We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Amazing Place !!”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What an Amazing Place !!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Dear Jock Safari Lodge

I only recently became a member of Tripadvisor - however we stayed at Jock last year 23 - 26 June 2013 and we stayed in room 2, but we will never forget this wonderful place.
The food, service, rooms, game drives and overall experience was truly amazing.
We will defenitly be back in the future.......
Keep up the excellent service !

Ilze & Jose

Room Tip: We were there in the winter, so the river was not flowing, however we saw alot of game very close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilze L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    50
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
144
330
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
miami, florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We just got back from a wonderful stay at Jocks. We wanted an intimate experience, so we stayed at the smaller Fitzpatrick's, about 1 km. from the main lodge. We had an amazing time. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming, you feel like part of the family. Our ranger, Etiene ( spelling?) was extremely knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure we had a great safari experience. I had told him I wanted to see a male lion, and the following day, he searched and tracked and - wo- out of the bushes come THREE scary looking male lions-- it was amazing!! He also took us to the site of the Battle of Kruger and showed us many many animals-- he was a great guide and ranger.
We had a great time and cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at Jock's for 5 nights in June 2014, It was amazing, special thanks to Mica my ranger, his talents of spotting & tracking all animals we're astounding, all the staff made me feel so welcome as I was travelling on my own. I have memories that will last a lifetime.
Experience, accommodation, food & service, spa and every person working there are perfect.
A must to visit...Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda247_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Jock's at Fitzpatrick's is an amazing place. This smaller lodge, a short distance from the main location, was friendly and welcoming. From the moment you arrive you are part of the family. The service was perfect, the food was delicious and the accommodations were spacious and clean. We spent 5 nights at Jocks's and all agreed that the experience was one of the best we have ever had. Our guide, Estiaan, went out of his way to share his knowledge and show us the many wonderful animals, We hit the morning and evening game drives and took one of the afternoon walks. Every single one was specifical. Lililian, our host, was all smiles making my family feel very welcome. She greeted our two children (16 year old daughter and 12 year old son) as if she was welcoming them into her own home which was great. Comfy, professional, friendly and fun!!! We cannot recommend Jock's enough! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianBancroftk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had 3 days here in May 2014. We had a wonderful greeting upon arrival and from there on it was a full on wonderful experience. The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming - always there to greet us when we returned from the safari drives and provide us with a drink. Our Lodge was excellent with an outdoor shower and plunge pool. There was a lovely shaded deck built out over the river bank with great views. You are provided with 3 fantastic meals each day (Special thanks to Attie and his team) as well as morning and afternoon tea. Our safari guide and driver was Ben and he was absolutely fantastic. We saw the 'Big 5' and he was able to pick out some other interesting animals that many would just not see as they were driving (including a spotted Genet, a large Boomslang snake and several Chameleon's). We were there in May and it can get cool on the safari drives so dress accordingly. Overall, an experience of a lifetime and would highly recommend Jock Safari lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewandleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you're wanting a warm, friendly and top-class lodge then look no further than Jock Safari Lodge. The staff really treat you like their friends, and the food is unrivalled. Relax on the deck right on the river, and see herds of ellies and buffalo walk right below.

The rooms are tastefully decorated in the old colonial style, drawing inspiration from the Jock of The Bushveld Story. This lodge has a special spirit, with a history dating back to 1800's. Set in the Kurger Park, the wildlife viewing is amazing - I was privileged enough to witness lions hunting buffalo, three different leopard, buffalo herds in their hundres, loads of elephant and so much more!

Jock Safari Lodge embodies the spirit of Africa. A must to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A truly magical experience! Every one and every thing about it was outstanding.

Our guide Jacob worked so hard to find us so many different animals, some we had never before heard of!

The trip was physically and emotionally draining but we would do it all again!

Thank you Attie and team for the lovely food, never thought we would eat Buffalo burgers! ( not from the park).

The lodges are amazing and the outside showers a treat.

We all enjoyed the experience so much Thank you all.

From Steve, Mandy and Katy Roberts

hope to see you all again one day

Room Tip: Please take a coat and other warm clothing. The open transport makes the drives very cold even with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
16.9 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
382 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
302 reviews
194.6 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#53 of 174 in Kruger National Park
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 174 in Kruger National Park
101 reviews
64.2 mi away
Elandela Private Game Reserve
Elandela Private Game Reserve
#63 of 174 in Kruger National Park
340 reviews
194.4 mi away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#32 of 174 in Kruger National Park
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Property: Jock Safari Lodge
Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing