We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic to stay in Luxury in Kruger!”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic to stay in Luxury in Kruger!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We spent 2 nights here and had a lovely time. Lazurus our Ranger was passionate and we couldn't have been happier seeing all of the big 5 and more... Artie the chef was very accommodating with making us a special buffalo Carpaccio, beautiful! We picked up a car from Nelspruit Airport and drove. Hassell free and not expensive. After Kruger Sabie Village is worth a stay for a few nights as a base to visit many great scenic locations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    44
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
134
318
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We spent a wonderful night at Jock Safari Lodge - November is a time of the year to go because we saw plenty of animals all of the 4 of the big 5 except the leopard . The accommodation is very good an comfortable with plenty of space, a small but private plunge pool, bed overlooking the bush, outdoor shower, lovely linen and very comfortable bed . The accommodation was very clean and well maintained.The only criticism is that at first our ranger seemed obnoxious and racist but after I started chatting with him the next morning on the morning drive he stared to warm up to me but my question is does it need a guest to initiate hospitality? Management and staff went out of their way to accommodate our dietary requirements and the dinner and breakfast was well presented and prepared. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful with good service, except that although we had a do not disturb sign on our gated door we had a staff member walk right in just as I was about to step into the open shower a big oops and a no no in my books . Overall Jock Safari lodge is a good choice for a luxury weekend retreat.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We (3 couples) stayed at Fitzpatrick's Lodge - about 5 min drive from the main lodge. Fitzpatrick's has 3 rooms so if you are in a party of 6 you MUST stay here if you can. It is completely self contained - own cooks, servers,cleaners, manager etc. All drinks free and at any time. A huge lounge, library, a pool for the 3 couples to share. Rooms are huge with big bath, shower looking out into the bush, mossi nets, 2 sinks, dressing room, huge beds,private outside sitting area and also communal sitting area outside. Breakfast cooked to order. We ate round an open fire on the first of 3 nights. I have to say that the whole accommodation experience was FANTASTIC. Now, add to this the really WONDERFUL safari experience and I challenge you to do any better. OK it is very expensive, but if you are going to do a safari once in your life then come on, fork out the cash and you'll certainly get what you pay for. Morning safari 3.5 hrs, Walking safari of about an hour, Evening safari of 4 hours. All these are included in the price. Drinks and nibbles on the safari. Our ranger was the chief one - Lazarus. He is an absolute DELIGHT. His knowlege is phenomenal and he is also a delight to talk with. He joined us for 2 of our evening meals.
You can tell I am waxing lyrical about this place, but it is all heartfelt and genuine. Thank you to Jocks.

Room Tip: If you are in a group of six go for Fitzpatrick's Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I spent 3 nights at this beautiful lodge in September. Everything about my stay was 'top shelf'!!! My accommodation was beautiful, very private! The food was delicious! Thank you Artie! And the safari . . . One of the most incredible experiences of my life! Our guide, Mica, was so knowledgeable . . . An excellent tracker and guide. We saw the Big 5, a leopard kill and several lions. I cannot wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: My room was excellent. A view of game right from my windows and deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I admit I have not done many safaris but this was great! The facility, with many many stays at lodges, was top notch. The food even better. Lazurus as a guide made the trip complete..spotting everything we could want. In my short three days I was able to unwind, have adventure and enjoy good food. I can't say enough! Even with two days of rain! No internet no phone no cell coverage and in the middle of the bush.....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My wife and I went to the jock for three nights, 27 28 29 August. What a fantastic experiance .the staff were the best ever, nothing was a trouble to them you asked you got . All of the rangers were friendly and cheerful. The accommodation. Was breathtaking, food I can't praise it enough, animal sightings big five and more close up and personnel thanks to Patrick our ranger. It was my wife's birthday on our last night, at the end of our meal the staff came with a cake for her and sang happy birthday to her and danced round the fire. I would like to thank everyone at jock for making it the best holiday ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k3gadgetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Spent 3 wonderful nights at Jock Safari Lodge - 20th to 23rd August. Lovely time of the year to go to KNP. The accommodation is superb - spacious, lovely private plunge pool, sala bed overlooking the bush, outdoor shower, lovely linen on the oh so comfortable bed & best of all, spotlessly clean. The only criticism is that you wipe your hands on a towel & the towel gets replaced. This is Africa & we need to conserve water! Changing towels once a day would be sufficient. The Spa Retreat is well worth a visit. My suggestion to Management would be to serve dinners earlier. 20h30 is too late as it usually end at about 22H00 & morning safari wakeup call is at 05H00. Lazarus is brilliant & goes out of his way to find game as requested. Sitting & watching a pride of lions with 6 young cubs was brilliant! The bird life in camp is superb. I will definitely be going back to Jock!

Room Tip: Room numbers 9, 10 & 11 have a wonderful view with large shady trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
64.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
61.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
82.8 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.8 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
23.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
61.9 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Property: Jock Safari Lodge
Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing