home via the H1-1 to Numbi Gate. Lots of Game, saw the biggest White Rhino bull ever, very nice on our last day. Into Pretoriuskop for breakfast - no restaurant!! Left the park to drive to Sabie on on to Lydenburg to join the N4 just before Milly's - see other review. Now the reason we had come this way was because of the road works on the N4, which held us up for 90 minutes - I had not realised the state of the roads which were riddled with potholes and it would probably have been quicker to go back the way we came - there is advice about this on the SANParks website. I think next time we will fly into Skukuza and pick up a car there. The airport is due to re-open in June 2014, and scheduled flights from Johannesburg are already timetabled.

Despite the early trauma of the trip to the N4, after a super lunch at Milly's the rest of the trip was easy going. Arrived at the airport with good time to save and then hit the most unbelievable bottle neck. Self check in, weigh baggage, go-to check in, weigh baggage again, move through security, check boarding passes again (third time) go through emigration check boarding passes again. This took bordering on two hours, with little time for retail therapy in the terminal - much to my Wife's annoyance - though not necessarily mine!! Had a Drink and sandwich, and took some sandwiches for the flight in case we were hungry - Jackson Republic - recommend it bottle of wine and four sandwiches less than £10.

Our experience at Johannesburg was nothing compared to arrival at Manchester (via Paris - thank the Lord we bought the sandwiches - very little to eat - probably the terminal). We queued for an hour to get back into the UK, the organisation was non existent, and it was obvious that they had no plan to cope with delayed or early flights - a lady sorting out a Ryanair departure was going crazy about getting passengers off so they take off again, and everyone coming off later flights was trying to push into the queue. Sad.

Still we have the satisfaction that we are planning our next trip to Kruger, and we have Mauritius to look forward to in seven weeks - watch this space. Thanks SANParks at least you delivered everything it said on the website.

Room Tip: River View cottages are lovely and quite secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pick1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at Skukuza Camping Site. Lots of trees available for caravans and tents, but most are thorn trees and camping unfriendly. I am surprised that after so many years nothing has been done about this.

The ablution facilities are way inadequate in capacity and therefore over-used. The cleaners attend to it frequently, but this is not good enough as there is poor sanitation/hygiene with no automatic dispensers resulting in urine smells all over the place, etc. Horrible.

The swimming pool's water was not clean. Also not properly maintained with lots of sand/mud next to the pool. This has been the case for many years now. Pedestrian gate not working properly = dangerous.

Although we had a good time, the poorly maintained and old facilities frustrated us.

Great shop, but poor restaurant. Even the Train Restaurant in the old station has fallen apart - what is going on?!

Room Tip: Come before 13:00 during holidays if you want to choose a shaded camping site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We recently visited the Kruger National Park with our kids. Skukuza is by far the largest of all the camps in the park and includes a big restaurant, take-aways, a nice (big) shop as well as a medical doctor (if needed). It located closely to three of the main gates & ideal for a 2/3 night stay over. The south of the Kruger always has lots of wildlife to enjoy, and around this camp it’s no different. It also provides a few options for larger families including cottages that can host up to 12 people. If you only have a few days available this is the place to be.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room close to the river, it provides for excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We loved this extravagant accommodation right on the waterfront, adjacent to the rail line. Could only get 1 night, but it was great! Huge accommodation with lovely braai facilities. Large kitchen with utensils provided. Loved our elephant visitor (outside the fence) and hearing the rush of the river below. Great to be so close to the river to see game (hippos, elephants, crocs) and lots of other animals. Nice to be there when the day tourists left. Enjoyed dinner from the restaurant (take away), at main area.

Room Tip: Waterfront cottages are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
32.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
179.4 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#40 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Property: Skukuza Rest Camp
Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing