We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Marte the ranger!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Sabie Restcamp
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved Marte the ranger!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

First off, this wasn't the most posh of accomodations, nor did we anticipate it as such, so it did the job. We stayed in a perimeter rondavel (thatched roof) with an outdoor kitchen. We did some grocery shopping both at the grocery store onsite and at a local store in hazyview before we entered camp. We loved being inside the park and the rangers at this camp, notably Marte, are top notch. We did several sunset drives and a bush hike with Marte and she is by far the most memorable part of staying at this camp, along with barbecuing on the braai outside and hearing the hippos bellow from the sabie river. We traveled off season in March and it was great. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: perimeter rondavels near the river...can hear and see all of the animals on the river!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rckwygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    245
    107
    42
    17
See reviews for
121
307
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

It's hard to provide a review because we bypassed the safari excursions and restaurants here altogether, so we can only comment on the lodging and location, both of which are solid. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and practical (we had a big fridge in our room that helped prserve a lot of the stuff we brought along). There are grills and outdoor electric stoves for food preparation. The shop nearby has a wide range of food selection for either immediate consumption or for your own preparation, all with reasonable prices.

The location is top-notch. We got lucky and saw the Big 5 here within the span of about 3 hours. Granted, we were lucky that it was the first day of rain, which apparently draws animals closer to the asphalt where it's warmer. But Lower Sabie, according to my girlfriend, has a reputation of being close to abundant wildlife, and our experience definitely lived up to the expectation.

P.S. Fight Rhino poaching!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva-Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Good: This state run restcamp has a good location in the southern part of the Kruger National park directly on the Sabie river.
Perimeter rondavels have a view of the river where you can see crocodiles and hippos. If you book 11 months in advance or are going out of season you can even get a perimeter rondavel with 3 beds, which is like having a 1 bedroom suite with the 3rd bed replacing a sofa in the dining/kitchen area which is indoors.
This gives you a bit of extra space for suitcases. The rondavels seem to have been renovated recently and are in pretty good condition, with lots of hot water and A/C that works.
Bad: Reception totally ignores you until 2pm which is check-in time and then you have to queue.
But it's the restauarant (or should I say cafeteria) that is the most dissappointing: great view of the river but the food is bland at best and service non existant. You have to queue in one place to order food and another for drinks and it takes them forever to bring it. No one cleans anything up. Hopeless. We asked about diner and were told that it was served indoors and that there was a different menu but we gave up after waiting 20 minutes for the wine list.

So if you stay in Lower Sabie I strongly suggest that you bring food with you or buy something to grill in the well stocked supermarket on-site.
There is also a gas station and if you are travelling to Satara, top up.

Room Tip: If you need/want extra space and can afford it take a 3 bed perimeter room (BD3U)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chouboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caumont-sur-Durance
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

In Lower Sabie Rest Camp, we had a welcome and service, all was very clean and equipment was in good orderl. Menu in the restaurant was classic, but food was prepared and served with attention. The terrace of the restaurant has a gorgeous view on the Sabie River. It is such a pleasure during the meal, or for a drink, to watch buffalos, hippos, herons, …

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlainPieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I come here for years, invited friends to join us and found hell.
We traveld for 6 days Kruger and wanted to do the last two nights in Lower Sabie, a camp know for it beautiful views...
We received the keys for tent 16 and 17, terrible maintained , cupboard broken and the rest unclean....the answer form staff: the camp is fully booked!
The swimming pool looked the same.....what a terrible expieriance - we are Wild Card holder, deeply shocked ...the worth camp in the Kruger!!! ,,

Room Tip: Coles the camp and give it a total revamp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunbury
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

As family of four, we stayed in a family bungalow on the perimeter of the camp, looking onto the Sabie river. We saw numerous animals from our bungalow. The grass between our unit and the fence was overgrown (although they ended up cutting it on our last day).
We were adjacent to Keartland guest house and it seemed that staff had a party there on our last night: noise, music, kids running in the road behind our unit. This spoiled our experience here.
Unit itself was great and close to pool that our kids enjoyed very much.
Sightings around camp were great as always.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was okay.
Shop was well stocked.
We did a sunset drive - lovely blonde lady as guide, Marina. She was very informative. We did not see as many nocturnal animals, however did see one lion and a white tailed mongoose amongst other animals.
There was construction taking place in the camp - needed as it looks quite run down in places. This did not have a significant impact on us.
This camp is not the best, but we will visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I'm a regular here, as my sister lives in Nelspruit. Although Lower Sabie boasts one of the most spectacular surroundings in the world, and is second to none when it comes to feeling like you're truly "in Africa", the chalets and tents are all poorly maintained and the whole place feels "unloved". Staff are obviously paid to clean and tidy up, but no-one seems in charge or cares about actually checking that the standards are being upheld. Curtains are old, dusty and faded, walls and doors smeared with dirt, cooking plates often don't work. Both chalets and tents are self-catered (don't bother with the restaurant, a 12-year-old can make better toasted sandwiches than they do) so bring your own food and braai. Pool area is lovely, but pool often dirty with sand at the bottom.
Such a shame.
I still love coming here (especially in the perimeter tents) to smell, hear and feel the bushveld, but wish someone at SANPARKS would take control and clean things up to an acceptable (European?) standard. I don't want the expensive and artificial feel of the luxury private lodges, just a neat, clean, well maintained chalet or tent.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank M-L0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
23.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
382 reviews
17.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 174 in Kruger National Park
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#107 of 174 in Kruger National Park
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
191.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#53 of 174 in Kruger National Park
152 reviews
23.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#33 of 174 in Kruger National Park
566 reviews
55.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#128 of 174 in Kruger National Park
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Sabie Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Sabie Restcamp

Property: Lower Sabie Restcamp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 174 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lower Sabie Restcamp 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Sabie graces the banks of the Sabie River, one of the few perennial rivers to flow through the Kruger National Park. Visitors cannot but feel soothed by the view towards the river and the Lebombo Mountains beyond. In this rest camp, the bounty and plenitude of nature are very evident, eloquently symbolised by the most conspicuous of its numerous trees, the mighty sycamore fig, which provides generously for the livelihood of many birds and insects. Not only do these giants produce fruit at least twice a year, but different trees produce fruit at different times, extending the gifts of life over many months. Watching the endless procession of animals coming to drink at the Sabie River establishes a sense of one's own place in the eternal cycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Sabie Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing