We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skukuza just misses the opportunity to be great.”
Review of Skukuza Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skukuza Rest Camp
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Skukuza just misses the opportunity to be great.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Skukuza like lots of the SAN Parks Kruger rest camps misses being a top option. Location great but nothing ever improves. The Rondavel had been updated but bathroom fixtures were not rounded, the grouting was awful and the shower drain full of several seasons of human hair. The new fridge had no lock against baboons or monkeys and did not fit under the shelf so restricted the kitchen area. We enjoy the rustic effect and laugh about the failings but the management of the camps is wasting a fantastic opportunity to show the world the best of South Africa. We are from the UK and have been coming back for years but unfortunately rest camp standards are falling along with value for money and private camps are improving and some becoming better value.

We had a quick look at the golf course which we were impressed by. The hereby Lake Panic bird hide in spring is a must visit place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    458
    290
    54
    25
See reviews for
254
449
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

To us, staying in any rest camp at KNP is about the ambiance, and not so much about the rest camp itself. Skukuza is centrally located and allows for game viewing trips in all 4 compass directions. Despite being a large camp, one can still enjoy peace and quiet, especially at night around the barbeque fire (however, this probably depends more on your neighbours than anything else). Lots of birds to see in the large trees. The huts are suitably equipped and quite clean. Fridges are being moved into the huts now, so you'd either need to navigate around it inside the hut. The shop is well stocked, however, rather purchase your groceries and liquor in Nelspruit/Hazyview before entering the park. Do try the Eland/Gemsbok/Kudu steaks on the barbeque, delicious! Sadly, with the yearly increases in the cost of accommodation, staying at KNP might eventually become unaffordable, especially to RSA residents.

Room Tip: For better chance of getting a hut in a quiet area, book a hut type that's located furthest away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is a rest camp, you get what you pay for. Designed mainly for self caterers but there is a restaurant on site. Was not as good as when i visited 4 years ago in terms of choice of food or wine but why we did have was prepared well and tasty.
The Rondavels are basic but clean and comfy with everything you need. Some small maintenance is needed in some but all in all as a stop off through the park it is just fine. Don't go expecting a luxury safari experience and you worn be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassieLou_KZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Greeted with usual Sanparks interest and friendliness, we got an immediate good impression. We stayed in the strangely titled semi luxury river view cottages. The luxury appeared to be a better braai and 4 channel TV. The situation was lovely and very quiet with quick access to shop , cafe etc. We had chosen our time carefully and the camp seemed only half full. Very private at the front we would consider again as an entry and exit point.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank john222333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Wow, this place has grown in 16 years! I can see that in summer Skukuza camp might be uncomfortably crowded, as other reviewers have indicated, but two weeks before Easter it was ideal for our needs. After dark we discovered a faulty gauze over one of our windows and asked for someone to repair it. Shortly after someone arrived! Excellent service. The shop stocks every essential and several luxuries, too. We didn't use the dining room, but it looked very inviting. My partner wasn't well on the night we arrived and the large overhead fan which was already running when we arrived simply dispersed the dust so that she coughed all night! A major design fault is that our fridge was situated outside on the veranda. Notices warn you to keep all food secure (so that monkeys can't access it), but there is no lock on the fridge and the monkeys can open a fridge door as easily as peel a banana!! (Satara camp is one step ahead of Skukuza by positioning the fridge behind a lockable door. Take note, Skukuza) The latter camp is situated on the Sabie River and the road to Lower Sabie camp follows the river all of the way. Where there is water there are animals and we found this part of the Kruger teeming with wildlife.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This time we stayed at the tents and used the communal ablutions. The tent and ablutions were clean. From a visitor in a different camp, we heard Skukuza was not busy for the time of year. This might've been the case, but it sure wasn't quiet and peaceful. Music was heard till well after 9:00 pm, and at a neighboring tent they were talking very loudly till late, not minding the other guests at all. The restaurant and take away are not transformed yet to the new concept, which had been communicated by Sanparks last year, and should've been done by mid April, if I remember right. The food at the take away was edible, but: We wanted to order pizza, and there was none; We wanted to order a burger with avocado, and there was no avocado. Spotting a leopard on our morning self-drive, did some good, but next time we'll try to avoid the camp.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astrid_en_Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was situated in this camp for two nights during a recent bird watching tour/safari to Eastern South Africa. The camp was packed with tourists and getting around was difficult at times. The hut I stayed in was decent and clean. The main restaurant had good dinners but the staff and customer service was terrible. One member of our party was double charged (on a credit card) for the dinner and had a very difficult time getting the overcharge taken care of. The staff member (at the main restaurant) taking care of this problem was rude and abusive - maybe they have to deal with so many people that they just don't care anymore, but that is not excuse. I would recommend staying in one of the smaller camps and avoiding this one all togeter. Of course the Kruger itself is fantastic.

Room Tip: Avoid this camp if you can. Stay in one of the smaller camps you will enjoy it much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kruger National Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
7.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
1.6 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
31.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#67 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
179.4 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#59 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
17.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skukuza Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skukuza Rest Camp

Property: Skukuza Rest Camp
Address: 12 km from Paul Kruger Gate, 39 km from Phabeni Gate | Sabie River, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Skukuza Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skukuza is the Kruger National Park's largest rest camp and administrative headquarters. It is situated on the southern banks of the Sabie River. The camp is well foliaged and there are some lofty trees along the river's edge. Activities and facilities are diverse, as are the animals and plants found both within the camp and in the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skukuza Restcamp - Kruger National Park Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing