We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Experience”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights and wish we had stayed longer. To really enjoy all that the Jock has to offer, it is necessary to have at least that extra day to enjoy some down time. The accommodations were more than we had hoped for and the staff was friendly and helpful. Ranger Pete was phenomenal. We were overwhelmed by his knowledge, passion and patience. He went above and beyond to provide us with the best experience. We couldn't believe after long days with us he went back out to the bush to take photos or go on fire detail. A once in a lifetime trip we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Jock Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at Jock for five days at the beginning of November and had a fantastic time. The game drives were mind blowing, Jan took us to some amazing places and his knowledge and enthusiasm really made the trip for us.

The lodge itself is beautiful, the food was great and the staff were outstanding. Everybody there is welcoming and friendly and makes you feel special. I stayed with my mother and she would be happy to go back by herself as you are looked after so well and there is always someone around to chat to. We had some great massages and treatments at the spa.

We met some lovely people staying at the lodge and really enjoyed getting to know everyone during evening drinks and dinner in such an intimate setting.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Budleybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Perfect location to enjoy and appreciate Kruger Park. Jock's far exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived to our departure. Awesome trip! Would definitely return and highly recommend to others. Saw the Big 5 several times, Patrick (our safari guide) was most entertaining and knowledgeable. Entire staff did a great job. Thank you, Jock Safari Lodge, for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLC-CKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My time at this lodge was remarkable and no other place I have been to could compare.
From the colonially decorated rooms to the professional and friendly staff, the delicious food and the wonderful game viewing - truly an exceptional safari experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savanna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

In summary, a rip off!! The rate of £553/night is outrageous. Room was fine, good but nothing special. Most senior person, only front man was an overbearing chap who thrust himself upon you at every opportunity. Game drives were just OK, driver only, no tracker, good man, few animals. Food was good, not exceptional. Had to pay for all drinks as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P, Manager at Jock Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Jock Safari Lodge. It is a pity you did not raise your feelings during your stay as we would have been happy to address them immediately. We would have been in touch with you had you noted your unhappiness in your guest feedback form too. However your guest feedback form indicates you felt your overall stay was excellent. There were no indications on your form that you felt “ripped off”.

We work hard to provide a 5 Star experience to our guests and you will note from our other reviews that 97% of the time we get this right. We also received a Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor this year.

Regards
Louis Strauss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was my first trip to South Africa in October 2013. I traveled with my husband and grown-up kids and we stayed in 3 different safari camps. We chose Jocks because it was inside Kruger. We arrived late after a long road trip with road construction delays and Jan, our guide met us at the gate to Kruger in the dark and gave us a nighttime game drive on the way to the lodge. Jock Safari Lodge is compact and easy to find one's way around. Our rooms were small and comfortable and had wifi. And our private outdoor patios were amazing, each with a tiny pool, lounge chairs, and an outdoor bed overlooking the river bed. The food was very good -- not fantastic -- and the bar and dining area is attractive and comfortable.

The morning and afternoon game drives were wonderful and we enjoyed having Jan as our guide. One of the drawbacks about game drives in Kruger, as opposed to in a private game reserve, is that we were mostly limited to driving on the roads and in the dry river beds. We could not do the full range of off-road game viewing that we did in Madikwe and in Timbavati. Still, we saw the big 5 and many other animals and we traveled many, many miles. Jan was a wonderful guide and was always enthusiastic about teaching us what we were seeing.

They also offer daily bush walks which we enjoyed. 4 or 5 of us would go out with 2 guides walking just outside the camp. Luckily we did not meet up with any animals but we learned about the plants and rock formations and the foods that various animals eat.

We had a wonderful time at Jock Safari Lodge and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We went for a 3 day safari as part of our honeymoon.

Faultless service throughout along with v high quality food. The chef has a real passion for his work.

Our guide was Pete, who deserves a special mention. The amount of knowledge he has is humbling and his passion for the cause of conservation and the bush generally is infectious.

Great experience all round

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
387 reviews
194.6 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#49 of 175 in Kruger National Park
165 reviews
23.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 175 in Kruger National Park
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#18 of 175 in Kruger National Park
421 reviews
64.2 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#66 of 175 in Kruger National Park
353 reviews
194.4 mi away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#31 of 175 in Kruger National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 175 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: £747 - £959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing