We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long way to go for improvement”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lower Sabie Restcamp
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Long way to go for improvement”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Kruger is a fantastic place to visit and there is nowhere better to see the animals in the wild in Kruger.
The Lower Sabie rest camp is well located but, don't expect high quality service or facilities.

Camp was fully booked and under major construction. We stayed in a communal hut, three beds in each room and no kitchen facilities. You are required to use communal bathing facilities. No cutlery available, first camp I have found in Kruger this way, in each room and was told there was none available to borrow. Had bought food from the shop to BBQ but no way to cook or eat it.

Looks like Mugg and Bean had just opened a restaurant there, food was good, but staff still in training.

Was told there was laundry facilities available, one full size coin operated washer and dryer were available for the entire camp to share. Took me four hours to do two loads of laundry and I had a difficult time getting change to use the laundry facilities. You would think that if you are going to provide coin operated machines you would, A make them use the same denomination of coin (washer used 1 five Rand coin and dryer used 5 two Rand coins) and B make change readily available.

Quality of facilities is being improved but still needs to go along way and quality of staff is still hit or miss.

Room Tip: Communal huts save you from having to set up a tent and have AC. Otherwise you need to be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666Nomad_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    242
    106
    42
    17
See reviews for
120
306
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This camp's location on the bank of the Sabie river is among the very best in Kruger National Park for viewing of hippopotamus and buffalo. Nearby are wonderful viewing areas for other wildlife. The bungalow was spacious and clean. The restaurant, newly opened as a Mugg & Bean franchise, had an extensive menu of very average quality. The usual inconsistency and confusion about the brands of credit card accepted by the reception, the camp shop, and the restaurant prevail.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank PeeWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We luckily got an open space at the restcamp for the night saving us the trouble of exiting and entering the game reserve. The camp is laid our next to the Sabie river with the chalet having a lovely river view with hippos snorting. The chalet was clean but very smelly with bat dropping on the outside patio and kitchen area. Apart from this, the game reserve is always a pleasure to visit. It was a pleasure to see that the restaurant area is now contracted to a M&B franchise. Although recently established the service was good and the food was as can be expected from any similar franchise. It will be delightful to us to see other camps like Skukuza also going this route as our experience with the locally run facility is not commendable.

Room Tip: Ask to see the chalet before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarionZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

It is a very good camp to start your Kruger experience. We stayed in a safari tent without A/C, which was no problem as the temperature dropped significantly after sunset. We had tent 21 (LST2UZ), which has a nice river view and is protected by trees and bushes so that you don't have to share your dinner experiences with neighbors or passers-by. Inside the tent it was very clean, outside was OK, some droppings in the rolled up sunshades that had been there for quite some time without anyone noticing. The kitchen was well equipped (except for the pan, if you can, buy a cheap teflon before entering the park). There is some renovation going on at the moment, but we were not bothered by that. From our deck we saw plenty of hippos, crocodiles, water buffalos, etc. and at night we heard lions and hyena. Would totally come back.

Room Tip: Try to get a riverview safari tent, especially LST2UZ (tent 21), so you are as close as possible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed for two nights and Lower Sabie by far was our favourite restcamp out of the 5 we stayed at. Stayed in BD2U Bungalow overlooking the River.The Bungalow was clean spacious with a large terraced area with outside kitchen and everything you need to cook your meal. There was also a Braai (bbq). Found it so relaxing on the terrace overlooking the river listening to the Hippo's and watching the buffalo.
We booked on the Sunset drive and sunrise tour which were both fantastic the guides knew their stuff and were very informative. Saw Hippo, Rhino, Buffalo, Elephant Giraffe etc.. The highlight was seeing Lions lying in the road on the sunrise tour amazing.Our guide was brilliant.
The Restaurant served basic and simple food which was adequate. They seem to serve the same food at all of the restcamps where there is a restaurant.
There is a well stocked shop everything you would need for your stay. We were surprised at how well socked the camp shops were.
The pool was excellent and great for a refreshing dip after a long days drive.
Couldn't fault this restcamp it was great and would definately return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bungalow 78 found it to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Why oh why do San Parks always have to refurbish everything at the same time? All food outlets were closed for renovation but we saw no work going on for the 4 days we were there...fortunately food was available in the shop so we could braai....and the nearby train station Italian was great for lunch and breakfast...nearby = 40 minutes!

The chalet was clean and tidy but too much bat droppings around the outside kitchen area for my liking! Disgusted to see supposed intelligent people feeding Hyena through the camp fence and no rangers to be seen!

Sighting 3 leopard on the same day (within 2 hours) made up for all the problems!! As did the 60 strong herd of elies crossing the river...we will return!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Cartlidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I must admit to some trepidation booking a bungalow at Lower Sabie rest camp because I'd been told they were quite basic. In my case I booked a bungalow type BD3UZ which features 3 Single Beds (1 in Dining Area), Aircon & ceiling fan, Kitchenette, Disabled access, Wc and shower. I stayed for just two nights.

The bedroom, kitchen area and bathroom were very clean, the bed surprisingly comfortable. Kitchen crockery and cutlery were provided as well as some utensils. I heard that the restaurants at the rest camps are not at all good, so I purchased charcoal and food at the shop and had a BBQ (braai) on the (quite large) veranda area at he back. Everyone else seemed to be doing the same!

Overall I was very pleased with the standard of accommodation and wouldn't hesitate to use Lower Sabie again providing I get a bungalow of the same or better quality. The accommodation is of a much higher standard than at Berg en Dal camp which I also used. It really was home from home and I was delighted (and quite relieved!).

By the way, the shop (store) at the camp was surprisingly well stocked - providing you shop before the camp has filled up and everyone has beaten you to it!

Room Tip: To avoid disappointment, get a bungalow of the highest standard you can afford. I hear the smallest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
86.1 mi away
Letaba Rest Camp
Letaba Rest Camp
#10 of 13 in Kruger National Park
382 reviews
23.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
372 reviews
17.1 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#105 of 171 in Kruger National Park
433 reviews
191.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
55.1 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#120 of 171 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Sabie Restcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Sabie Restcamp

Property: Lower Sabie Restcamp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lower Sabie Restcamp 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Sabie graces the banks of the Sabie River, one of the few perennial rivers to flow through the Kruger National Park. Visitors cannot but feel soothed by the view towards the river and the Lebombo Mountains beyond. In this rest camp, the bounty and plenitude of nature are very evident, eloquently symbolised by the most conspicuous of its numerous trees, the mighty sycamore fig, which provides generously for the livelihood of many birds and insects. Not only do these giants produce fruit at least twice a year, but different trees produce fruit at different times, extending the gifts of life over many months. Watching the endless procession of animals coming to drink at the Sabie River establishes a sense of one's own place in the eternal cycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Sabie Restcamp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing