We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Sabie Restcamp
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed for two nights and Lower Sabie by far was our favourite restcamp out of the 5 we stayed at. Stayed in BD2U Bungalow overlooking the River.The Bungalow was clean spacious with a large terraced area with outside kitchen and everything you need to cook your meal. There was also a Braai (bbq). Found it so relaxing on the terrace overlooking the river listening to the Hippo's and watching the buffalo.
We booked on the Sunset drive and sunrise tour which were both fantastic the guides knew their stuff and were very informative. Saw Hippo, Rhino, Buffalo, Elephant Giraffe etc.. The highlight was seeing Lions lying in the road on the sunrise tour amazing.Our guide was brilliant.
The Restaurant served basic and simple food which was adequate. They seem to serve the same food at all of the restcamps where there is a restaurant.
There is a well stocked shop everything you would need for your stay. We were surprised at how well socked the camp shops were.
The pool was excellent and great for a refreshing dip after a long days drive.
Couldn't fault this restcamp it was great and would definately return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow 78 found it to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    235
    102
    40
    16
See reviews for
117
294
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Why oh why do San Parks always have to refurbish everything at the same time? All food outlets were closed for renovation but we saw no work going on for the 4 days we were there...fortunately food was available in the shop so we could braai....and the nearby train station Italian was great for lunch and breakfast...nearby = 40 minutes!

The chalet was clean and tidy but too much bat droppings around the outside kitchen area for my liking! Disgusted to see supposed intelligent people feeding Hyena through the camp fence and no rangers to be seen!

Sighting 3 leopard on the same day (within 2 hours) made up for all the problems!! As did the 60 strong herd of elies crossing the river...we will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Cartlidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I must admit to some trepidation booking a bungalow at Lower Sabie rest camp because I'd been told they were quite basic. In my case I booked a bungalow type BD3UZ which features 3 Single Beds (1 in Dining Area), Aircon & ceiling fan, Kitchenette, Disabled access, Wc and shower. I stayed for just two nights.

The bedroom, kitchen area and bathroom were very clean, the bed surprisingly comfortable. Kitchen crockery and cutlery were provided as well as some utensils. I heard that the restaurants at the rest camps are not at all good, so I purchased charcoal and food at the shop and had a BBQ (braai) on the (quite large) veranda area at he back. Everyone else seemed to be doing the same!

Overall I was very pleased with the standard of accommodation and wouldn't hesitate to use Lower Sabie again providing I get a bungalow of the same or better quality. The accommodation is of a much higher standard than at Berg en Dal camp which I also used. It really was home from home and I was delighted (and quite relieved!).

By the way, the shop (store) at the camp was surprisingly well stocked - providing you shop before the camp has filled up and everyone has beaten you to it!

Room Tip: To avoid disappointment, get a bungalow of the highest standard you can afford. I hear the smallest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

First off, this wasn't the most posh of accomodations, nor did we anticipate it as such, so it did the job. We stayed in a perimeter rondavel (thatched roof) with an outdoor kitchen. We did some grocery shopping both at the grocery store onsite and at a local store in hazyview before we entered camp. We loved being inside the park and the rangers at this camp, notably Marte, are top notch. We did several sunset drives and a bush hike with Marte and she is by far the most memorable part of staying at this camp, along with barbecuing on the braai outside and hearing the hippos bellow from the sabie river. We traveled off season in March and it was great. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: perimeter rondavels near the river...can hear and see all of the animals on the river!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rckwygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

It's hard to provide a review because we bypassed the safari excursions and restaurants here altogether, so we can only comment on the lodging and location, both of which are solid. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and practical (we had a big fridge in our room that helped prserve a lot of the stuff we brought along). There are grills and outdoor electric stoves for food preparation. The shop nearby has a wide range of food selection for either immediate consumption or for your own preparation, all with reasonable prices.

The location is top-notch. We got lucky and saw the Big 5 here within the span of about 3 hours. Granted, we were lucky that it was the first day of rain, which apparently draws animals closer to the asphalt where it's warmer. But Lower Sabie, according to my girlfriend, has a reputation of being close to abundant wildlife, and our experience definitely lived up to the expectation.

P.S. Fight Rhino poaching!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva-Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Good: This state run restcamp has a good location in the southern part of the Kruger National park directly on the Sabie river.
Perimeter rondavels have a view of the river where you can see crocodiles and hippos. If you book 11 months in advance or are going out of season you can even get a perimeter rondavel with 3 beds, which is like having a 1 bedroom suite with the 3rd bed replacing a sofa in the dining/kitchen area which is indoors.
This gives you a bit of extra space for suitcases. The rondavels seem to have been renovated recently and are in pretty good condition, with lots of hot water and A/C that works.
Bad: Reception totally ignores you until 2pm which is check-in time and then you have to queue.
But it's the restauarant (or should I say cafeteria) that is the most dissappointing: great view of the river but the food is bland at best and service non existant. You have to queue in one place to order food and another for drinks and it takes them forever to bring it. No one cleans anything up. Hopeless. We asked about diner and were told that it was served indoors and that there was a different menu but we gave up after waiting 20 minutes for the wine list.

So if you stay in Lower Sabie I strongly suggest that you bring food with you or buy something to grill in the well stocked supermarket on-site.
There is also a gas station and if you are travelling to Satara, top up.

Room Tip: If you need/want extra space and can afford it take a 3 bed perimeter room (BD3U)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chouboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caumont-sur-Durance
Level Contributor
222 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

In Lower Sabie Rest Camp, we had a welcome and service, all was very clean and equipment was in good orderl. Menu in the restaurant was classic, but food was prepared and served with attention. The terrace of the restaurant has a gorgeous view on the Sabie River. It is such a pleasure during the meal, or for a drink, to watch buffalos, hippos, herons, …

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlainPieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
23.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
17.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
55.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#120 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
191.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#40 of 171 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
41.1 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
22.0 mi away
Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Sabie Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Sabie Restcamp

Property: Lower Sabie Restcamp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lower Sabie Restcamp 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Sabie graces the banks of the Sabie River, one of the few perennial rivers to flow through the Kruger National Park. Visitors cannot but feel soothed by the view towards the river and the Lebombo Mountains beyond. In this rest camp, the bounty and plenitude of nature are very evident, eloquently symbolised by the most conspicuous of its numerous trees, the mighty sycamore fig, which provides generously for the livelihood of many birds and insects. Not only do these giants produce fruit at least twice a year, but different trees produce fruit at different times, extending the gifts of life over many months. Watching the endless procession of animals coming to drink at the Sabie River establishes a sense of one's own place in the eternal cycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Sabie Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing