We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Quatre Bornes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great experience! The safari staff were amazing and really into sharing the experience of being in the animal's territory! When we weren't seeing animals we were learning about reading their footsteps or recognising their droppings :)
The staff at the lodge were incredibly friendly and constantly feeding us amazing dishes all through the day. At some point you think you can't eat anymore, and then you smell something amazing coming your way, and you find you find yourself eating again.
The lodge itself is picture perfect. Beautifully isolated, with your own small private pool overlooking the river and wild animals that are drinking. Everything was just amazing

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    43
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
131
315
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

It has taken me a long time to post my reviews from our South African Safari vacation.
this was the third lodge that we visited & had some terrific acts to follow.
Jock Safari lodge well lived up to the challenge.
It is a traditional lodge with rooms that seem like their own little villas.
They are very comfortable & the pagoda with the bean bag bed to view the wildlife wandering in the riverbed was fantastic. When I decided to stay in for a drive, I sat out with a bottle of wine & had a fabulous time, but not as fabulous as our group that took the drive.
Lazarus was our guide. He was at top qualifications as a guide &, I swear, had 50 sets of eyes. He had absolutely no need of a tracker & we saw an incredible amount of wildlife & topography.
The food was terrific & the staff couldn't be more accommodating.
We went in May, so I would recommend warm coats/hats/gloves at this time, as the drives elements really got to you in the drives, if you weren't prepared. We were in Zulu Natal & Sabi Sands before this & it wasn't nearly as cold early morning & evening.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really equal at this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank techjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I was fortunate to visit Jock in late November, 2013. The highlight of the stay was our guide, Jacob, and the phenomenal tours he guided us on daily. There an abundance of wildlife to be appreciated and Jacob did an amazing job explaining it to us. Not only the Big 5, but smaller animals, birds, plants, reptiles and insects were all pointed out and had heir story told.

The lodge itself is quite nice. This is not a Four Seasons, but the food was better than I expected. The staff was friendly and tried their best to help. There is wifi throughout the hotel, but it was slow at times. The rooms were spacious and private.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glamglamshoes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have a few weeks ago returned from a wonderful stay at this very special place. The best way to describe it I would call it rustic five star. Everything you want or need is there, the veiw from your bath even is amazing. Its not shiny and new that would not fit in the park at all. It has character the comfiest bed we have ever slept in and the rangers ( we had Jan) just great. Have to mention the lovely Attie who makes the evenings and the most lovely food. Oh did i mention how good the masages are and the hot chocolate when you get back from a game drive. It was like staying at a private house party in the Kruger . Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who all seem to love working there, who wouldnt, on our arrival as we got a coffee we saw hippos and elephants go by!!

Room Tip: we stayed in delonga bay I did notice the noise from the generator there but it didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glamglamshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

OMG, what an experience, absolutely amazing. The most friendly an helpful service an attention from the staff, the awesome game viewing and just all round relaxing stay. A definate yes for another visit

Room Tip: All their rooms are good, very private chalets with own pools and sun deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent a family reunion there over holidays. For most of us it was the first Safari ever. The Lodge itself is very nice and it is set in the middle of the Park. You really get a feeling for nature. The staff is phenomenal. The Rangers make you feel at home and manage to accommodate every wish while providing the true african experience. Food and wine very good. But most importantly: the game viewing was brilliant....the big 5, ugly 7, whatever....its there and you get to see it!
I will be back!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docsalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Jock's for 3 nights at the beginning of our recent 2 week trip to the Kruger and surrounds. It is one of the older lodges within the park and you do get that feeling. It is immaculately kept though with an extremely well run and efficient operation.
Our guide, Jacob, was very knowledgeable and showed a passion for what he was doing. He tried hard to ensure that we got the most out of our drives. He went above and beyond one evening when after dinner, we received news that 3 male lions were about 15 minutes away and wandering along the roads.
Jacob grabbed us and off we went. We were treated to a display of the 3 lions reestablishing their territorial markings after the rain and the sight of a large male lion being frightened of by a scorpion. Not sure if he was stung but it was comical.
jacob was also aware that we wanted more than just the big 5 and ensured that we met two of our favourites, the wild dogs and also hyenas. Well done Jacob!!
The food was good, the place nice and clean, the staff very welcoming and the drives conducted by a great guide.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
64.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
61.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
82.8 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.8 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
23.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
61.9 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Property: Jock Safari Lodge
Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing