We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Skukuza Rest Camp
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$1,045
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$986
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$966
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$773
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$753
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
US$2,332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge(Kruger National Park)
US$2,058
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,228)
Filter reviews
1,228 results
Traveller rating
246
558
333
61
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
558
333
61
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscattle baronriverside bungalowrest campthe riveroutlook safarislower sabiegas stationself cateringmain restaurantgreat restgame viewingguest houseself drivepaul kruger gatevervet monkeyscommunal kitchenearly morning
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 1,228 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed for just 1 night, after and before enjoying the day in Kruger Park. Room was very basic, but - the most important - it was clean. In camp a reasonable restaurant is available, as well as a small supermarket, in case you prefer to prepare your own meals. Not the most comfortable stay during our trip, but when travelling through Kruger Park a next time, we'll surely consider this camp again to stay in. Location is excellent in Park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jordy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed right by the river. They had nice heavy tables on a lovely porch. There was a sitting room, kitchen and braai area. The only real problem we faced was that the camp store was not well-stocked, and the nursery area nearby did not have the plants we wanted. Be sure to check out the nearby Campbell 1929 Hut Museum which preserves the oldest hut in Skukuza.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank 4whatitsworth2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We do not mind spending a few thousand per night for good accommodation, but selling these river front chalets (No. 206) as luxury is a joke. It cost us +R1,500.00 for a night and R388.00 for one extra matrass on the floor. I do accept it is a 2 pax room and I am not mouning about the extra sleeping arrangement even if it is quite stiff. The crocery and cutlery is packed out on the luggage rack inside the bedroom leaving only the floor for our luggage. The water pressure in the shower is non existent just a weak trickle. Hell of a job to get soap out of your hair. The standard rooms like No. 109 is better equipped and more spacious and just plainly miles better. Only negative comparison is that it is not a river facing room. On the positive side the linen and the chalets are kept neat and clean.

Room Tip: Put a bit more distance between you and the restaurant and shopping areas for sake of peace and quiet, specially in a big camp like Skukuza. Try to get a good river view hut. Rather try and get a three bed hut than asking for a mattrass on the floor for a third person, it is a lot cheaper.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Coenraad Michae... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Spent two nights here. The camp is large and very well equipped (even an Avis car rental agency). The store had the best selection we saw in Kruger park. Each evening we bought meat, veg, wine and firewood and had a bbq in front of the hut, loads of fun and very easy. Our accommodations were clean. The wildlife around Skukuza was also the best we saw in the park: elephant, giraffe, lion, cheetah all there. Only downside is that is was also the busiest area in the park, quite large crowds on the roads.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank canuck_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

GREAT - Really good people on staff - welcoming people
GREAT museum and library area, such interesting display of Kruger Park history - with the lion skin and the knife from the Harry Wolhuter story as well as cultural artifacts and archaeological discoveries.
GREAT - Welcoming, helpful and chatty woman on the till in the shop.
GREAT - Good area for game viewing.
DISAPPOINTING - toilets were filthy on both stops in the rest camp.
DISSAPOINTING - the whole restaurant area was dirty. Dining area very dated decor.
DISSAPOINITNG - the menu prices were just rediculous! A plate of pap and wors was R20 more here then anywhere else in the park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nickytravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews